Confessions logo

Being Perfect

Something A Vocal Creator Friend Said Prompted These Thoughts

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
5
From 2006 Jan, Me, Lynn at the Spoon and Showmen Gig At The Tyneside Irish Centre

Introduction

A Vocal Creator Friend Grz Colm made a comment on the story below which inspired this piece.

These are just some thoughts about how we can all be perfect in lots of small ways. Things may not be technically perfect but they will be perfect for us.

Being Perfect

The video of the song I shared has a lot of mistakes in it, but it was the best I can do. I managed to record it and share it and got the words right and the chords right, so anyone can find fault with this, but by the same token anyone can enjoy it. I wrote a story about the song itself and for me that is perfect, but for me my version was also perfect for me.

I find music and art difficult because you have to get everything right, but writing allows you to amend work that you have already created. This means that with art and music, I always hit perfection for me when I am satisfied that I have created the piece without too many glaring errors, for others it may not be perfect, but we all have the choice to switch it off.

The main photo was from a gig in 2006 where I sang (you can hear me in the slide show above, some smokin' guitar from Chris Ball and stirling drumming from Steve Kirby)and it was the first time we had used a proper sound system. At the end of the gig, everyone had a great time, we raised money for charity, so it was a perfect gig and then ...........

........ the sound guys said they had recorded it and could put a CD out. Every band member's face dropped thinking about the mistakes they had made. Min was forgetting the opening line to Graham Coxon's "Freaking Out" which meant I completely made up the first verse.

The crowd didn't notice, the mosh pit just rocked all the way through, and the reality was that despite the mistakes it was perfect for everybody.

And Today

I used to walk a million steps every three months, that's now every four months. I do seven thousand steps a day at least, that's about three miles though many days my walks take me five miles or more.

Some days I don't make my target for various reasons but overall I do keep the walking up, and it keeps me fit, helped me with the cancer operation and therefore is another state of perfection for me.

The cherry on top is the cats that I see when I go out and provide lots of fun and really raise my spirits and people on Instagram love them as well. The cats also provide me with pictures and reasons to create Vocal stories such as the one below.

Also, my walks allow me to turn over ideas in my mind in order to create stories such as this to publish on Vocal.

Today I saw a few cats and a very low-flying aircraft examples of which I will share with you below.

Meow
That Plane

So today's walk was perfect. It had everything I wanted and more.

A Perfect Conclusion

I truly believe we should see perfection in all that we do, even when we are dealing with bad things and disasters. Usually, we do come out of them and when we do then that is perfect.

If someone helps us then that is perfect.

We should always try and see the positives, even if it is just a lesson that we learned.

Perfection is all around us but sometimes we need to learn to see it.

So as far as I am concerned, for me, I am perfect.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipBad habits
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Just listened to your cover song above (another I didn’t know). Great work! 👏🎶🎸

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Mike, I loved your line about making up the first verse to the song!! Classic. Absolutely - sometimes we need to learn to see perfection around us as you said. Thanks a lot for sharing. ☺️👏

  • Sheer perfection, Mike. I'm perfect too--a perfect mess, lol! (And the fact that I can laugh at that is also perfect.)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Totally agree with you, Mike!!! Loving the flashback picture from 2006, the story was perfect!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.