Confessions logo

Bass Cleft

A journey of cello playing, depression, and self-discovery

By LalainaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Courtesy of Midjourney

Written four years ago.

D major. F minor. G major. There were so many keys when playing the cello, but those were my wheelhouse, the ones I gravitated towards. Was I a good player? I still cannot answer that question, though I have not touched a cello in seven years. Funny, considering it was my life for seven years as well. Soon, it will be a longer time since I touched a cello than when I played.

I am sure I was relieved when I stopped playing, when I graduated and had my whole life ahead of me. Unfortunately, the passing of time has created a hazy fog around the experience, making me miss the feeling of the strings beneath my finger tips and the pressing of the bow. I miss the smell of the rosin and the stickiness it left behind. I missed the funny little smile that always came to my lips when I realized I was playing with tree sap and horse hair, which is what rosin and the bow strings are made of.

Was I a good player? I am not sure. I suppose I was competent. It is hard to decipher between my own insecurities and solid fact. I never made it to the top groups, spent all my time in the bottom, but we received perfect scores at every orchestra competition despite our lackluster motivation. I tried, but I was never naturally as talented as the others, even in the lowest group. Of course, most of them were lazy.

I suppose, the easiest answer is that I was the worst among the best. Had I gone to any other school, maybe I would have felt different. My public school had a surprisingly stellar reputation when it came to orchestra competitions. It was the same thing in middle school and high school. It never changed. Unfortunately, neither did I.

I backed out of a solo competition in middle school, my body shaking at the very prospect of having to play a song by myself. I was nervous, young, and developing that little voice inside my head that told me I was never going to be good enough. Back then, that voice was still a baby and had not beaten me into submission, making me collapse into a fit of tears, unable to catch my breath. I was supposed to play Rondino, but I could not switch strings fast enough. I still remember my stumbling fingers. It was too fast. My conductor watched, eyes cold and stern as I told her I had decided not to go to the competition.

I did not go to another competition until high school. It was my senior year. I had lucked my way into the second highest group. I had not auditioned as I was tired of practicing for rejection every year; the rest of the cello section either. I was still passed because they did not have enough cellos and I was the least troublemaker, if not the most talented. I spent all my time in last chair. That did not change with the shift. I was never going to be good. I was a fraud. I knew this and I still wanted to prove I was worthy.

I went to the competition because I had to. I played Three Easy Pieces. I remember nothing, except for my perfect score. It came as a surprise to me, though to no one else.

Apparently, even the worst among the best is better than the average high school student. Maybe that should have been the moment I knew there was more to me, that I was worthy of a bit of confidence. I deserved to feel worthy.

EmbarrassmentTeenage yearsSchoolHumanityChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Lalaina

She/Her. Writing Center Coordinator & Professor. Novelist. 30+. Proud Latina.

I'm obsessed with my cat and fantasy fiction.

Twitter, Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.