Confessions logo

And I’m Feeling Good

The Power Of Positivity And Good Stuff

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
5

Introduction

It's a new dawn

It's a new day

It's a new life

For me

And I'm feeling good

I’m not sure that you are supposed to ever start a sentence with the coordinating conjunction “and” but what the hell, it’s me who is writing and you all know how incompetent I am with language.

Yesterday I started writing a piece, essentially about myself and my raging imposter syndrome and a general feeling of creative incompetence (ironically the fact that I was writing it meant that I actually was creating, but that is by the way) and it was going down a very dark rabbit hole, which was making me feel very uneasy.

Coming Out Of The Dark Rabbit Hole

I so much prefer to write positively and try and write things that will lift people’s spirits, I write the odd dark fiction and have the dark poetry series suggested and inspired by my friend Dharrsheena but they are not personal, so I am fine with that and they are a small part of my writing and do generally get a good reaction from my audience.

Yesterday it was a friend's birthday and I always try to post an uplifting video for someone’s birthday, and I have about three or four that I use. The one I used yesterday always lifts my spirits so that was on my mind.

I very seldom bin writing that I start, but yesterday I did just that and produced the story below. When I published it I felt really good, I shared three brilliant videos in there and when it went up I was in a really good place, and I still am now, and I think a very big part of it it because I wrote that story.

So Analysing What I Did

Basically I was doing something that I didn’t really want to, but I was able to trash that, and do something that I really wanted to, and that raised my spirits a lot. It means that I can write this and hopefully others may see this and think that they can do something similar.

If you can, throw the bad things in that trash (that’s a real Americanism, being British I should say throw the bad things in the bin) , and pick something that you really enjoy and you will feel so much better.

Sometimes you can’t ditch the bad stuff, like certain chores, your job (if it’s bad) and the like, but keep in your mind the good things that you like doing.

What Next?

I had a plan to complete a thousand Vocal stories by the New Year, I don’t think that is likely as I would have to complete more than two a day until the end of the year. After this I have nineteen more to complete although I have one awaiting the subject’s approval so at the moment I have eight days after today so need to produce five stories every two days, which while it is possible, I do have a life to live as well, and if I don’t make it, then it will probably happen sometime in January. 2023.

I have ideas for fiction, poetry and music pieces and realise I am very lucky to be able to pluck those ideas from the ether, not everyone is so privileged, but I do not take this lightly. If I am inspired the I feel I should create and share my output with my friends and audience.

Conclusion

I started this with the words from the song “Feeling Good” (also known as "Feelin' Good") written by Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse for the musical “The Roar of the Greasepaint – The Smell of the Crowd.” and they are a perfect uplift. I chose Muse’s version of the song, but have yet to hear a bad version (I was shocked how good Newley’s version was), so go into Christmas and New Year with a positive attitude and I wish you every success.

I am so happy that so many members for Vocal + Assist have received Vocal Top Stories over the past few days so lots of people are Feeling Good now.

HumanitySecretsFriendshipBad habits
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    This made me think of Feel Good Inc by Gorillaz Great read :)

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    I love that when I run into something unexpected that helps me to get my positive thinking back and feeling good😊 Have a great day💕

  • This comment has been deleted

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing such an uplifting piece, Mike! And when you know the rules, you can break the rules ... 😁

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    This is a great, uplifting piece! What an awesome approach. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.