Confessions logo

An Unusual Dream, Turned out Real.

Awaken trauma as I watch the destruction of fire.

By Kristine MilewskiPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
2
An Unusual Dream, Turned out Real.
Photo by Michael Held on Unsplash

I woke up frightened, tears running down the side of my cheek. I worried as I remembered the grey silhouette of smoke, the ditch, and the vehicle on its side. As I reached for my husband, I remembered he was in the Colorado mountains.

The following day, I waited for his text "Good Morning My Love" – Nothing. I ran through my head; he was with his friends. Guys will be boys when hitting the snow. Up late - talking crap, drinking, the usual. He will message me before the lift ride up the mountain. I Text my husband to please be careful snowboarding early that morning before opening Facebook.

I reviewed social media, and a close friend posted that my hometown was on fire. She was being evacuated, panic set in, and unbelievable sadness took over. I felt as if the breath of life was taken away. Then I remember the dream, unusual, real. I began crying hysterically.

As I listened to the news, I became overwhelmed with sadness; 27,000 evacuated, and 87,000 structures were affected by the fire. Over 50,000 acres were burned, and there was still no containment by 4 pm. That could cause anyone in my plight to be overly sad. I envision their emotions of loss and how it will affect them.

Memories of knowing what it is like to only have a bicycle and clothes as your possessions and nothing else. Another is to be evacuated; not safe to stay in a home with the river a foot away is now at your doorstep.

Then, the details from the fire when I was seven, my friend and I sitting on the curb as our parents water down the roof, and we are telling each other if we die, we will always be best friends. She is holding her favorite doll, me, a stuffed bean bag bear. We listened as firefighters told our parents to evacuate, and they would not! The flames on the hill behind our house were right there; one spark on the overgrown grass in our yard or the roof, and I wouldn't be here writing.

I encourage myself to get moving. I began praying that peace come over those families and me throughout the day. I wished I had my supportive husband by my side as he would help balance me out.

Back to the morning of my dream on Dec 4, 2017, I saw silhouettes of what looked like a mountain, trees, and smoke bellowing downhill. It was surreal. Fear set in as I watched the news, waiting to hear about the damage. My thoughts scream - there was a fire seventeen hours away wreaking havoc throughout my hometown. Are their homes safe? Did they evacuate fast enough? Tell me that no one tried to stay behind and save a home. By the afternoon, I emotionally calmed down and contacted a friend's mother. She reported at the time that their homes were safe. Other friends lost their homes and were displaced.

Life must go on; in my immediate world, after drinking a warm cup of tea, it is time to leave to do errands for work. It always helps to distract yourself when you feel like life has fallen under you. Eventually, I spoke to my husband – putting my mind at ease.

As I and the dog walked around the corner, I saw his truck. We embraced, and he held me as I cried. He thought I heard something more; no, I was filled with hurt and anxiety. Relief began to set in with his warmth wrapped around me for 5 hours, waiting for me to let it all out.

Later that evening, before bed, we found out that the fire started with two cars crashing over the embankment, starting a brush fire. As I drift to sleep, the feeling of life in a moment can disappear; I should listen closely to the nudges of the night. Who knows, awakening to the universe's call to pray for safety, send calmness, help others, bring peace of mind, or all of the above…..

FamilyStream of ConsciousnessHumanity
2

About the Creator

Kristine Milewski

My inspiration comes from recreating beautiful scenes with words that capture nature, positivity, and resilience in the face of others' perceptions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Kristine, I felt all of this - your fear from the past, your fear for your friends, the anxiety your dream brought you. This line is great - "I should listen closely to the nudges of the night." I wish I'd written that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.