Poets logo

Caregiver's Dilemma

What every caregiver needs: recognition and respite.

By Kristine MilewskiPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
30
Caregiver's Dilemma
Photo by Dominik Lange on Unsplash

The unconditional love for parent, grandparent, sibling, child

The yearning to heal our loved one

Memories of joy and sadness fluctuating from moment to moment.

Sacrificing our desires to care for our loved ones.

Easy, at first, with the support from friends, acquaintances, colleagues.

__

Time goes by; months turn into years – five, ten, twenty begins to feel like a lifetime.

We do our best to show love to Self and those around us

Inner thoughts echo – ‘I’m tired, exhausted. Jealous of others. Anger rattles the bones.’

Guilt rains down from the head and rests in the heart.

The caregiver Delima - I’ll put my life on hold…Can I do both?

__

Establish Boundaries! The Voice thunders over the mountain tops.

Find time to go on vacation, gardening, exercise, take a spa day

Find time to sit undisturbed, laughter around the dinner table

Find a community to support caregivers and our loved ones in need.

The heat bounds - that is the relief I need to go another day.

__

Today, I will see how my loved one is doing. A phone call, a visit

Thankful that I reached out - as I received their smiles of love,

a touch, a word of encouragement as we reminisce and plan for the future.

Unconditional love shines its light. Giving and receiving is now a delight

What every caregiver needs: recognition and respite.

__

The Caregiver's dilemma the resilience to do it tomorrow,

and appreciating your loved ones as they are today.

To embrace the ebb and flow of emotions, unattached by

breathing life back into the soul. One more day to care for Self;

to love more fully, to shine the light on those we love.

inspirationalhumanityfamily
30

About the Creator

Kristine Milewski

My inspiration comes from recreating beautiful scenes with words that capture nature, positivity, and resilience in the face of others' perceptions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Congratulations on the Leaderboard win!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is wonderful, and incredibly relatable. Congrats on the TS.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    ☺️👏Excellent reflection and poem. Very well done Kristine. Congrats on your leaderboard placement too!!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    A caregiver is a small label to place on an entire life. Your poem brings dimension back to the experience

  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    Yes - well said & thank you.:)

  • Julygwynet5 months ago

    This is a great story. I enjoyed this story. If you want to read my story then visit this link https://vocal.media/humans/a-symphony-of-hearts-and-hopes

  • Noor Amin5 months ago

    congrats

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    Perfectly said. I know from my own families experience how difficult a caregivers life can be, Congrats on Top Story

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    It's tough to be a caregiver and I think you capture the balance that is so difficult to find but which is needed to do such an emotive job. It's always the guilt, I think that becomes a focus and the self-care that gets forgotten. But without taking care of ourselves, how can we give it to others?

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar5 months ago

    Great ideas

  • I was a caregiver t my husband whom had a brain injury then dementia, he passed away July 15th of this year and its the most difficultest job in the world I agree

  • Matthew Fromm5 months ago

    Congrats on the top story and well done for so eloquently bringing a spot light to such a difficult job

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very beautifully put. I was a caregiver to my parents, and you wrote this exactly to how I felt. 

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.