Confessions logo

Ambition requires courage

"Don't let anyone tell you how far you'll go. Only you can decide that."

By marion scottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

To start off I would like to say that while this week, like every other, has been full of memories and triggers, I learned something incredibly important about myself. I am most proud of myself when I am doing the things I personally love. For anyone reading this I would like to re-cap quickly what my life is like currently so you understand the importance of my discovery. I am a single mom of 5 kids, I work 3 jobs (1 full-time and 2 part-time) and I attend online classes at a university. I started my fall semester nearly 3 weeks ago. At the same time this happened, I came to the realization I was doing too much and my cup was overflowing. I needed to let some stuff out. So I shifted my focus. Prior to this class, my primary focus had been on work and giving 100% to all of my jobs, my kids, my friends and new friendships or relationships. But I realized it is physically impossible to give 100% in every one of these aspects. A human can only give so much and do so much-especially a single mom and student. So I shifted my focus to myself-as selfish as that may sound. I made the decision that I needed to do what I wanted and what I felt would make me the happiest. I prioritized the tasks needed to be completed for work, of which I can give 100% of my dedication, rather than trying to put in 100% to all jobs. I made a list of everything that needed to be done, including my classwork. I studied the syllabus and work hard every night to complete my assignments. I have received my grades on my assignments and I am so proud to say I have gotten A's on all of them. This may seem like a minuscule accomplishment to some. My days currently consist of 17-19 hour days and I am thoroughly exhausted by the end of it. Yet, I feel so invigorated and happy at the end of it. I feel like I have accomplished so much. I can only describe it as feeling empowered and feeling powerful inside. One of the triggers this week has been that my ex-husband used to berate my classes and schoolwork, putting me down and saying I would never finish my degree. Starting this semester fresh, I feel ambitious and courageous. It is no longer the goal of "I will show him what I can do", but instead has been changed to, "I will prove to myself how much I can do." Apparently, I can do a lot. This is the fresh start I needed and have been desiring for the past few years. But I couldn't rely on anyone to give me that fresh start. I had to go out myself and make it happen. I have to work hard to create it and accomplish it. I have found a sense of peace inside that I did not know I could find in my healing journey. I know the journey is far from over and there are times that I am still triggered. There are moments I still cry and want to hide from the world. There are moments when I feel I can't possibly handle one more thing on my plate. But I remind myself of how much IS on my plate, and how hard I am willing to work to accomplish those goals. I am in charge of my destiny. I choose the pathway on my journey and I have the power to choose how I will heal along the way. Tonight I am feeling incredibly powerful and courageous inside. I am feeling excited and proud that my hard work has paid off and has been worth it. I feel like I can get through this and I will heal from my pain. Because pain is only temporary. Tonight, this is who I am and I am proud of who I am. Tonight, this is me.

Workplace

About the Creator

marion scott

I am a single mom and have a business I have slowly started working towards launching and successfully maintaining. I am 32 and I have 5 kids. I love writing and have over a dozen projects in the works at the moment. Check out my page!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    marion scottWritten by marion scott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.