Confessions logo

A True Story About a Party From 16-Year-Old Introverted Me

I was a cool kid, I think

By Davlin KnightPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like
A True Story About a Party From 16-Year-Old Introverted Me
Photo by Jacob Bentzinger on Unsplash

When I was 16, I attended my first party as an introvert and this is what I wrote after.

* * *

I went to my first party and everything that is going through your head could or couldn't have happened. I can say that I did have beer and vodka but I didn't get drunk. Someone elee took that responsibility for me because it had to happen, right? It's a party. What would it had been if some girl didn't become a drunk buzzkill.

However, this party was far from wild. It started with an casual invitation from a friend. I hestitated to even consider going. I sent some message saying that I was tired. Immediately, the host of the party messages me saying that "why is so and so telling me you don't want to go?"

Nothing flusters me more than my decisions being questioned. Regardless, I told the host of the party that I was going and that I was just hesitant. So, I got ready. A nice long sleeve. Faded black jeans. Spent way too long in the mirror trying to make myself presentable.

My friend picked me up. She couldn't have been more happier to see me. Even more joyful that I was going to a party. I was just nervous as always. I played millions of scenarios of how the night could go.

I thought that I could get drunk because that'll loosen me up. I could get drunk and be completely crazy, maybe I'd even out myself. I could hook up with some guy or girl because party induced me wouldn't know the difference. Something out of a book or movie would have been fine but welcome to reality.

None of those happened. I arrived to the party and when I entered, I was greeted by a few girls. Five. I knew them from school but we never talked. They sat with soda filled cups and it didn't look like they were engaged in a converstation when I arrived.

I joined an awkward silence is what I did. Of course, one girl asked how my job was because thats all anyone asks when they have nothing to talk about. During that time, the rest of the guest just stared at us. Super uncomfortable. The silences that followed each sentences. So I broke the silence trying to ask about everyones summer and how everyone was and such.

Still, no matter how hard I tried. It was awkward. Especially when the host called out her friend on how fake she was. Yikes. I just put on a smile and reached out for help with my eyes to my friend. We shared thousands of looks that night.

I couldn't help but feel out of place at the start with all that stuff happening but once the games started everyone grew more comfortable. Girls played uno and whoever had to draw a card drank a shot (thats how the girl got wasted) while me and the boys played xbox.

The best part of the night was when I was talking about my favorite games with this girl. She was amazing. She liked all the games I did and appreciated a good story. Her boyfriend left early so she left with him naturally which sucked.

I got stuck playing mortal kombat which wasn't all too fun honestly. I am bad at it and this guy was showing off whenever he faced me. At this point, the drunk girl got kicked from the party and I'm drinking flavored beer.

I wasn't having the time of my life. I was bored and so I went to eat. Pizza. Great, I hate pizza considering I eat it all the time. So I ate some really greasy spring rolls and weird macaroons.

While eating, from another room, I heard noise and realized all the "fun" was there. Looking back, I just sat playing with a glow stick while having useless converstations that were almost improvised. By improvised I mean they continued as stuff happened but it was meaningless stuff. If that makes sense.

So more twiddling with my glow stick and sips from a beer. Across the room, some guy was staring at me and I met his eyes on several occasions but quickly looked away. He looked bored like me and if it was like the movies he would have came over to talk. We would have left the party early to drive into the night. That didn't happen.

Instead, the party started wrapping up at 12 o' clock am. I was buzzed suddenly around that time and was blasting my music on the speaker even though the party was done. My friend had the same energy.

This was the second best part of the night. I singed and danced. We had a great time. Just the two of us. I think that's how the party should have been. Fun like that brief time of dancing and singing with my friend.

So we did that then left. I smiled the whole ride home and I will always remember those last few minutes of the night and how I danced and singed. How free I felt. How happy and how that made the whole night not as bad as I thought.

SchoolHumanityFriendshipEmbarrassmentChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Davlin Knight

Just an awkward guy with lots to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.