Chapters logo

The Legend of the Tree of Life (II)

Part Two: A Mother's Intuition

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
8
Image Created with Open art AI

Incase you missed Part One.

 

My blood boiled with rage as I glared at him, not hating him for escaping but myself for letting it happen. I bit back my words and stepped further into the darkness of the forest. I allowed my Life Force Light to fade so that I blended into the shadows. Which allowed me to watch his cocky demeanour fade before he walked back into town.

 

“If only you knew the true cost.” The ethereal voice of Elysabeth, the Mother of Guardians, murmured over my shoulder.

 

“Mother,” I mumbled in a barely audible voice as I turned to see her silvery glow only feet away.

 

“Your light is dimmed,” she commented with an unreadable expression. Her eyes narrowed in suspicion.

 

“Oh,” I mumbled and allowed my light to shine like normal. Its golden tendrils danced among Mother’s silvery glow. “I have not forgotten my oath if that is your concern,” I added as my heart beat nervously in my chest.

 

“Livia, if I had thought that you’d broken your vows, then we’d be having a very different conversation.” Mother began with a sigh, “But I can sense your inner doubt in yourself to do what is right.”

 

“I didn’t have the heart to kill him,” I admitted as my gaze fell to the forest floor, where our Life Force Lights continued to mingle with one another.

 

“Humans destroy our way of life and the forest we are charged with defending.” Mother reminded me with a scolding look.

 

“I understand, Mother.” I replied as I turned away, “And I will do better.” I added over my shoulder as I walked away, hanging my head in shame.

 

“I wish you would.” I heard her mumble as I walked into the darkness and we parted ways.

 

 

 

Several nights later, I was making my nightly rounds through the Forest of Cigam and, once again, I encountered Brazen.

 

He snuck through the shadows as he had the night we first met.

 

“Have you learned nothing, foolish human?” I asked in a low growl.

 

He paused behind a tree. “I heard Elysabeth scolding you for not killing me.” He murmured.

 

“So not only have you learned nothing, but you choose to mock me,” I stated with an edge to my voice. My nostrils flared in annoyance.

 

“I think you intentionally let me go,” Brazen stated, as half of his face peered out from behind the tree and my golden Life Force Light illuminated it.

 

“Why would you say that?” I asked as I watched him through narrowed eyes.

 

“Because it’s true,” he stated as he emerged further from behind the tree and a smirk tucked itself in the corner of his lips.

 

“What is it you want?” I asked as I let my curiosity get the best of me.

 

“Nothing,” He answered innocently. “You just interest me. Like I do you.” He commented, and a charming smile crossed his lips as his auburn eyes appraised me.

 

“Who said you interest me?” I asked with a scoff.

 

“That smile on your face, for one.” He countered, his eyes twinkling with the reflection of my golden glow.

 

“You need to leave,” I growled and bent down to place my hand on the forest floor.

 

“Fine,” he replied and scurried out of sight, headed for the safety of More Bay.

 

I stood in place as I listened to the sound of his footsteps fade, and my tree roots as they followed him for good measure. I released a sigh I was holding back as I wished what he said was wrong, but even I couldn’t deny my curiosity about him was piqued.

 

Part Three:

RomanceMagical RealismFictionFantasyAdventure
8

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Jefferson30 days ago

    Cherish the people around you because they make life worth living. Make the most of every day and live it to the fullest because we never know how much time we have left. I wish you good health, a bright future and a happy life. May you always be surrounded by love and support. 🙏🙏🙏

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh deary me... things are certainly developing here And I love the symmetry between what was said to Brazen by the Mother in the original and what is being said to Livia now! What oh what could happen between these two? Might two starcrossed lovers have met under the shade of the Forest of Cigam?

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Uh oh! I sense a relationship brewing. That can't be goood - or can it? Hmmm....

  • JBazabout a month ago

    I am with Dharr on this...What is going to happen with these two? I like the banter that is occurring it shows and says so much about them that you so not have to describe.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Livia and Brazen, sitting on a tree. K-I-S-S-I-N-G 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I have no idea what you're trying to do here with these two but I know it's not gonna end well because the forest ends up burning and Brazen ends up dead. Lol. Waiting for part 3!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I'm liking this prequel. Keep it coming.

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    You know what they say about curiosity. I see big trouble in the future for these two.

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a month ago

    Wait... but the challenge closed yesterday! Does that mean you're *gasp* writing these for fun?? Someone get me the number for the Vocal Police.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.