Fiction logo

The Legend of The Tree of Life (I)

Part One: Livia

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a month ago Updated 27 days ago 4 min read
Top Story - April 2024
14
Image Created with Open Art AI

For those of you who have read my series The Forest of Cigam, this is the origin story of the Tree of Life. A prequel series, if you will.

  

………….......................................................................................................

 

I pressed my palm against the trunk of Oaklee, an old oak tree in The Forest of Cigam. She needed help shedding her wilting leaves from last winter and sprouting the buds of spring.

But an abrupt snap of a twig interrupted me, and I spun around to see a humanoid figure that crept through the darkness.

“What are you doing here?” I called to my enemy as he sulked through the shadows.

 

“I’m just leaving.” His coarse voice replied nonchalantly, and he carried on trampling the grass beneath his feet.

 

I cringed as another twig snapped under his weight and I listened to the cry of unseen flowers as he stomped them out of existence. He was completely oblivious to the damage he caused by his blind fumbling in the dark.

Several sprites burst forth from a bush as he stumbled through it. They looked like a mini explosion of stars as they quickly scattered into nearby foliage.

  

“Well, it would be nice if you showed a little respect for the forest and its inhabitants during your visit.” I threatened with an edge to my voice as I took a step toward him. My jaw clenched in anger as I watched him wreak havoc with every step.

  

“I won’t be here for long.” He dismissed as he carried on through the darkness, stumbling over tree roots and unseen rocks.

 

I walked alongside him until there was a small clearing in the trees and my golden glow illuminated his form. My breath caught in my throat as his auburn eyes connected with mine.

“What do they call you, human?” I inquired.

“Brazen,” he replied with a nervous gulp as he stood at the edge of the clearing. His eyes lingered on me for a moment before he turned his gaze toward the edge of the clearing, on the other side of which was the closest town. A small settlement called More Bay survived on the edge of my forest.

 

A cool breeze made the tall grass and flowers in the clearing dance. It swept my straw-coloured hair out of my eyes. I continued to observe my enemy as he tromped through the tall grass, but he kept a nervous eye on me.

“Brazen, are you not aware that humans are forbidden from entering the Forest of Cigam?” I asked, while my curious eyes focused on the details of his face. From the small line of freckles that danced across his nose to the light tracing of stubble that carved out his jawline in the darkness. Even his auburn-coloured eyes as they focused on the path ahead and he tried not to let me see the fear they held.

“I am, and that is why I’m leaving.” He replied as he walked across the clearing.

 

“I’m not supposed to let you leave after I’ve caught you,” I muttered as I took measured steps and followed behind him in apprehension. Unsure I had the resolve to do what was required of me.

“I’m aware.” He muttered nervously as he now jogged to get to the edge of the clearing and find safety in the cover of the trees.

“Then why are you here?” I asked with great disappointment as he stepped into the shadows of the trees once more.

  

“I needed the money, and the town apothecary asked me to retrieve something,” Brazen answered as he melted into the darkness.

 

“Then I have no choice,” I mumbled in an uneasy tone.

I knelt on the forest floor and pressed the palm of my hand upon it. Which summoned tree roots and vines, I asked them to capture Brazen on my behalf. I watched as they snaked along the forest floor and snapped at his heels, but he evaded their grasp and fled deep into the trees. So far, I’d almost lost track of him. I followed him right up to the edge of the forest, where it met with the edge of More Bay. A boundary my powers could not cross.

 

Brazen had escaped my clutches and spun around with a taunting smile. His hood fell, and the moonlight illuminated his face.

  

I felt a heat rise in my cheeks as his dark unruly hair framed his smug expression.

“This was a final warning to you, Brazen,” I spoke in a foreboding tone as I rose to my full height. I looked down my nose at him from the forests edge.

 

“A warning or a failure to do your job?” He jeered as he remained out of reach.

   

Part Two:

SeriesLoveFantasyAdventure
14

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 25 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Novel Allen26 days ago

    I haven't followed the previous stories, it seems you are falling for a bad guy here. I am not up on much these days, trying to catch up is hopeless, just taking it one breath at a time. I will try to catch up. Hi D. Hugs.

  • Babs Iverson26 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Abdul Qayyum27 days ago

    Excellent storytelling Original narrative & well developed characters

  • The Writer 27 days ago

    beautiful!!!!

  • Now I know for sure that Vocal waited for you to finish the series before giving it a Top Story hehehehehehe. Congratulations D! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • JBaz28 days ago

    Yay. I shared your tale on the vocal story board as a must read. Congratulations

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    I'm running a bit behind, but glad to finally be reading the prequel series, H! I believe Brazen (an apt name) is blatantly asking for trouble, and perhaps looking forward to it...

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hehehehehehehe this made me smile and blush 🙈🙈🙈🥰🥰🥰 Okay so she's the forest guardian and her name is Livia? I reallyyyyy love it! Also, when you said prequel, I just thought it'll be one part, like the epilogue for Jogger's Trail and Helmar's story (sorry I forgot the title). But wooohooooo, I'm sooo happy that we get multiples parts to this prequel! Eagerly waiting for part 2!

  • JBazabout a month ago

    I like this prequel, you found your calling with these stories. Wonderful tale full of life and rich characters.

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh this is fun! I like how you represent her as one of many forest guardians! The fact that she has a 'supposed to' seriously implies it :) And the almost impish arrogance of Brazen was really fun too. Almost had a flirting tone, but maybe that's just me and my lack of knowing about such things. Can't wait to see what happens next! And if she's the same guardian as the old woman from the main series... hmm...

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    Taunting your potential captor gives his name meaning. Great way to start a prequel! (Suggestion: When she first spots the human you have she spots a humanoid figure but then you say they. Somewhat confusing, one human or multiple?

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Should I read the others first, do you think?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.