Fiction logo

The Forest of Cigam (V)

Part Five: A Choice

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a month ago Updated 27 days ago 3 min read
8
Image Created with DALL-E software

Incase you missed Part One, Two, Three or Four.

 

Bang, bang, bang.

A few abrupt knocks rang out in my small home as I prepared dinner.

 

“Come in,” I called as I cleaned off my hands and met my visitor at the door.

 

A middle-aged man with dark circles under his eyes, a well-groomed grey moustache and wine-red robes entered my home. The Burgher himself.

 

“Mr. Belmont, I wasn’t expecting-“

 

“No need, young man. I have an urgent matter to discuss with you, so let’s skip the pleasantries.” He explained with a dismissive wave.

 

“I see,” I spoke with unease as I waited for him to begin.

 

“I am charging you with an assignment of the utmost urgency.” He started in an official tone, “I am to understand that you brought this Life Serum upon our town. Is that true?”

 

“That depends,” I stated with apprehension.

 

“On what?” He countered, his bushy eyebrows furrowed in deep thought as he pursed his lips into a pout.

 

“On what you are here for,” I stated with a nervous look behind him, half expecting his armed guards to step into my home and arrest me.

 

“I’d like to send you on a quest to find another Tree of Life. As well as collect more of that sap to be turned into serum.” He explained with a nervous twitch of his moustache.

 

“Is that all?” I asked, “And if I refuse?”

 

Another set of footsteps entered my home, just behind the Burgher, an armed guard just as I expected.

 

“Then we shall have to enter another form of negotiations.” The Burgher explained, his eyes darkened in threat as he attempted to stare me down.

 

“I see,” I spoke as I took a few steps back into the kitchen. Careful not to turn my back on him as I blindly searched for my hunting knife.

“How long do I have to consider this generous offer?” I asked as my hand found the handle of my knife and I prepared to put up a fight.

 

“I will give you the evening to decide. But I will assure you that there really is only one choice.” He explained and turned to leave, but then paused in the doorway. “I have guards watching your home, just in case you try to make other plans.” He explained with a small smile, then closed the door behind himself as he left.

 

I hurled the knife at the closed door and it stuck out at a right angle, only the tip sunk into the wood. I shook in anger, hating Jasen for exposing me and putting me in this situation.

Now I would have no choice but to go on a failure of a quest, and never be able to enjoy my well-earned riches.

Then I suddenly had an idea. I stomped back to my bedroom, and I searched under the bed for an old pair of shoes I liked to use as a hiding place. Upending the shoe, the last vial of golden Life Serum fell into my hand and I admired it for a moment. Secretly I wondered what it tasted like. But I thought better of it, as I placed the vial in my pocket and devised a plan to give my guards the slip.

 

Part Six:

SeriesFantasyAdventure
8

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdul Qayyum16 days ago

    nice writing

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Fabulous descriptive and love the adventure!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell27 days ago

    Oooh, a little deeper... Can't wait to get to Part VI. If I may point out a small typo: "I hurdled the knife..." I'm guessing you meant "hurled". Incredible story you've got going here, H!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh wow, now he's being threatened and watched. Freaking Jasen!! It's all his fault! I wonder how is he gonna escape from the guards and what plan has he concocted. Ahhhh!! Can't wait for the next chapter!!

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh! The intrigue intensified! The Burgher himself, eh? Well, well, if this isn't getting more interesting with every entry, Donna! Waiting to release was completely the right thing to do! Stick to the timeline to keep us all on tenderhooks :) My theory is that he'll try to bribe his way past the guards, and I think it will work... for a short time... until they wonder if he has anymore serum hidden away somewhere. Eagerly awaiting the next entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.