Chapters logo

The Forest of Cigam (III)

Part Three: An Unexpected Customer

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
8
Image created with DALL-E

Incase you missed Part One and Two.

 

The next morning, I stewed the sap just as I had promised, then carted it to Jasen’s home.

On my walk there, the smell of smoke filled the air, and the streets seemed emptier than usual. But I dismissed it as nothing more than the usual slow Sunday morning crowd. Until I knocked on Jasen’s door and saw his sweaty, worry-stricken face.

“Are you okay?” I asked with concern as I appraised his distressed expression, sweat dripped down his brow.

 

“Yeah, I’m fine. Do you have the stuff?” He sputtered as his eyes darted from me to the cart beside me.

 

I nodded with uncertainty.

 

“Come in,” He requested and opened the door wider.

 

I pulled my cart in and unloaded the Life Serum onto his counter. But I kept a careful eye on him as he closed the door and I got the feeling that something was really off about him.

 

“So we agreed on double what you paid last time, yeah?” I asked as I finished unloading the vials onto his countertop. The air in his home felt stale, almost muggier than it was outside with the smoke.

 

“Yes.” He agreed and pulled out his coin purse, then tossed it into my cart. “I added a little extra, as thanks for letting me tag along last night.” He explained, as his eyes darted around the dark room in agitation.

 

“Pleasure doing business with you,” I stated and made for the door. Wanting nothing more than to wash my hands of this whole ordeal.

 

“Did you hear about the forest fire last night?” He asked in apprehension as he followed me.

 

“No, but I can smell the smoke in the air,” I stated as I reached for the knob.

 

“The Enchanted Forest of Cigam went up in smoke.” He blurted out nervously.

 

“Huh?” I asked as I turned to face him with a look of confusion.

 

“The Enchanted Forest of Cigam, has been reduced to ashes.” He repeated and scratched his arm aggressively. Jasen’s eyes held this empty look of bewilderment as he stared at the floor beneath my feet.

 

“The whole forest?” I asked in shock.

 

“I think so.” He replied thoughtlessly as he slowly turned toward his kitchen.

 

I chewed on my words for a moment as I absorbed the information.

“Did the tree survive?” I inquired, my mind replaying the scene where I thought I stomped out his cigarette from last night.

 

“Which one?” He asked, his eyes glazed over in a daze as his gaze shifted to the serum on his counter.

 

“The Tree of Life.” I clarified with a look of bewilderment.

 

“Oh.” He paused in thought and walked over to the vials on his counter. “I don’t know.” He replied with an absentminded shrug.

 

I watched his eyes light up in hungry excitement as he scooped up a vial and admired it.

 

He uncorked it and took a sip, just enough to coat his tongue by my estimation. Jasen sighed in relief and then turned to face me, “Sorry, what were we talking about?” He asked, suddenly seeming more level-headed and clear-minded. Much more like his old self.

 

Before I could answer, there was an abrupt knock on the door behind me. I jumped and pulled my cart out of the way as Jasen went to answer it.

 

“Ah, Mrs. Belmont, how nice to see you again.” He greeted her formally. Jasen stood with the door open just enough that she could only see him.

 

“I need another vial of that serum you gave me.” She muttered frantically.

 

“Of course, I’ll grab it now.” He agreed and left the door slightly ajar as he grabbed two vials from the counter. Then paused and gave me a leery look as though he’d forgotten I was here, then put a finger up to say he’d be one more moment.

 

I froze in disbelief as I watched him hand the vials to the Burgher’s wife. I wondered what ailment she might have that would warrant her needing Life Serum, never mind the two whole vials.

 

“There you are, Mrs. Belmont. Thank you for stopping by.” He bid her as he accepted a handful of coins from her and closed the door.

 

“There’s an extra bit in there for you,” she called before it closed completely.

 

“Thank you Mrs. Belmont.” He muttered and closed the door.

Then he pressed his back against it and looked at me with a sheepish gaze of unease. Before he pulled the vial from his pocket and took another sip.

 

“What is she sick with?” I asked in suspicion.

 

“That’s confidential, and I’d like you to keep it to yourself that she even came to see me.” He added as he walked over to my cart and tossed a few more coins on top of the bag. “Here, take one of these as a thank you,” He added, placing a single vial delicately in the palm of my hand.

 

I just stood there, speechless and confused.

 

“Now, if you don’t mind, I have more clients coming and I’d rather not scare them away.” He added as ushered me towards the door and swung it open.

“I’ll let you know when we need more. Thank you for making the delivery.” He bid me as he pushed me out of the door.

 

“But we can’t get more-“

 

Jasen slammed the door in my face before I could finish my sentence.

 

I stood on his doorstep for a moment, dazed and confused. I looked down at the small vial still in my hand. The golden serum sparkled up at me in temptation.

I gave myself a shake as I regained my senses and walked home, telling myself that none of that was my business and I needed to stay out of it. All that mattered was that I had enough money to survive the coming winter.

 

Part Four:

   

Definition for Burgher:

Not a delicious dinner with a side of fries.

My understanding is a person who is a citizen of a town/ city that is a member of a wealthy family that is charged with keeping it in order. Something like a mayor for the middle ages.

Magical RealismFictionFantasyCliffhangerAdventure
8

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    EXCUSE ME MS. FOX! WHAT HAPPENED TO THE FOREST!? AND THE TREE!? So the serum seems to be some kind of seriously addictive substance... interesting. One wonders what will happen to the good people of the town once the supply runs short.... Would you look at that! My lucky day seeing the next part already out :)

  • Whatttttt???!!!!! The forest caught on fire????!!!! I was beyond shocked! Like that caught me off guard soooo bad! Hahahahahahahhahaha. I too like MC wonder if the Tree of Life is okay. And, ummm, that serum seems to really work like a drug. Jasen being so sus and weird before taking a sip of it. And then Mrs. Belmont. Gosh like what is going on, it's all just soooo suspenseful! Lol, I Googled Burgher before I reached the end but your explanation is way better. But just imagine if she was actually a burger's wife. So would that make her the fries? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Ahhhhh!!! I can't wait for part 4!!!

  • Me, with "Read Part 1" still on the to-do list: 😰😰 Blowing me out of the water on series output this past week. Well done! I'll be back once I've worked my way up.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Ok I am intrigued, what does she have and what's with the vial? Keep on writing. ( editors note-Until I knocked on Jason’s door)

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Hmmm, a fire? Sparked by a cigarette, perhaps? So many questions... I'm enjoying the series, H!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.