Chapters logo

The Forest of Cigam (II)

Part Two: Life Serum

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
8
Image created with DALL-E software

Incase you missed Part One

 

Bang, bang, bang, bang, bang.

My front door thundered in the early morning hours.

 

With a groan, I got out of bed and wobbled over to answer it. I only opened it a crack as I had no idea who would disturb me at this hour.

 

“Let me in.” The hushed voice of Jasen, the town apothecary, whispered through the crack with urgency.

 

“It’s not even dawn yet.” I protested as I let him in.

 

“I need more of that serum.” He explained sweat gathered on his forehead in anxiety.

 

“I don’t have anymore,” I replied through a loud yawn. Then closed the door behind him and rubbed the sleep from my eyes.

 

“I need more. Can you get it or make it?” He asked, then stepped into my kitchen as though he expected the serum to magically materialize.

 

“I can get more,” I stated with a furrowed brow as I started to clue into his erratic behaviour.

 

“Now? I’ll go with you.” He offered as he stepped towards me, a crazed look in his eyes like I’ve never seen before.

 

“No, I’ll go tonight,” I explained as I watched Jasen pace around my kitchen with anxiety.

 

“Where do you get it?” He asked, giving his forearm a vigorous scratch as though something crawled below his skin.

 

“The forest,” I answered vaguely, with a nod in its direction.

“It’s just stewed tree sap from the Tree of Life,” I explained, not thinking much of it.

 

“And you can get more of it?” He asked the eagerness in his voice increased significantly.

 

“Yes, I will tonight,” I confirmed as I furrowed at him in analysis.

 

“Okay.” he let out a sigh of relief and headed for the door. “I’ll see you later then,” Jasen called as he let himself out and waddled down the street in a hurry.

 

I stood in my doorway and watched him until he disappeared into the morning crowd. With a shake of my head, I closed the door and returned to bed, not giving that interaction much more thought.

 

 

 

That night, I stopped by the tavern as I usually do before heading into The Forest of Cigam.

It was a lot quieter than normal, but I didn’t mind the silence as I drank my ale drink and watched the sunset again.

After which, I made my way through the forest like I had before. I followed the veins until they led me to the Tree of Life. But this time I took an extra moment to stand at the edge of the clearing. Not only to admire my cash cow but also to double-check that my friend from last time wasn’t around.

With no sign of her in sight, I sauntered up to the tree and tapped it as I had previously. This time I kept a continuous eye out for the guardian but saw nothing.

With my bucket full once more, I unplugged the spile.

 

“So that’s how you collect it?” A familiar voice spoke from over my shoulder.

 

I jumped and pulled my knife out as I prepared to defend myself. “What the hell, Jasen?” I spoke in a whisper-yell as I laid eyes on him.

 

“Whoa man, I just came to see if you need any help with the collection.” He stated with his hands held up in surrender and the cigarette fell from his lips in surprise.

 

I stowed my knife in my holster and stomped out the cigarette embers. “Well, try not to sneak up on people like that, will you?” I scolded him with a scowl.

 

“Why are you so jumpy?” He countered, “You trying to keep it a secret?” He asked and then glanced around as though he expected someone to burst out of the shadows.

 

“No,” I dismissed, “There are just other beings in the forest that don’t agree with this choice,” I admitted and continued to clean up my supplies.

 

“Like what?” Jasen asked with a note of worry, his eyes scanned the forest again.

 

“Never mind.” I snapped in annoyance, “Just keep an eye out for me while I finish up and then we can go.” I stated and finished gathering my things.

While I did so, the Tree of Life’s light flickered on and off multiple times. Then glowed steady again, but with a slightly duller intensity than it had before.

I watched it for a moment then grabbed my bucket and as we started to walk away. Then I heard that familiar ethereal voice again.

 

“You have returned.” She spoke in that same tone of forlorn.

 

“I’m leaving now. I won’t bother you for a while,” I spoke over my shoulder, then gave a wave of dismissal with my free hand. Not bothering to look up as I strode past her.

 

“Who is that?” Jasen asked, with a look of apprehension.

 

“A forest guardian. Just ignore her.” I dismissed and continued to walk with Jasen in tow.

 

“If only you knew the true cost.” She muttered in a barely audible voice.

 

“I heard you the first time,” I called back and continued into the darkness of the forest.

 

Jasen followed me all the way home, badgering me about what the guardian had said and stewing the sap immediately.

We parted on the terms that I would get a few hours of sleep before I stewed the sap, then would drop it off for him first thing in the morning. But I required double the price for my trouble.

 

Part Three:

Magical RealismFictionFantasyCliffhangerAdventure
8

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    They should heed the warning but of course greedy ears don’t listen. I would be scared of what the guardians words mean, lol. Nice continuance!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Yikes, this is all going to go tits up, I can feel it!

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Y'know, I'mnot sure Jasen is all that trustworthy. Just a guess. lol Also, I sense trouble coming...

  • Lol, Jasen is soooo annoying! If I was MC, I'd charge him even more for all the badgering and bugging he did 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 "I spoke over my shoulder, the gave a wave of dismissal with my free hand." There's a small typo here D. I think it should be "then* gave a wave". Now that we're on this topic, you might wanna check your spacings between paragraphs. I've been meaning to tell you this since several pieces of yours ago but I always forget by the time I come to comment. I'm so for that 🥺 What Alex said below has intrigued me. Addictive. I thought they were just greedy. Can't wait to see what you have in store for us! Can't wait to read part 3! Hehehehehehehe

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    Ooooh... I'm thinking that maybe the serum is addictive? The apothecary certainly seems desperate to get his hands on more. Then again, the tavern was uncommonly quiet that evening... hmm... perhaps a plague of some kind is infecting the town? I might even be inclined to think that the price the Guardian speaks of is some kind of curse. Almost as though, now that people are 'hooked' for lack of a better word, on the sap, they are morphing into something terrible without it? Fascinating... And the tree's light flickered? Returning weaker than it had been before? The resource does not seem renewable... this is going to get very interesting! I can feel it in my bones! Oh yes. I think you meant "cash cow" :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.