Chapters logo

A Tale of Thieves (Part Seven)

The Betrayal

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
12
A Tale of Thieves (Part Seven)
Photo by Emma Van Sant on Unsplash

In case you missed Part One, Two, Three, Four, Five or Six. For Part Seven, continue reading.

My first official act as The New Source was to free my friends and Carla from the dungeon. But am no longer allowed to associate with them, except Carla since she is said to have amended her wrongdoings by returning me to the palace. Where The Source’s rightful place is said to be

Which kind of sucks because now my only friend is the person who betrayed me and I am not sure I consider her a friend anymore.

I am left to ponder that thought now as I sit in the entryway of the palace, being presented as The New Source. Sitting upon a newly constructed throne since it was decided the little black pillow wasn’t very becoming of me.

I spend my days in lessons, gifting my "visitors" with the powers I feel fit them best. My life looks like it’s improved for the better but I’m not convinced yet.

Some days I forget what it was like before all this and sometimes even forget what my name is. Being that I am only ever addressed as “The New Source”.

In the coming months since I have become The New Source, several children who also bear the mark of The Source have come forward. According to the Head Keeper, these children are here to replace me if anything should happen to me or I choose to step down. But unlike me, they do not possess any powers, they will receive them when I choose to pass them down at the right time.

They are all under training as I am, but only one shows enough promise to be my direct understudy. However, I think he’s more than qualified to take the position from me now.

This brings me to tonight, a night I’ve been planning since the moment I heard it was possible.

Tonight I have summoned Carla to my personal chambers as well as my understudy. Sitting on my balcony watching the sun set over Lacigam and having one last cup of ale.

The doors to my chamber bang open and Carla sprints in. Sweat dripped down her brow, carving trails in her thick caked-on makeup.

“What is it? They said it was urgent?!” She shouts through panted breaths, looking all around to find me lounging on the balcony.

“Apologies, I just wanted to make sure you came tonight otherwise I might lose my nerve,” I explain, draining my cup and standing to meet her eye.

“What?” She asks with a furrowed brow of confusion, her chest still heaving with great effort.

“I had a premonition about a different set of powers I might be able to bestow upon someone and I wanted to try it with you,” I explain with a small smile.

“Me? Why me?” She asks narrowing her eyes suspiciously, suddenly catching her breath.

“Because you are my closest friend and-“

“But-“

“I know what you’re going to say. I haven’t been happy with you since the betrayal but that’s all in the past now and I wanted to make it up to you. Maybe even thank you for what you’ve done for us. Our lives have turned around for the better and I think I owe this to you.” I explain, forcing my smile to widen slightly.

“You don’t mean that.” Carla protests, still giving me a weary look.

“I do,” I state in a soft voice offering my hand out as a peace offering.

She hesitates for a second, looking at my hand as though she expects a mouse trap to be resting upon my palm.

“Well, I’m glad you finally came to your senses.” She states, placing her hand in mine.

The door to my chambers opens again and my understudy appears.

“You summoned me?” He asks in an airy yet curious voice.

“Indeed, I wanted you to observe something,” I state as I start focussing on what I was about to bestow upon Carla.

Eagerly he steps closer, his eyes wide in observation as he looks from me to Carla to our joined hands.

“What are you doing?” He asks, his eyes resting on mine.

I allow the smile to fade from my lips as my blood turns cold.

“I’m stripping her of her powers,” I mutter in a cold voice and before either could protest, Carla fell to the ground.

Her body was grey and lifeless, her mouth hanging open and eyes wide in shock.

“Hmmm,” I hum, as I release her hand. “Just as I thought.”

“What did you do?” He asks, falling to his knees in disbelief.

“I did just what I said,” I explain, walking over to my travelling cloak and throwing it over my shoulders. “I stripped her of her powers and in turn relieved her of her life force. I suspected this would happen but needed confirmation.” I explain casually, fastening the clasp on my cloak.

“I don’t recommend doing that unless you want to execute someone,” I state, placing a hand on my understudy’s cheek as I give him a reassuring smile.

I feel cold again as the transfer completes and I head for the door to my chambers.

“Where are you going?” He asks, standing up and watching me in bewilderment.

“I am no longer the New Source, my friend, you are.” I state, “I have kept some of my favourite powers but you may now bestow powers upon those that require it. I am not fit to lead any longer and I wish you luck in your journey.” I explain with the first genuine smile of the evening as I turn invisible and stroll out of the palace for the last time.

Never to be heard form again.

The End

Young AdultRevealResolutionPlot TwistMagical RealismFictionFantasyAdventure
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    HAHA! Take that Carla! Vengeance truly is a dish best served cold! (More eloquent in its original Klingon) Loved this series, Donna! Great pacing and believable characters! I would have liked to spend more time really soaking in the world and the world building. But this was just fantastic! Poor kid, hopefully he doesn't go mad with power. Tyrants are always so much more difficult to deal with once they're literal actual living gods.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I sure hope your powers bring you all the happiness which you deserve. Pooe Carla, rat is a rat. Cold, but had to be done. Great ending. Well done on your stories. Oh how you have grown. So proud am I.

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Wow ! You laid the groundwork well for this ending not really apparent until it happened. Great story Donna. Compelling writing that carried me forward and a pleasure to read. Epilogue? I’m curious as to what other powers she retained. Lol 💜

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Great ending, Donna. I did not see that coming.

  • Omg that was Awesome!! I love that ending concludes the current story but leaves enough unanswered to have me wanting a sequel. This would make such a great YA series. I really liked the ending scene with Keren turning invisible. Off to a life at least in my imagination of being a dark mysterious figure who returns from the shadows at times of great need. Well done Donna thank you for creating this wonderful tale

  • I'm a tad confused. Is Carla dead? If she isn't, wouldn't Keren's understudy be able to restore her powers or bestow new powers to her? The power of invisibility. That's like my most favourite power! God I wish I was Keren, lol. All my questions have been answered and I'm soooo happy with how this series ended! You're brilliant!

  • Great read Donna… and satisfying ending… the invisibility was useful for her escape.✅

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Ok just one more then I’ll leave you alone…. Well done a great way to finish this off brought out a little darkness in this one. Don’t worry I like that she used Carla as an experiment Thank you Donna for the great reads

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Revenge is a dish best served cold, and Carla is definitely cold now. Great ending!👏👍

  • Test6 months ago

    The ending leaves them with a sense of closure and invites them to ponder the complexities of human nature. Donna Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Whaaaaaaaaaat!!!🤯🤯. Oooh I love love love the ending you went with!!😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.