Chapters logo

A Tale of Thieves (Part Four)

The Escape

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
11
A Tale of Thieves (Part Four)
Photo by Alberto Bobbera on Unsplash

In case you missed Part One, Part Two or Part Three. For Part Four continue reading.

It’s dusky outside as the sun begins to rise on the horizon. We creep down the back staircase and into the shadows of the alleyway. Sneaking from shadow to shadow, with the long-term goal of reaching the edge of the city in mind.

The plan as of now is to put as much distance between ourselves and headquarters as possible, before daybreak. As the city wakes up we plan to find abandoned homes and buildings, to sleep in. We only want to move under the cover of night, in hopes of being less likely to be identified by anyone we encounter.

If we continue at a good pace, Corbin figures it will take four days to get to the safe house he has arranged for us at the city’s edge. From there we can decide what further actions we might need to take.

The first day and night of travel is better than we had hoped.

On the second night of travel, Corbin spots an abandoned building and takes Gregory inside to scope it out. 

Carla and I wait outside, keeping an eye on the quiet neighbourhood around us. We are crouched under a window sill, listening to a new announcement on the radio inside.

“It has been two days since the attempted theft of The Source. There are still no leads on who attempted it, only that one of the vandals has been caught and refuses to name accomplices. As of yet The Source still hasn’t reignited and those who have lost their powers, have yet to regain them.” The news lady reports in a monotone voice, before carrying on to another story.

Carla and I look at each other in bewilderment.

“Pst,” Gregory calls, poking his head outside the door. “Get in here.” He calls in a whisper, then ducks back inside.

Not wasting a moment, we silently run in and close the door behind us.

“We lucked out,” Corbin begins. “They still have gas going to the stove, we can probably have a warm meal today.” He comments, smiling encouragingly.

“But who's going to go get something worth cooking?” Gregory inquires, sprawling across the couch in the living room.

“I’m too tired to cook anything,” I comment with a long yawn.

“Agreed,” Carla adds, also yawning and wandering down the hall in search of the bedroom.

I follow at a sleepy pace on wobbly, tired feet.

“It was a good thought though.” Corbin comments to himself, following after us.

After everyone had the nap we all needed, we started going through the home. Looking for items we could claim as supplies. We lucked out, finding a small amount of cash and some canned food that could be handy in the next couple of days.

As we sat around the kitchen table, waiting for night to fall Carla began to tell the boys what we had overheard earlier.

The pair of them sit silent, nodding in understanding as they absorb the information. Neither interrupts, waiting until Carla is done and the room falls silent.

“Honestly, I’m shocked he hasn’t broken yet. I really thought he was the dumbest of us all.” Corbin states, shaking his head in disbelief.

“This isn’t a case of stupidity, it’s loyalty,” I argue. Wishing I was more shocked to hear him speak so ill of our friend. 

“He’d be stupid not to turn us in. They are probably offering him every plea deal available, especially if The Source still isn’t ignited.” He rebutted, giving me an incredulous look.

“Why would they give him a plea deal? It’s not like rounding us up will fix The Source.” I argue, narrowing my eyes as I glare at him in defiance.

“It might.” He stated with a shrug, “All our powers disappeared when you touched the Source and you said the light inside went out.” He explains, “Maybe the magic is inside you now and the only way to fix the Source is to expose it to your touch again.”

Corbin crosses his arms and stands across from me silently, studying me as though fighting the urge not to say more.

Continuing to glare at him, I suddenly hear his voice in my mind.

“I bet Jed could be cashing in on the biggest cheque of his life right now. If he turns us in, he’d probably be pardoned and then some.” Corbin hums to himself as I watch him chew his lip in thought. “I wonder how much I’d get for turning the rest of us in. Or if we might be rewarded for turning ourselves in as a group.” He thinks to himself, unaware that I am now privy to his thoughts.

“Even if that were true, Jed wouldn’t do that. He’s our friend.” I argue, feeling flush in the cheeks as I try to hide any indication that I am listening to his thoughts.

Then I shoot Carla a knowing look, that tells her we need to talk later.

“Stop being a child Keren, it’s time to face the facts. We got caught and it’s only a matter of time before they physically catch us.” He argues, continuing to chew on his lip in thought.

“What are you saying?” Carla challenges, looking at him in disbelief.

“He wants us to turn ourselves in before we get caught.” I interrupt, “He thinks we’ll be rewarded for it.” I add, biting my tongue in regret.

“How do you know what I’m thinking?” Corbin asks in suspicion, narrowing his eyes in analysis.

“Okay, that’s enough. I think we’re all still a bit tired from all the travel. I vote that we take tonight and get a full night's sleep, then we can move on in the morning.” Gregory states, positioning himself in the middle of the three of us.

“Agreed,” Carla and I say together.

“So you’re all against me then.” He comments, glaring at Gregory with a look of betrayal.

“That’s not it Cor. I just think we need some time to cool down and that this is the best place to do it,” Gregory explains.

“Fine, then I’m going for a walk,” Corbin states, stomping out of the door and slamming it behind himself.

The room falls silent, Carla and I go back to the bedroom. I lay down for another nap like we all agreed on.

Part Five:

Young AdultMagical RealismFantasyCliffhangerAdventure
11

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    I am finding Corbin a very interesting character to read! He is suspicious and righteous - a super intriguing combination! Great chapter!

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    Oh I don't trust Corbin -.- Not one bit! Really looking forward to seeing the next part! And hey, would you look at that! My chronic procrastination has paid off and now I get to binge! Awesome

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Be careful, riches can make people do crazy things. Luckily mind reading is available. You all better work together for the common good. Great going Donna.

  • I keep hoping they’ll decide they have to rescue Jed before he breaks. I get an inkling Corbin is close to figuring out what happened, you’re doing a great job of foreshadowing by the way. The way you can tell you’re doing really well with this story is in the comments. Everyone’s talking about what’s happened and what’s going to happen next. Looking forward to see if Corbin makes his betrayal move in part five!

  • Whoaaaa, like wth bruh. You would turn everyone in if it benefited you? That's so selfish! Now I know why Keren doesn't trust Corbin. Dude's a snake! I'm so glad Carla and Gregory are on Keren's side. I hope there'll be more about Jed in the next part because I just hope they're not torturing him or anything like that. I admire his loyalty a lot. Can't wait for the next part D! 🥰

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    Please continue and may the source be with you… Or at least with the mc. Lol. I’m still batting a thousand on the Chubby Checkers Chart. Someone has to do the twist. 😀💕😀

  • JBaz7 months ago

    oh boy the tension is building. No wonder she told them not to say anything to Corbin. You are really starting to create good character structures, seperating them into individuals. Not sure where you are going wiht this yet but I am in for the ride.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    I am really enjoying this story. Your character building is superb!. Waiting for part 5.

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    The saying thick as thieves is just that, a saying. If you're bold enough to steal something of high value, you won't like others giving you orders. I'll be here for the next installment.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.