Chapters logo

The Forest of Cigam (VI)

Part Six: Door Service

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
10
image created with DALL-E software

Incase you missed Part One, Two, Three, Four or Five.

 

I waited for night to fall and then put my plan into action.

I tossed my travelling cloak over my shoulders and headed out the door. As I closed it, a gruff voice addressed me.

 

“And where do you think you’re going?” One of the Burgher’s guards inquired.

 

“To the tavern, I need my nightly ale.” I explained and started walking away.

 

“We will have to accompany you.” He stated as he and a companion trailed close behind me.

 

“I wouldn’t dream of it any other way,” I replied sarcastically. Then led the way as we walked through the dimly lit town, in search of my favourite tavern.

The lights were on but it looked more deserted than usual, which suited me just fine as I found my usual seat at the front, near the barmaid.

 

“Ya lot can’t be in here.” Bromina bellowed at my companions.

 

“We’re accompanying him.” One of the Burgher’s guards argued and took a seat beside me.

 

“I know ya’re one o’ them fancy pantses from the good part o’ town, so I’m goin’ ta assume ya can read.” She began as she leaned over the counter and put her rather large chest on display for him.

 

The guard’s cheeks flushed, and he nodded in agreement, “Um yes, ma’am.” He sputtered, as he swallowed what I can only assume was a copious amount of drool.

 

I chuckled as I watched Bromina. She was only starting to mess with them, this about to be one hell of a show.

 

“Good.” She spoke with a smile, “Now, my readin’ ain’t so good, so ya’ll have ta help me. What’s that sign say over there?” She leaned back and pointed to an old board with red letters painted on it, just over her shoulder.

 

I watched the guard narrow his eyes in analysis as he mumbled the words to himself, “Only paying patrons welcome.” He sat up and gave me a look of disdain.

 

On cue, I produced a few coins and slapped them down on the counter, just enough for a single ale. “I’ll have the usual B,” I stated with a smug smile.

 

“I’ll take one too.” The guard stated as he reached for his coin purse.

 

“Sorry, I don’t serve workin’ folk here.” She replied as she produced my mug of ale.

 

I took a sip. “Ah, you must have made a fresh batch,” I commented with a pleased smile.

 

“Just for ya,” B winked with a cunning smile.

 

“You served him.” The other guard protested.

 

“He’s a regular.” She argued with a brief smile before she reached under the counter and produced a large cowbell.

 

“What’s that for?” The other guard inquired with a leery look.

 

“Oh sorry, I haven’t had ta use this in a while.” She started with an innocent smile and turned it around. Then tapped it with her finger in a taunting sort of way.

 

The red letters read:

Ring twice for door service.

 

“What’s door service?” One guard asked with a look of uncertainty.

 

A smile spread across my face as I knew exactly what was coming. I watched B as she smiled back at me and climbed on top of the counter with the bell in hand, then shook it vigorously.

 

“Ya heard ‘em, boys!! It’s time for some door service!!” She shouted with a mischievous grin and rang the obnoxious bell once more.

 

Out of nowhere, four burly men came and scooped the two confused guards up. Then hauled them to the door, and tossed the pair of them into the dirt outside the tavern.

 

“We need to guard that man.” One guard protested as he got up and dusted himself off with disdain.

 

“Well, ya can watch him from out there ‘cause I ain’t servin’ the likes of ya!” B yelled before slamming the door in their faces.

 

The tavern began to quiet down once more, before B got to her usual place and yelled, “A round on me, fellas!”

 

Which was met by an eruption of cheers and she began pouring copious amounts of ale into mugs.

 

“Thank you,” I muttered and raised my mug to her in cheers.

 

“Anything for my favourite customer.” She winked and slammed her mug into mine with vigour before gulping it down in one fatal slurp.

 

I stayed and drank for a while, with the hope of the guards outside losing their resolve and I’d be able to give them the slip as the evening wore on.

 

 Part Seven:

Plot TwistMagical RealismFictionFantasyCliffhangerAdventure
10

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    My kind of barmaid, that Bromina!

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    As you know, I've been out of touch for the last couple of weeks but I'm partially back now. had a little mishap on vacation so I'm running at less than half speed but I'll catch up. Great bar if you're a local, not so much if you're not.

  • Bromina, I loveeeeee that name so much! Glad she had MC's back! And that was a good call he did, going to the tavern. Now hopefully he'll be able to give the guards the slip and run way heheheh. Waiting for the next part!

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    "Where everybody knows your name" Loved this method of getting rid of unwanted guests, Donna! And the way that she had so much distain for the guards was great :) Eagerly awaiting the next entry, Donna!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Now that is my type of tavern. Good friends drinking ale and watching out for each other. Another great instalment.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.