Chapters logo

Start Again, Chapter Two

Chapter Two!

By LynnePublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Back cover of “Start Again” to release in Feb. 2024

“Why is it that we always end up back to this same situation?” Frustrated didn’t even begin to express how I felt inside. Normally, I would cry, despite the fact that it was a public setting. I might have even raised my voice slightly, not caring who heard what I had to say. But for some reason, this time was different.

“What are you talking about?” Elijah asked as I stood in front of him while he sat, my hand supporting some of my weight as I leaned on the table. “I was out with a friend.”

“A friend I told you I was uncomfortable with,” I started. “A friend we both agreed didn’t need to be around due to your actions.”

“What’s your issue with Katelyn anyways?” Either way this went, I knew that it wasn’t going to go in my favor, and I had approximately three minutes before Calliope would make her way back to my side.

“You nearly cheated on me with her,” I replied, my expression blank and voice monotone. The last thing I wanted was to stand here and argue in the middle of The Book Cafe, and the second to last thing I wanted was to find Katelyn and Elijah having lunch together.

If Calliope finds out, the last place I’ll ever want to step foot inside of again will be The Book Cafe. She would make the biggest scene of all, but that’s what best friends are for.

“You have about two minutes to make your way out of here.” I looked at him as I kept my voice calm, and myself collected.

“What?” Elijah asked, looking at me as he raised an eyebrow. “You don’t own the place.”

“I don’t,” I replied as I shifted my weight and crossed my arms over my chest. “But that won’t stop Calli from taking care of the problem here.”

“There isn’t a problem here,” he responded, raising his voice slightly. “You’re just acting out and making a scene.”

“I’m not the one raising my voice.” I turned my head to look around, hoping to not see Calliope heading towards me. If she sees yet another one of my failed relationships, she may end up removing Elijah completely, and I’m not sure I'd do well with her in prison. Neither would Jane.

“What are you doing here anyways?” He asked, crossing his arms over his chest as he looked up at me. Looking slightly to my left, I saw two people sitting at a table nearby who looked as though they were trying their best to look as if they weren’t listening to me.

“You know I always come here when it comes time to set up promotions,” I responded as I started to walk away.

Dropping my arms down to my side, I turned around as I adjusted my bag over my shoulder. As I began to walk away, my body was jerked back slightly as Elijah grabbed my wrist and pulled me back slightly.

“You’re not walking away from this,” Elijah responded, tightening his grip on my wrist slightly. I looked between him and his hand gripping my wrist as my eyes widened.

“It’s in your b-best interest to let go of my wr-wrist,” I replied as I looked at his face. Angered burned in his eyes as he looked at me, his grip beginning to hurt my wrist.

“What do you think you’re doing?” I heard Calliope’s voice come from behind me as a loud thud could be heard. Suddenly, almost all noise stopped in the cafe section as eyes were directed to Calliope, Elijah and I.

Within seconds, Elijah’s hand was released from my wrist as he fell backwards out of the chair, hitting the ground hard. Even if I could think of something to say, I was too nervous to speak.

“Do not lay your hands on her again,” Calliope spat as she looked down at Elijah. “From now on, you’re staying away from her.”

I looked around the room with my eyes, doing my best to not turn my head. The best I can do right now is hope that no one had a phone out recording the altercation. Not only could it bring bad press to me, but it could also fall back on Calliope.

“You need to leave,” Sarah said as she walked over to the table we were standing by, looking down at Elijah. “Now, and please do not come back.”

“This is ridiculous!” Elijah said, his voice raised as he stood up, leaving the chair on the ground. “She pushed me onto the floor.”

“Please exit The Book Cafe, or I will have to call authorities,” Sarah responded. She may be a quiet girl, but any time she needs to take charge, she always delivers. “Dahlia, Calliope, are you getting the usual?”

“Y-yes,” I stuttered as I looked at Sarah for a brief moment before turning slightly to look at Calliope.

“Yes, please,” Calliope responded as she walked over to me, placing her hand on my back and rubbing slightly as we walked over towards the counter while Elijah quickly walked out of the cafe, slamming the door open as he left.

“It’ll be twenty one even,” Sarah said as she rang everything up on the register.

“Here,” a voice from behind Calliope and I said, causing me to jump slightly as I turned to see who the voice was coming from. A wave of worry drifted over me causing my heart to race as I noticed he was one of the people sitting at the table listening in to Elijah and I. “Let me pay for it, you deserve it after having to deal with that prick.”

“Oh no,” I started, attempting to give a smile. “It’s okay, really.”

“I insist,” the male responded as he reached around me slightly to put his card into the chip reader. Turning my head to look at him, he gave me a smile. “You both deserve it.”

“I,” I started to protest, but felt Calliope tap my leg slightly with the back of her hand. Turning my head to the other side, she was giving me the look she always does when she thinks someone is interested in me, a smile plastered across her lips.

“Th-thank you,” I stuttered as I looked between him and Calliope. I’ve never been good at public interactions, especially after an entire scene was caused, and I was involved. The Government chose the worst career for me, in my opinion.

“It’s the least anyone could do,” he responded. “I’m Atlas.” He gave a smile, and it felt like the entire cafe lit up due to it.

“D-Dahlia,” I responded, doing my best to return the smile he had given.

“And I’m Calliope, Dahlia’s best friend and technical older sister,” Calliope responded, extending her arm out to shake his hand. “We’re a package deal.”

“Good to know,” Atlas said as he shook her hand and then stepped back from behind me as he was handed his receipt.

I watched as he walked back to the table he was sitting at with the girl from before. As he walked closer to her, the girl’s lips curled into a smile.

Young AdultRomancePlot TwistMysteryFictionFantasyDystopianAdventure

About the Creator

Lynne

Indie Author

YA Fiction Author

NA Fiction Author

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LynneWritten by Lynne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.