Chapters logo

HITMAN

Book 1, Chapter One

By LynnePublished 11 months ago 4 min read

He aims. He shoots. He scores. The shot worth ten thousand bucks. A grin spread clear across my face, the actions all thought as I played them out, gun in hand. A few months ago, this became something I hated doing, to something I loved to do. It helped to pass the time of the world around me.

I watched as the body fell to the floor, and I can only imagine his face held a look showing that he didn’t know what just hit him. My bullet pierced through the back of his head, lining up with where the center of his eyes were had he been turned around. I listened closely as I reached into my pants pocket and turned the volume on my phone up again. It was the perfect shot, and it was rather euphoric to achieve it after weeks of practicing.

I smiled as I looked down at my phone as a notification sounded. My ten thousand dollars to do someone else’s dirty work. I placed my phone into my pocket as I walked back towards the firescape to my bag. The adrenaline coursed through my veins as I grabbed my bag and placed my gun into it before zipping it up again and putting my arms through the straps. I never know why the individuals have a hit placed over them, I just know that it’s my job to secure the target, and eliminate them.

Pulling my phone out of my pocket again, I looked at the time. I have enough time to still meet up with Addison on the walk to school if I run, with ten minutes to spare before the first bell rings. Hopping down the fire escape, I walked down the alleyway and out onto Main Street. Making a left, and walking down a few blocks, I quickened my pace.

Rounding the corner, I see a group of teenagers walking together, some of them playing around as they walk. Trailing slightly behind the group was a head of strawberry blonde hair, her head leaned down slightly with her arms pulled up in front of her. Chances are, my phone will be going off any second asking me where I am, because I wasn’t home this morning.

“Hey punk,” I started as I walked up behind Addison, my steps falling in line with hers. I slid my hands into my front jean pockets as we walked the remainder of the distance to our school.

“Speaking of the Devil,” Addison replied, a slight laugh carrying through her voice as she spoke. “Where were you this morning? I dropped by your house, but you had already left.”

My heart started to race slightly as a lump formed in my throat and the palms of my hands gathered a slight layer of sweat across them. “I had something to tend to this morning.” I turned my head towards her as I spoke, giving her my million-dollar-smile afterwards.

Addison Shaw is my best friend, the girl I’m completely in love with but would never act upon, and the only person who knows what I do for work. If I could have it my way, she would only be two out of those three.

“Hunter,” she sighed as we continued walking behind the other group of students our age. Disappointment rang through her voice. “I thought that we talked about all of this before, multiple times.”

Addison is my best friend, the girl I'm completely in love with, along with the only person who knows what I do on a day to day basis to the full extent. She is the one person I tell everything in the world to. She always wants what's best for me, and what's safe for me even if I don’t always agree with her.

"We did," I replied. "And Addie, I know I told you I would stop. That I was done. I tried, and I hope you believe that. But you have to understand that it's not something I can just quit without any consequences."

I tried to slow my heart rate while also hiding the stutter that wanted to come out as I spoke. I did try to quit, and the warning I was given sent chills through my body.

"I just don't understand why you can’t," she said, rolling her eyes as I looked over in her direction. "You act like it's a habit, kind of like a drug. It scares me with how into it you seem to be. You seem to show no remorse for any of it."

"Addison," I know my job isn't easy for someone to understand. I also know that my job is far from being safe. But it's what keeps me and my sister above the waters, and what will end up paying to put both her and I through college.

Of course, that's assuming when she turns eighteen and graduates high school she decides she even wants to go to college. It’s also what is currently paying for the best lawyer Vancouver has to offer. "I signed a contract."

"Then what happens if you just stop? You quit? You give your two weeks notice like you could at any other job?" I could hear the frustration in her voice while she asked her questions. “Besides, I’m sure by now you have enough for both of you to go get a doctorate in whatever you choose.”

I stopped to think for a second, trying to think of the proper words to say.

How could I tell her the consequences without scaring her? Without making her want to run away? Without losing the only real friend I ever had? Without losing the person who knows me better than I know myself?

"I die," I replied, keeping my voice low as we walked up the steps to the high school.

There was no other way to put it. Even if I tried to sugarcoat it in any way, it would still sound just as bad.

Young AdultFiction

About the Creator

Lynne

Indie Author

YA Fiction Author

NA Fiction Author

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LynneWritten by Lynne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.