Chapters logo

Finding My Purpose

... how it found me ...

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
9
Finding My Purpose
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Finding My Purpose

… how it found me …

Purpose isn’t found in seeking it out.

It’s discovered when your next forward steps, past experiences and present intentions become clear.

It’s discovered in open-mindedness and self-awareness.

It’s discovered in ugly honesty.

To let it in, takes silencing all the noise that keeps you safe in comfortable distractions.

Purpose will find you when you’re patient and open. It evades you when you try to force it.

*********************************************************************

What’s Motivated Me

It seems everything I have experienced in my past has culminated into forming the path I’ll follow toward the future. This must be where the past, present and future collide. Every tragic event, victory and failure in my life has led to where I am now. I can clearly see it, the question is, do I have the courage to follow it? The journey up to now has been about learning, becoming self-aware, and turning the skills challenging me into strengths, instead of weaknesses.

I guess, in a way, I owe a “thank you” to the man who molested be, the stupid boy who raped me, the controlling and domineering mother, the asshole of an ex-husband, and the heavily strained extended family relationships. Each event provided me with a fire and a never-ending catalogue of issues to tackle through nurturing my own self-awareness, writing and empathy.

I’ve held a variety of low-paying, dead-end jobs, some of which I liked, some I loathed, but all have offered a chance to grow. I have earned a college degree, paying my own way.

I have been through a number of difficult relationships, each of which taught me some personal essentials for developing my own understanding of others.

The majority of my thanks, though, goes to my extremely supportive husband and loving daughter. They have given me the motivation and the space to figure it all out, and now, for putting it all together.

*********************************************************************

What I’ve Learned

In trying situations, I’ve learned perseverance and determination. I found a strength hidden in the shadows of myself.

In victory, I’ve learned gratitude and the ability to lend a helping hand. Instead of thriving on competition, I seek reward in motivating others to find the courage to pursue their own dreams and purposes.

In failure, I’ve learned to rethink the approach, but not to give up. Even when things seem to be taking a longer time than expected, or I get frustrated in my own attempts, I can’t give up.

In everything, I’ve mostly learned the strength of my voice. Using it’s power to bring attention to important issues, and it’s usefulness in giving support and encouragement to others. My voice is best expressed through utilizing a written word format, but it’s strong and clear and powerful because of the challenges presented to me, not despite them.

*********************************************************************

Purpose is Like a Puzzle

So how does voice fit into finding my purpose?

Through a lot of self-reflection, and an evaluation of my history, I have discovered I love horses (an easy one for me), words (not really a surprise) and inspiring people (more surprising, but not really). Now I shall combine those three passionate talents into an accessible mode for motivation to inspire others.

I found the lessons prevalent in my life, the themes recurring. Writing is the common denominator.

Helping others through connecting with words and horses, is my distinct purpose. I didn’t seek it out; it found me when the time was right. Now is the time.

*********************************************************************

Thank you for reading! Have you discovered your purpose? Have you found the courage to pursue it, to utilize it, to put it into action?

Essay
9

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Mrs. KJ - You've inspired me with your incredible choice of words as a Terrific StoryTeller as I'm certain you have among so many of your followers. - Thank you for your 'Voice' I hear you. JB Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Brilliant work KJ, and thank you for sharing this! I have found the same through my struggles, they force a person to know themselves to get through them. Beautifully open, honest, and vulnerable here <3

  • This seems a perfect distillation of all you have shared before with us concerning your life journey: horses, words, helping.

  • I'm so sorry for all the abuse you went through but I'm grateful because all that put you on the path to find your purpose! I've not found mine yet and I guess that's okay.

  • C.S LEWIS10 months ago

    great work why cant you join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you

  • Omg I am so sorry you went through so much, but you are truly an inspiration 💜❤️ I really admire your strength and continued growth 💗

  • Priya10 months ago

    Yes ! I too find my purpose in my life after many struggles. Best of luck for your future endeavours.👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.