Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 2: Might As Well

By Michelle HillPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
1

Chapter 2: Might As Well

"Damn it," I whisper under my breath. I watched as she climbed up the fire escape to me. I didn't know what to do. Do I stand, or do I keep sitting? I was frozen. I watched as she got closer.

I don't know what came over me but I stood up quickly and rushed up the fire escape.

"Hey! I just wanna talk!" I hear Haley yell up to me. Why couldn't I face her? I've been in so many wars, battles, duels, I've courted women throughout the centuries! Why am I running away from her?!

I reach the roof, and now I'm trapped. I'm never trapped, I always find a way. I start to panic. There were plenty of hiding places, I tell myself to breath. To just calm down. I need to talk to her. I mean, it's been four years, you would think I would be able to talk to her. But why can't I?

"Wow you're fast! Holy shit you're fast!" I hear Haley's voice. I turn and see her struggling to finish the last few steps. I walk over to her without saying a word and hold out my hand for her to take.

Without looking at me she takes it and I see the vision of her in a beautiful wedding dress. She's looking at me and I feel happy. Happy? Is that what this is? The vision leaves my mind as I help Haley the rest of the way.

"You know, for someone who works a slow pace job," She starts to say between breaths, "You sure are fast." Without thinking I pick her up in my arms, and place her ontop of a small container so she can catch her breath. I take a few steps back and I try to reach for my hood, only to find out I'm not wearing my hoodie. Just my long sleeve black shirt, with, yes my plaid red and black pajama pants. What? I like comfort. Okay, I am also barefoot.

"You really don't talk much do you?" She says and I look at her.

I clear my throat, "Haven't had much conversation."

"Oh! He speaks!" She chuckled. I felt the corner of my mouth hitch up just a little bit. How do I even begin with her? I can't just tell her I've been alive for 300 hundred years. I brush my hand through my hair and look up at the sky.

"Can't see the stars here."

"Oh I know! So much light pollution in this city. Sometimes I want to just go back home and go to this field, it was my escape from my family for a while." She said, I looked at her and saw that she was looking up. I put my hands in my pockets and just shrug. I might as well have a some what of a conversation with her.

"Where's home?" I asked taking a small step towards her.

She looked at me and smiled, "Michigan. A small little town just outside of Ann Arbor. There was this field not too far from my house, and I would go there when my parents were fighting over money. Or when my sisters were just being annoying. I would go there, lay down and look at the stars. Pretend I was somewhere else."

I watched as stood up and she started to walk over to me, "So what's your name? I mean we work in the same building, we live in the same building. I think we reached that point of introducing each other. I'm Haley."

I couldn't say, 'I know' that would be to weird. She held out hand for me to shake and I took a few steps forward and took her and in mine. Again another vision, this time with her holding a baby. I try to bring myself back, but then in the vision I hear a giggle, and see a little girl. I brought myself back and smiled at her.

"I'm Michael," I finally say and shake her hand. We let go and we both smile.

"Well it's nice to finally meet you. How long have you worked at Hollow's?" She asked.

I shrugged, "Going on two years I think? How about you?"

She crossed her arms and shrugged, "Way too long to be an entry level position. I've applied for other positions at the company but it's all run by men who want power and don't care about what's going on in the world. Also old money too. Pretty sure CEO just got his job handed to him because of his dad, and so on and so forth."

"What do you want to be?" I asked not taking my eyes off of her.

"I honestly don't know. I was fresh out of college when I got this job, and I way out of my hometown, and away from the guy that was obessed with me." She finished iwht a small chuckle.

I nodded and swallowed hard, I definitely can't tell her about the last four years. I have so many questions and I want to talk to her all night. But I know she has to get up for work in the morning. It was getting late and she needed her sleep. She doesn't do to well when she doesn't get enough sleep.

"What about you? What do you want to be?" She asked me bringing my out of my thoughts.

I smile and reached for her hand, "Right now, I think we both could use some sleep. It's getting late and we both had work in the morning." She smiled and took my hand. No vision this time. Which I was grateful for.

"You're right, but can we do this again tomorrow night? For some reason I just feel like I'm safe with you." She said as we reached the fire escape and I let her go first. I went after her and once we reached my apartment we both stopped.

"I'll wait until you're inside. Safe." I tell her and she nods.

"Good night." She tells me in a soft voice.

"Good night." I say just as soft. I watched as she climbed down the fire escape. Before she goes inside she gives me one more smile. I smile back and nod. Once she was inside, I watch as she closed her window.

I sigh and put my head in my hands, "What am going to do?"

RomanceFiction
1

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Oh oh. 300 years old. Gonna live forever, I guess. How reliable are these visions of yours.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.