Chapters logo

Caught

She Caught Me

By Michelle HillPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
1

Chapter 1: Found Her

The last four years I kept her safe. She has no idea who I am.

Four years ago I accidentally bumped into her on the busy New York City sidewalk. I had my hood up because, well the sun would give me away. She was rushing and looking down at her phone not paying attention. Bumping into her I caught a flash of us. It was quick. She was next to me, looking at me lovingly. She was wearing a crown on her top of her head. Resting on her beautiful auburn hair.

When I bumped into her she dropped her files. I helped her quickly gather up her papers. I muttered a quick apology.

"No, it's my fault, I didn't see where I was going." She said with a nervous laugh. I just gave her a nod and as we both stood up. I kept my head down, but I saw her sea green eyes. In that moment I froze. 300 years and this is the first time I felt completely weak. I gave her back her papers and muttered to her to have a nice day.

I walked away as fast as I could. I turned the corner and found an alley. I took off my hood and let out a deep breath I didn't know I was holding. I had to know who she was. I put my hood back up. Took in a deep breath and went back out onto the sidewalk with a mission to find her.

It didn't take me long to find out where she works. It was for a publishing company. I couldn't help but smirk. I figured she would work for some sort of big ass corporation. I look around to try to find a way in.

There's always a way in. I always find a way in.

That's how it all started. I would follow her to make sure she was safe. Every day for four years. Made sure she made it to work five days a week. Made sure she got home safe after a night out.

About six months ago she almost caught me.

She was on a date with the sleeze bag she was seeing for about six months. He was your typical pretty boy. Came from old money, didn't work a day in his life. Oh yeah, I followed him too. He was playing Haley for a fool. By the way her name is Haley.

Anyway, he was a playboy. After he would wine and dine Haley, he would find the closest club and leave with a different girl every time.

Haley was leaving the restaurant angry. I may or may not have planted some pictures in her apartment. He was following her telling her he was set up and that he could explain. She told him she was done. I couldn't help but smirk, watching in the shadows.

She turns back to him and throws something at him. It was a ring. I heard her tell him to leave her alone and that it was over. She started to walk down the sidewalk. I watched as the sleezebag got on his phone.

"Bring her to the house. I'll take no for an answer." I heard him say.

I followed Haley close. The goons didn't take long to find her either. They weren't very discreet either. I shook my head. Two guys behind her, one that was going to cut her off at the corner. Plus three, following in the car. Cliche it was black.

I took out the one at the corner first. Pulled him into the alley and broke his neck. I whispered a spell and the body disappeared. I waited until Haley passed. Next, were the three in the car. I waited for the two pass. One of them noted that she was still on the move.

I waited for the car. Walked right in front of them. I lifted my hood and whispered another spell before they can utter a word. The driver started to back away slowly. I put my hood up and started to follow the next two.

Haley was almost to her apartment. I couldn't let them reach it. I quickly hurried up to them and tackled one into the brick buliding. Yes, it was careless, but this is New York, people would think it would be another mugging. I didn't see the knife. I knock them both out, these two I leave for the cops.

I feel a pain on my right side. My hoodie is soaked in my own blood. This hasn't happened in fifty years. I was careful. I heard a voice, and I turn. I see Haley hurrying up to me.

"Hey are you hurt?!" She asks. I nodded and hurried away.

That was six months ago.

Now here I am renting the apartment above hers so I can keep her safe. I even managed to get a job where she works. Just delivering the mail to the offices. I still hide in the shadows when she goes out at night.

I watched as she turned off her light. I always stayed outside until I was sure she was sound asleep. I looked out into the city that has been my home for the last eight years. Years of watching, years of waiting.

They wanted me to come home. But, I couldn't come home without Haley. She was the one I searched the world for, the one that I have been waiting for. 300 years I have loved and lost, but not this time. This time was different.

"Hey, you! I don't think I ever got your name." I hear Haley say.

"Damn it." I whisper under my breath, she finally caught me.

Cliffhanger
1

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This was a great story of stalking, yet kinda romantic at the same time. Now what happens.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.