BookClub logo

Rachel Reviews: Diamond Star Halo by Tiffany Murray

A book that will stay with me long after I've finished it, Halo and the life that she leads at Rockfarm is a uniquely entertaining book

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Rachel Reviews: Diamond Star Halo by Tiffany Murray
Photo by Alexandre St-Louis on Unsplash

There are some books, for whatever reason, that just manage to find their way into you more than others, like a tattoo and they become part of you in ways that others don't. These are your five star reads, where you finish reading and yet, the book remains in your consciousness afterwards AND whilst you have moved on to other reading material.

That is how I feel about Diamond Star Halo. The book is told in the first person by the eponymous Halo and she takes us from her birth, pretty much, through her coming-of-age to her adult life. There is one person though who is integral to Halo's story and that is Fred. I don't want to tell you too much about him as the joy is in the discovering for yourself but if I said that there is something about him, you'll get the gist.

The book has elicited comparisons with Wuthering Heights and you can see that in the relationship that Halo and Fred have but it is more than that as theirs is not the only passion that manifests itself in the book. And there is love in abundance, familial love as well, and Murray is very good at showing, through her dialogue and her prose, the warmth and conviviality that can be found in a strong family environment.

Which is a strange thing to say about a book which is set on a farm in rural Wales which has been converted into a recording studio and is visited by international musical artists, in which to record their albums (as they were known in the 1970s). You would not imagine that this would be a stable place or one where kids would thrive and yet, it is this place. Halo describes Rockfarm as a place of strength and fun rather than a place of iniquity and largesse although there is no doubt from the nature of its clientele, that this is also very much true of it.

I was struck by this book. It was funny, it made me cry, it was a little strange in places, Welsh to its core, intriguing. As well as being about passions that consume or can if we let them, it was about music and its enduring appeal. It was about charisma and growing up and finding and knowing yourself and I would urge you to give it a go: for the story and for Murray's prose.

As an endnote, it also mentions, in passing, places from my home, not just Wales, but the county where I grew up, which may have assisted in me having such a strong reaction to it. It was like a cwtch in word form, in some ways.

And, just in case the title is ringing a bell, it's a Marc Bolan lyric from "Bang a Gong (Get it on)", Marc Bolan and T. Rex being pioneers of Glam Rock in the 1970s. Bolan died at the age of 29 in a car crash.

Rachel Rating: 5/5 stars

Parts of this review were first published on Reedsy Discovery:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this review, please do leave a comment. Even better, if you go on to read it, please do come back and let me know what you thought of it.

ReviewRecommendationFictionDiscussionAnalysis

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This sounds like, as you say, a story that remains in your consciousness afterwards. Your review makes me want to read it. It reminds me of my own reaction to Ann Patchett’s Belle Canto.

  • Sounds like a marvelous & engaging read. Great review, Rachel.

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    Sounds good! Mark Bolan fan here from back in the day, so great book title and it's what got me reading your review. Many of your own titles, Rachel, intrigue me and make me want to read your whole story - that's some successful writing right there!

  • I'm going to have to look this one up on Audible. That's right folks most of my reading takes place in audio lol. Thanks for the great review

  • Catherine Nyomenda3 months ago

    A well-written review that got my attention.

  • I had the same reaction as Paul when I saw that 5/5 rating hahahaha. Also, I thought cwtch was a typo for catch but it still didn't make much sense so I Googled it and learned it means hug in Welsh. How do you pronounce that?

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Oooh...a full 5 out of 5. I must bookmark this for when I need to restock! Loved the review. You're very good at these. Lil Miss Poetess, microfiction author extraordinaire and excellent reviewer!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.