BookClub logo

Do You Really Want to Read That?

Banned Books Week (October 1st to 7th, 2023)

By Kendall Defoe Published 7 months ago Updated 2 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - October 2023
23
Do You Really Want to Read That?
Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

I seem to have missed something very important.

You have noticed that my other pieces this week have been stories about the shenanigans – a wonderful word, I think – in both Canada and the United States with the Speakers of our respective Houses (ours was chosen after a quick vote; the one down south does not really exist yet, and may not exist for quite some time). I commented to a reader of my piece on how the Republican Party seems to be akin to a pack of dogs that are just on the edge of becoming feral. This is fair. My other work involved poetry, a short story, but also, I decided to repost two particular pieces about this week’s other big news: the Nobel Prizes. Physics, Chemistry and Medicine have been covered so far, and this article will be published after the prize for Literature is handed out on Thursday…unless there is another delay as there was in the year that Bob Dylan became a laureate. Anything is possible (Jon Fosse anyone?)

But, as I said, even with all of this writing, and much of my other work for schools both in person and online, I have missed something: Banned Books Week.

I saw a notice online for it and noted the number of books in the photo that have made the list: A Clockwork Orange, 1984, The Diary of Anne Frank, all the Harry Potter books, The Handmaid’s Tale, Fahrenheit 451, The Glass Castle and so forth. I also noted that most of the books were ones that I had already read or had read to me (excluding the Harry Potter ones; still find them unreadable). And when I say read to me, I mean that teachers read them to us. The Diary of Anne Frank is subtitled The Diary of a Young Girl, and too many philistines out there seem to have missed that. She was perfect for a class of grade 5 students who wanted to know more about her plight and what it meant to be Jewish and hiding from the Nazis during World War Two. Why would such a book be banned?

Why would any of the above be banned?

I will not run through all of the arguments in favour of pulling books off of school shelves or making them impossible to find in local stores that are often scared of losing customers and respond to any protest with self-censoring. What seems to be happening most often now is that the books get pulled…and no one really notices. Yes, I know, we live in a culture where the phone screen is king, pulling in all the information about the outside world that people think they need. This is a terrible thing to see happening because it was not foreseen by the same writers who worried about censorship coming from the state or a bureaucracy. This is a self-imposed condition for many people. I once argued with a friend that most people are in a dysfunctional relationship with their smartphones, and the joke seemed right. Now, it seems awful.

The only bright side that I have seen with this lack of readers, or at least low numbers of them, is the access I have found to some wonderful literature in book boxes and second-hand stores. Quebec has set up a Livre-Service series of public book boxes, and my neighbourhood has at least three nearby (one of which always offers the most interesting titles). At home, I have collected a wonderful collection of Penguins in both paperback and hardback, and I am at a loss about what to do with them when I am too old to do more than just let someone else read them to me (I would rather just pass off this mortal coil than to see them in someone else’s hands, but I can change).

And this is why I get angry.

Most Wanted!

As a child, in Catholic school, it was clear that certain books were more acceptable than others. I have touched on my early reading in other pieces, but I did not mention certain ugly moments that I cannot forget:

1) I am in the schoolyard of my elementary school. Two older kids come over to me (two people I had never really spoken to before) and pose a question:

'What are you reading?'

I was holding a copy of Sue Townsend's The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole, a book that I had actually read multiple times by that point.

'We were supposed to read that in school, but our teacher said that it was too mature for us.'

Now, at that point, I was convinced that I was about to have my book confiscated, or reported, or that I was about to be dragged into some sort of Star Chamber that I had never heard of. Fortunately, the bell rang and the issue was dropped.

2) There were two separate teachers, both admired in my high school, who taught literature, and I was part of the pool of admirers. The problem was that I also heard some of their more interesting pronouncements on literature:

a) 'All female Canadian writers are insane.'

b) 'Any book with bad language in it cannot be literature.'

I noted that one of those teachers mentioned how he had studied law and the other one was a failed author. A lot of painful truths and revelations came out of those lessons.

Now, why do I mention these moments?

I still resent the idea that children, or at least adolescents, are so innocent that they cannot face the reality that surrounds them. I was raised by a father and many relatives who made it impossible for me to believe in the lie of the readers and ideas that my teachers shared with us. And it was clear that we were being pushed away from anything that was real literature.

But I pushed back.

The moment I was allowed to go to a bookstore or library and choose material on my own, I guided myself to the things that teachers and so-called authorities did not want me to read. And I was rewarded for it. My papers were commented on by some of the same people who could not believe the references I made. There would often be some talk about me having assistance on my papers, but one parent-teacher night with my mother killed this idea. It was all on me.

And it still is.

Please go out there and read something that they do not want you to read.

You know who they are, and now you know what those books might be:

To Read...or Reread?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

ThemeRecommendationReading ListReading ChallengeFictionDiscussionAuthor
23

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Well work dear

  • Lynn Jordan6 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! Former Catholic School kid here...a lot of this rings true for me. Makes me want to read some of those books all over again.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Well done on your Top Story 😁 Not all content is appropriate for children, that much I think we can all agree. Where the line should be is quite a contentious subject, and you've covered it beautifully 👍

  • Banning books...so completely ridiculous! You covered this so well. Congrats on your top story

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Thank you for calling attention to this issue. Eloquent as always! Banning books is right out of the fascist playbook. Resist!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I cannot imagine a world without books. I guess no one is overly concerned because if you really want a book, someone will find it somewhere for you. The politics of life will never change, we just now have better ways to get around it. At least some countries still do. What would I have done without books in my youth...I shudder to think. Congrats.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    So many popular titles that I had no idea were banned. Thank you for shedding more light on this. And congrats on an important Top Story!

  • Whattttttt? Why are these even banned? Lol. I've not read any of the ones you mentioned, except Harry Potter. I'm baffled as to why that is banned! Those two teachers from your high school, yeaaa I'm just so speechless about what they said. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I’m reading a “banned book” at the moment. It’s The Satanic Versus by Salman Rushdie! 🫠 and I have a great aunt that survived the holocaust.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    I can't believe how many books I've read that are on this list!!!! Which is saying a lot considering I wasn't a recreational reader until like 2 years ago.... I love the insights you shares in this article, get work Kendall and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great article. Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Baffling, it really is a wonder how some people have the power to inflict their stupidity on others. ( And I told my children to never to call someone stupid) Congratulations

  • Everyday Junglist7 months ago

    Appropriate topic for Vocal where censorship of written works under the guise of "protection" continues apace. I have written about this topic more than I care to think about. see https://vocal.media/journal/four-intractable-flaws-in-vocal-s-censorship-policies and here https://vocal.media/journal/censorship-as-protection and here https://vocal.media/confessions/vocal-i-tip-my-hat-to-you-even-as-i-burn-in-rage-at-you for just some examples

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I wasn't aware of Banned Book Week, either. I think it's kinda' cool that it includes my birthday. lol I'm grateful that I was raised in a household where we were encouraged to read and to read whatever we chose to. I can't imagine what life as one of the innocents you refer to must be like.

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Iconic level behavior. I would have done the exact same thing! I commend you for fighting back. Bad language is a part of reality and it is certainly literature! 👏🏼

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I designed a window seat, in my bedroom, which incorporates a hidden bookshelf. My fantasy was to have a full shelf of banned books, but, you know, seemed a shame to hide them.

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    It's like everything - it gets annex and it instantly becomes more attractive but to not announce the ban? There's some dirty doubledealing for you. I found this really thought provoking.

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    These books are not being “banned.” It’s just a distraction, like most of what makes the news, so the mindless masses get all bent out of shape about something not actually happening while real laws are signed that will hurt us all.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    Even some great books like To Kill a Mockingbird, and Lord of the Flies are possibly being banned.

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    When I was a teenager my mother got a copy of Catcher in the Rye for me to read. After reading it, we discussed it. She also gave me Gone With the Wind. I can't imagine not having them to read. Stop the Madness!

  • Fear & ignorance. Really dangerous combination.

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    Brilliant article and a bit scary that it continues to this day! Never encountered book banning until I moved to Queensland (At the time they were 20 yrs behind the rest of Australia!) https://youtu.be/NrcemZpOmpI?si=u4mFsAfthiPzXfAh

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.