BookClub logo

?

For The Vocal Book Club Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

The Prompt

Write about a book that changed you.

Read more about this here

I chose the title, a question mark because I don't know the title of the book that had the biggest influence on my life. I don't know the name of the book but I think it was a French translation. There was a dog called "Socks", that, as far as I know, is not an English pet name.

This was the book that my Mum used to teach me how to read before I went to primary school when I was four years old. Imagine not being able to read. Anyone who cannot read will not be able to see what I am saying here, so that book opened to me a whole universe of adventure, fun, and learning.

That opened the door to the two sets of encyclopedias that we had and they were my go-to place whenever I needed to know about something or get ideas for things that I had to write for school, they lasted into my secondary education where I first read a book that we had to do for school in the first year.

This opened my mind up to fantasy and adventure and was intermeshed with the Norse mythology that I had read at Primary school along with runes and dragons. I loved it so much that I then had to read "Lord of the Rings" so this was another door opener.

Finally "TaRaNtula" (I've used the book cover spelling) by Bob Dylan made me believe that I could actually write a book, even though it eventually crashed and burned, reading this made me really think "I might be able to write a book like this". Maybe this kept me writing on Seven Days In, and certainly, its stream-of-consciousness form has influenced a lot of my writing so this was definitely another door-opener for me, and it made me want to read other authors who wrote in the same vein.

I know this has been three books, but these are just three that were turning points in my creative life.

The music is "The Story of My Life" by The Velvet Underground which is sort of appropriate.

DiscussionThemeReviewChallengeAuthor

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Woah, I didn’t know about that Bob Dylan book. I have to read it now. I know exactly how you feel not being able to remember the name of a book that was important to you. I’ve Googled a million times trying to remember the name of a book series I loved as a child. I just can’t figure it out. I enjoyed reading why these books changed you.

  • Nice little coming of age (as far as reading & writing go) vignettes. Well done.

  • I enjoyed reading this and learning how those 3 books impacted you!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Nice choices! I'm tempted to check out the Bob Dylan piece now...

  • Nice 😊👍😎‼️

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    <3

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    That VU album was my record when I was on a trip to Nagano. Loved that you included it here, and good luck challenging the challenge!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    you rule breaker you! I appreciate why you chose all three of them.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Actually, Socks can be a pet name. I had a dog called Chaussette. ;-) I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy in my early 20s, I find it much better than the movies. It's always interesting to discover what influences other writers. Thank you for sharing with us!

  • Omg I LOVED the Hobbit! So good to hear how it impacted you. And wow I love Bob Dylan I never heard of that book before!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.