Blush logo

The Mirror

how slowly am i aging?

By Kia T Cooper-ErbstPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Standing in front of the mirror fresh out of the shower. My hair newly washed and detangled, half straight with some curls here and there. Water beads still running down my skin, I carefully smooth on my creams and lotions helping to keep my skin supple and soft.

The mirror reflecting all, as I look into it showing the different hues of my body from where my natural tan begin and ended. I notice the new strands of grey hair that have made a sort of halo around the crown of my head as I grab my brush and start to pull the whispy curly strands covered in an oil and curl cream into a ponytail. Shaking my head with a soft smile thinking, I've earned these despite the rest of my mane still being dark.

The reflected me then sets her brush down to trace a finger over each breast cupping them before pulling the towel back around tighter before smoothing more cream on each leg slowly watching them begin to gleam like honey as they rest propped on the edge of the tub with a curve.

Both hands rising up from each leg separately in turn then gliding over the rest of the smooth skin hiding beneath the towel leaving a trail of oil in it's wake. Body gleaming and soft, as I look fully in the mirror yet again smiling at the person looking back at me.

I take time to look into the brown eyes framed by natural brows that stare at me. A smile curves my lips as i see the tiny crinkles of laugh lines at my eyes and the smooth skin unmarred by any other wrinkles or blemishes. I ask myself ..... how slowly do I age thinking of the weight loss,use of creams and suntain protection liberally used daily, the daily and weekly walks helping to keep me in shape.

My skin still gleaming like honey as i slowly dress before oiling my feet making sure they are extra soft. Eyes clear and hair brushed as the grey strands gleam lightly surrounded by the brown like maple.

My laughter echoes in the room as i walk out the room..... while the sounds of my heart laugh and argue over watching a show they share. I see them sitting cuddled on the couch both with a device while watching TV. Both heads showing the russet brown color of mine but with different hues of darkness. The only difference between them and me is the silvery halo glinting through mine whenever, I look into a mirror.

Mirrors are always viewed as gates to the soul when looked directly at them. My mirror shows that of a woman who happens to be a mother, a person who values her life enjoying it and see that enjoyment showing in the faint laugh lines, or the halo of silvery strands that are part hereditary as well as part of a life well lived.

Later the pattern that began that morning begins again but in reverse as I wash off all the grime that comes from daily activities. Oiling and smoothing the skin before bed massaging to keep free of wrinkles while the black and silvery strands curl around my temples and held back in to a loose topknot. I pause once or twice while yawning delicately into the mirror to ponder and ask myself the question yet once again, Am i aging slowly?

For me, slowly means the amount of grey hair is redundant to the fact that I have been grey since I was a teenager and the laugh lines are well and truly earned so my answer to that question will be......... I age slowly and wonderfully well.

skincare
2

About the Creator

Kia T Cooper-Erbst

Writer, poet, author. submissive. Mom of three wonderful human beings. These are the first things that come to mind when I think of myself besides being the obvious.... which is daughter, wife,etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.