Blush logo

Herbs For Beauty

The secrets to glow...

By Ashley TerrellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Allure

Growing up, my mom had difficulty understanding my hair type. My mother had silky, lengthy hair adaptable to many styles. My hair resembled an unsolved mystery. My hair became longer in grade school. The longer my hair became, I struggled with maintaining moisture and proper hair care practices.

With the help of my aunts, my father took on the responsibility of managing my hair type and styling for my school days.

Since then, I've begun understanding my hair type with hair tutorials and choosing high-quality hair care products and practices.

A few years later, I shaved my head. Yep, G. I. Jane style.

It was uncomfortable at first for me to show out of the house because the people I was around [at that time] were negative and judgmental. In my eyes, I saw my immediate circle to possess the same traits many silently have - "short hair and no hair is NOT beautiful".

What the fuck ever.

As hair trends become a topic of conversation, so does the topic of ways to grow healthy hair, skin, and nails.

Two years later, my hair is shoulder length. My appreciation for my hair journey comes from using natural herbs and oils to rejuvenate damaged hair follicles, split ends, and deep moisturizing.

Here are a few natural herbs and oils I've used along my hair journey.

Photo credit: Healthline

1. Aloe Vera

I can touch and agree with every scalp and hair type that needs moisture - aloe Vera is a huge helper for hair growth!

I have two aloe Vera plants I received as housewarming gifts. As they grew, I'm happy they're so versatile with their healing properties.

I use aloe Vera leaves from my aloe Vera plant. Cut off the spiky edges. Then, cut the aloe Vera plant in half. Use the aloe Vera gel inside the leaf. Part your hair in quarters. Apply to your edges and hair roots. Poke the aloe Vera to ooze out the remaining gel. I place a shower cap over my hair for about 30 to 45 minutes PRIOR to shampooing and conditioning.

The next day, I can feel the difference in the moisture of my hair. I took notice that my hair did NOT itch for days! After the first application [or pre-poo treatment with the aloe Vera], my new hair growth was double!

Adding a pre-poo with aloe Vera can be beneficial for ones suffering from dry and coarse hair. Aloe Vera can also help ones suffering from alopecia.

Photo credit: Google

2. Vitamin E

Maintaining my hair moisture was vital as I participated in numerous sports and cooking competitions. Between the constant heat and humidity within cooking competitions and sports events, my hair lost a lot of moisturizing due to the wearing of equipment and glam for conferences thereafter.

Vitamin E's responsibility is to improve the appearance of hair, skin and nails.

Additionally, Vitamin E aids in the healing process from scars and blemishes.

The essential vitamin can help with reducing the signs of aging and wrinkles.

I love that Vitamin E has helped me keep moisture in my hair and help me look as young as I feel!

You can choose to use Vitamin E in pill form (my method) or oil form.

3. Lavender

A friend of mine was who informed me lavender was a great asset to my hair. Knowing I'm a huge tea lover, she told me that consuming lavender as tea was a great alternative for me.

According to the University of Maryland Medical Center, a study of 86 alopecia participants massaged lavender oil into their scalp over seven months showing hair regrowth.

Lavender has antibacterial properties that cleanse the hair roots.

I found lavender to help with moisturizing my hair naturally rather than using heavy greases and oils.

Whether you massage your scalp with lavender oil or drink it as tea, here are a few ways to add lavender to your beauty regimen.

What herbs and oils do you use to nourish your hair? What's your hair day regimen?

Tip and let me know below!

hair
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.