Beat logo

You Can Dance, Or...

A Soundtrack of Different Scares

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
You Can Dance, Or...
Photo by Bee Felten-Leidel on Unsplash

Oh, Halloween. You never let me down.

I have very fond memories of All Hallow’s Eve. We were always out and about with our costumes, pillow cases and garbage bags, with a spring in our step and dark thoughts in our hearts. Even as a child, I thought of Halloween as not a time for candy and costumes, but a time to reflect on the darkness out there and in us. I had begun watching horror films as a child and never stopped, not even when teachers and counselors warned us about the dangers of too much exposure to those fantasies on celluloid.

But I never really thought about the music.

So, here is my list of ten songs that will either get people dancing, or clear the floor with averted eyes. I have tried to divide it up between individual songs and full albums that I think will make the season less-than-bright. I also lean heavily on certain soundtracks because we often forget that the music of these masterpieces of the macabre add as much to the atmosphere as any performance, makeup job, or particular kill.

So, here we go:

The First Novelty Halloween Tune?

Monster Mash by Bobby “Boris” Pickett

It is necessary to get this one out of the way first. Everyone has heard it, or heard of it and it has not really dated that well. Check out the link here and see for yourself (1964 was a very odd year).

Dear Kate...

Hammer Horror by Kate Bush

I have a very profound weakness for the sweet swan of England. And the fact that she would write an entire song referencing one of the tackiest film companies in the world is quite touching to me. You really need to see this performance.

The Lips...

Do the Time Warp by…

Yes, you all know this one. It is almost impossible to avoid references to “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” during this festive season, but the version that I have chosen to link here has its own unique take on the song (see if you can recognize the faces singing along with the dynamic duo at the centre of things).

Fair Question

What Is He Building in There by Tom Waits

I knew that I had to include this on the list the moment a local radio DJ requested songs for Halloween, received this title from me via text, and decided not to play the entire thing (fair enough: it was a morning show). I still love the way Mr. Waits portrays a whole world in one song (also look for the track “The Ocean Doesn’t Want Me Today” from “The Black Rider,” another disturbing performance). Tom waits for no one?

Original Poster...with Graffiti!

Werewolves of London by…

After that disturbing tale, we all need a break, and this classic is sure to bring those people still willing to dance back onto the carpet. But I am not choosing the original version. Instead, I have found a very interesting cover of the Warren Zevon track. Enjoy!

Yes, that's her...

Creation by Mica Levi

And the dance floor will once again clear with this one. This is taken from the “Under the Skin” soundtrack and is one of Mica Levi’s more interesting pieces. I bought the album, heard it many times, and now you will, too.

Talking Heads (on drugs?)

Drugs by Talking Heads

Another shit-disturber, but this time referencing an issue that I am sure is closer to home for a Halloween party. There are many disturbing moments in popular music and Talking Heads never fail to make me wonder why anyone would want to experiment with their own personal pharmacology when I hear this track.

The Cure

Subway Song by the Cure

And if anyone is thinking about heading home early…

Seriously, I had doubts about adding this to the list, but I realize that I cannot just choose novelty tracks, or pieces that everyone would know right away. A little more shit disturbance never hurt anyone, right? Right?

Aphex Twins?

Come to Daddy by Aphex Twin

Right! Oh, Mr. James, we love you so. This should definitely played to keep the spirits up, especially if it is possible to project the video on a wall during the performances. And speaking of videos…

Just taking a break...

Thriller by Michael Jackson

Okay, okay… Some of you may be a little uncomfortable playing anything by the late King of Pop because of his history, but there is a lot of popular music, film, literature and art that you will have to ignore if you decide to get on a moral high horse. And this is still one of the best videos ever made and one of the most important ones (change MTV into a real contender and Michael Jackson was credited with saving the record industry with the album of the same name – remember when MTV played music? Remember when there was an industry?). Yeah, it gets a mention here.

So that is my playlist. There was a lot I had to cut out and many artists and songs you simply are not ready for – Diamanda Galas and Throbbing Gristle are just below my top ten – but this should put you in the right mood for Halloween night. Enjoy!

By Sabina Music Rich on Unsplash

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.