Beat logo

What Does a Non-Critic Think of the New J. Cole Album, KOD?

My opinion doesn't matter.

By Lem BingePublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

First off I have no music credentials, I don't write for a magazine or know rappers/producers/writers etc. I just like writing and wanted to put my thoughts down. Whether I write good or bad, J. Cole will make the same amount of money from this album. I'm irrelevant in the grand scheme but here's what a non-critic thinks of KOD.

I'm listening to the album as I type this so you could be in for a jumpy, disorientating piece with little clarity. That's how I feel about this album. People are talking about it being more trap, people are saying it's got a punchy feel similar to DAMN. Of course the two will get compared. Kendrick Lamar and J. Cole are the 2 biggest and best in their bracket, artists which aren't at the Kanye West and Jay-Z icon status but can not be touched by new wave stuff like Migos, Drake and Lil Yachty. In an era where fickle beats, singles and sellouts rule rap, Cole and Kendrick have largely remained true to their own music, they're album artists, wordsmiths when we compare them to the 'other rappers out there'.

But I'm asking is this album off-track? Why is Cole talking about xany in Kevin's Heart? Why does Cole have a song on his album which could be seen as a reference to a cheesy comedian who does films with Will Ferrell? I want to be clear - I AM NOT CALLING J COLE A SELL OUT - in fact I've always preferred his music and the way he flows over Kendrick's. If ever there's high praise there it is. I just don't really get this album right now and I'm not scared to admit that. I don't get it. Maybe I've just missed the point and that may change with more plays and more focus on the lyrics but on first impression this is Trappy and removed from the J. Cole who didn't want to let Nas down.

Born Sinner was the first album Cole did where I thought "Wow," and it was instant, I felt it straightaway - the escape, the hunger, the struggle, it was all there. The headphones went in, the music played and everything else in the world was irrelevant. That music affected me, it wasn't as artistic as a Kanye West piece or as Billboard centered as something by Drake but when I listened to it I was only doing that. Listening. Escaping. No other thoughts. I always judge music by whether or not I can get that escapism from it and with KOD I haven't.

Drake drops catchy singles with little world play, Migos mumble rap in patterns over a beat, Chris brown did a song with Kendall Jenner in. These are just commercially-driven projects designed for short-term Billboard success and the desire to be relevant year round. In a world where sellouts rule Hip-Hop & Rap the talent of J. Cole, and with him Kendrick Lamar, could always be relied on to show the true art.

Maybe it's a sign of the way rap is going and I'm just not ready for that.

KOD has the same punchiness as DAMN did in its songs and in similar fashion more focus is placed on the beats than the vocals. The beat now rules rap and that's why your Migos, your Yachty, your Lil Pump can get away with being so talentless. That's a relative statement, they're more talented than me but compared to 'real rappers' they're nothing.

Kudos for Cole calling out the glamorising of black rappers not giving a fuck and popping pills on 1985 - everyone's branding this a diss but I don't think he's calling him out it's just honest, it's tough love, Cole says it himself he wants to see black men get paid. It's advice and it's constructive, Cole acknowledges the change in rap and his distaste for what some rappers and rapping about.

With the punchiness of this album has J. Cole realised he has to adapt to the new world of rap. I think he has. That being said I don't think we'll ever see a J. Cole who isn't anything less than honest, who talks about struggle but doesn't glamorises it, who doesn't hide he isn't a gangster, who doesn't claim to be something he's not. To me this is an adaptive album for J. Cole which he's been forced into somewhat by the current state of rap. I still like him. I don't think he's sold out. It's just different and I don't like it as much as what he's done before. I want to get it, I want to find things in this album I haven't yet, I want to understand the beats, the trap influence and the collaborations. I will listen to this album again (probably quite a lot) because I trust Cole and believe he wouldn't just make an album for commercial success.

Everything Jermaine has done before has been done with a point and I hope this album gets me to where it's just me and my headphones.

Here's to listening again.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Lem Binge

All the irrelevant opinions you don't want or need in one inconvenient place

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.