Beat logo

Top 6 songs to listen when you feel Heartbroken

Recommending some songs that may evoke feelings of sadness.

By RiePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

[ DISCLAIMER: These are some of my go-to songs whenever I write sad stories]

When we go through a breakup or experience heartbreak, it can be tough to find solace. However, many people find that listening to heartbreak songs can help them process their emotions and feel a sense of catharsis. Some popular heartbreak songs include "Someone Like You" by Adele, "The Scientist" by Coldplay, and "All Too Well" by Taylor Swift.

As someone who enjoys music, I've created a variety of playlists to match my mood and various situations. For instance, when I'm feeling joyful, I have a particular playlist that I love to listen to. Similarly, when I'm taking a shower, I have a "concert playlist" that I enjoy playing loudly in my bathroom.

I always make sure to place each song I add to my playlist in the appropriate folder that matches the genre or theme of the playlist.

Now, Here is my top 6 songs I listen to whenever I want to feel heartbroken as a single person:

1. Back to December by Taylor Swift

Back to December is a classic song that can evoke feelings of heartbreak even if you've never experienced a relationship issue yourself or if you're currently in a healthy relationship. The song is so powerful that it can bring tears to your eyes without any effort.

The bridge of the song is particularly epic, as it not only makes you feel the pain but also makes you want to sing it out loud, causing people around you to be confused by your cracking voice.

2. That Should Be Me by Justin Bieber

Honestly, I've never been in a relationship before, but heartbreak songs are my jam. Justin Bieber's "That Should Be Me" is the pinnacle of heartbreak for me. I envision it as my anthem when I finally confess my feelings to my crush and get rejected. It's absolutely heart-wrenching!

The lyrics "That should be me holding your hands. That should be making you laugh" hit me hard, and I find myself on the floor crying for no apparent reason. It's just my imagination running wild.

3. I Quit Drinking by Kelsea Ballerini and LANY

This statement appears to be made by someone who does not drink excessively and is currently listening to a song while feeling emotional about a research paper, rather than someone who is experiencing emotional pain. The song's message effectively highlights the impact of ending a relationship and how it can force you to give up activities that once brought you joy.

4. 12:51 by Krissy and Erika

I have a fond memory of listening to this song during my middle school years. I would often watch the rain fall outside my window and imagine myself in a music video. It's a special song that I also used to listen to while reading e-books, allowing me to fully immerse myself in the emotions of the characters in the story.

5. Gotta Go My Own Way by Vanessa Hudgens (HSM2)

This song takes me back to my childhood and makes me feel like the star of my own musical movie. I grew up watching High School Musical movies, and every time I sing or listen to this song, I feel like Gabriella Montez, saying goodbye to my imaginary friend Troy Bolton on the bridge over the living room pool.

6. The Way I Loved You by Taylor Swift

I was deeply moved by the movie "The Summer I Turned Pretty" and this song in particular. The love triangle between Conrad, Belly, and Jeremiah reminds me of the themes in Taylor Swift's songs. I appreciate the quality of the songwriting and how it evokes the emotions of being in love.

Do you have any favorite heart-wrenching songs that you enjoy listening to?

playlistsong reviews
Like

About the Creator

Rie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.