Beat logo

To The Hell And Back

A Story of Running And Determination

By Reija SillanpaaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
To The Hell And Back
Photo by Fil Mazzarino on Unsplash

My thighs burn as my feet pound the pavement. Each step forward is a battle against the desire to quit. But I can’t stop now. I have less than a kilometre left to complete the first 10km run of my life. I switch the song playing on my headphones. I need something grittier to help me get to the end.

Without slowing down, I skip through songs on my running playlist until I find what I’m looking for.

Yes, I think as I hear the first beats of Black Sabbath’s Paranoid. I carry on picking my feet up as I approach the 10km mark.

---

If someone had told me eighteen months ago that I could one day run 10km, I would have scoffed. For years, I had not run.

Often, I'd had the best intentions. I even bought a running rucksack so I could run home from work, but it never proceeded further. I always found an excuse.

One day it would be too hot, then too cold, maybe it was too wet or too windy. Perhaps I was too tired or meeting a friend. Whatever the excuse, I sold and bought it.

Then, in March 2019, my life was turned upside down. I was diagnosed with womb cancer. It was at stage three and required a radical hysterectomy, chemo and radiotherapy to treat it.

At first I swallowed in misery and self-pity. I planned my own funeral and planned the heart-wrenching goodbyes I was going to say to my family and friends.

But then something snapped. I would not take this lying down. Cue tons of research and amongst the claims of various things being a miracle cure, I found articles and information that made sense.

I learnt that people who exercise regularly reduced the chances of the cancer returning. There were no percentages for womb cancer, but why should it be any different.

So, I dug out the running shoes, and the long road towards becoming a runner began.

At first, I could barely jog for a couple of minutes before I had to slow down to a walk. But day by day my strength increased and I could run further and faster. I trained through the summer and by the autumn I was easily running 5km.

But then along came radiotherapy. My oncologist told me one of the side-effects was fatigue. At first I was fine, but then it hit me. I had never felt anything like it.

It didn’t matter how much I rested, I still felt lethargic. And it wasn’t just physical. I felt like I spent most days enveloped in a thick fog. I had trouble focusing and remembering things.

I’d go to my morning radiotherapy session (I had 25 sessions over five weeks) and come home needing a nap. I'd wake up to have a bit of lunch and then needed another nap. There was no way I could keep up running.

Recovering from the radiotherapy and building up my energy levels took months. It wasn’t until the lockdown began in March that I picked it up again.

With the lockdown came strict rules on spending time outdoors. Exercise was still allowed, so to maintain my sanity I started running again. To my surprise and delight, I hadn’t regressed too much in the months when my running shoes collected dust in the cupboard.

And then, on the second of April, I completed my first 10km run. I was in agony for the last kilometre and ached for a few days after, but it was worth it.

In a year I had gone from a coach potato to running 10km. And more importantly, I had beaten cancer.

- - - -

I need my music when I run. This is the current playlist.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Reija Sillanpaa

A wise person said, "Be your own audience". Therefore, I write fiction, poetry and about matters important and interesting to me. That said, I warmly welcome you into my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.