Beat logo

The Surfacing of a Hidden Gem

Jhene Aiko

By Ariyon WellsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7

I know that most writers writing about this topic may want to start from the beginning of a musical era. Shining light on the black women musicians from the 20’s, 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, and even the 90’s- but I would like to take the time to shine light on the new age artists. Just one in particular, Jhene Aiko Efuru Chilombo. Contrary to popular belief, Jhene just might be one of the most overlooked and underrated artists of today. Not only is she a singer/songwriter with a majestical and somewhat angelic sound, she is a musical healer. She incorporates sound healing bowls throughout her music to allow the frequencies from the bowls to resonate with your chakras; truly channeling your inner emotions and really connecting with the listener on a deeper level. Before you form your opinion, let me further explain. Black women from those early eras previously mentioned have paved the way for many. I grew up listening to some of the greats. My introduction to these women through my elders have shaped my life, and transformed me in indescribable ways. Some of the greats that I am referring to would be Carmen Jones, Roberta Flack, Etta James, Ann Peebles, Nina Simone, Deniece Williams, The Clark Sisters, Whitney Houston, and the list goes on. These women possessed a quality that was undeniable, and they outshined their competition. I loved music because of them; but I never aspired to be like them. In fact, hearing their tones and vocal capabilities discouraged me. In some way, all of their voices were strong and dominant. Their voices were unique like mine, but still met the industry’s standards of being considered a “real” singer unlike mine. It wasn't until I discovered Jhene, that I realized that I too, may have an actual chance at becoming a singer myself.

MY DISCOVERY OF JHENE

I will never forget the moment when Jhene came into my life for the first time. It was fall 2012 and I was in my room flipping through the channels on TV, when suddenly it happened. I heard a voice that was similar to mine. At the time Jhene was struggling with a lot of personal things, which caused her music to reflect that. The music was melancholy, sad, and very dark; but it was accompanied by a voice that had a certain innocence to the sound. She had just lost her brother to cancer, and she stated in many interviews that she felt lost. During her time of tragedy, I was feeling lost as well but not for the same reasons. Not because I physically lost someone, but because I just felt lost in the world. I was a teenager, who was different from everyone else. I was going through many changes physically, mentally, and emotionally, and I just felt that no one around me understood. It wasn't until I listened to her mixtape, that for the first time I felt that what I was feeling was normal. Every morning on my way to the bus stop, I would put my headphones in and turn them up to the maximum volume- and at that moment I felt a sense of invincibility. I felt that nothing else in the world existed but me, and as I reflect back on those moments, it's amazing what good music can do, what it can get you through, and how it makes you feel. Her poetic songwriting and her melodic voice really brings you an internal form of peace. Peace beyond explanation. Her music is really calm within a storm.

THE STORY BEHIND JHENE

Jhene was born on March 16th, 1988, in Los Angeles. Born and raised LA native, Jhene was the youngest of 5. Her father was a pediatrician by day, and a musician by night. Her first introduction to music was through him, due to him having a full studio in the garage.

Jhene never questioned whether or not she could sing, but she did question how people would respond to her music and her message. She has been in the music industry since 2002, but it wasn't until 2008 when she had her daughter, that Jhene decided to take a leap of faith and focus solely on music. Having a child gave her the tenacity she needed to realize that music was her only way out, and approximately 3 years later she released her first mixtape Sailing Souls (with features from popular artists such as Drake, Kanye West and Kendrick Lamar). She never imagined that people would take such a strong liking to her, but from that she continued to grow, and with growth came exposure to her ultimate purpose.

Jhene broke a lot of barriers for artists like me. With her poetic songwriting, she created a new sound for the music industry. Her artistry is truly taken for granted. Even the way she leaves her lyrics open for interpretation, possessing more than one meaning, it is simply genius. With Jhene, she brings awakening to the meaning less is more. There is never deliberation behind the intent of her music, only authenticity. That is why I love her music. She looks for more than just creating music, her goal was to create an experience. Not only music that you can hear, but music that you can feel. Music that you can relate to. Visionary music.

With each album, was a new layer of discovery for not only the fans but for Jhene as well. From Sailing Souls to Chilombo, you can see the evolution of Jhene and the growth in her self-expression coming to fruition. Jhene is truly the revelation of a hidden gem rising to the surface. Literally, figuratively and metaphorically.

humanity
7

About the Creator

Ariyon Wells

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.