Beat logo

The Pop Song We Didn't Know We Needed

Well, you really went and did it this time Demi Lovato, creating a song each and every one of us should listen to.

By KaciePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3
Picture from https://www.harpersbazaar.com/culture/art-books-music/a31261251/demi-lovato-i-love-me-video-lyrics-meaning/

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, pop songs, they usually are about nothing more than sex or greed, or both. Every once and awhile we get some with a genuine message or some actual talent, but this is a rare occurrence. However, who am I to judge when I also love Blackbear's "Hot girl bummer" which says the F-word possibly 20 times? But imagine my surprise when I heard the song "I love me" by Demi Lovato and wasn't ashamed to thoroughly enjoy it. Now, why should anyone be taken by pleasant surprise when they hear this song? Well, I can start by showing you the lyrics of the song-

Flipping through all of these magazines

Telling me who I'm supposed to be

Way too good at camouflage

Can't see what I am

I just see what I'm not

I'm guilty 'bout everything that I eat

(Every single thing)

Feeling myself is a felony

Jedi level sabotage

Voices in my head make up my entourage

'Cause I'm a black belt when I'm beating up on myself

But I'm an expert at giving love to somebody else

I, me, myself and

I, don't see eye to

Eye, me, myself and

I

Oh, why do I compare myself to everyone?

And I always got my finger on the self destruct

I wonder when I love me is enough (yeah, yeah, yeah)

I wonder when I love me is enough (yeah, yeah, yeah)

Why am I always looking for a ride or die?

'Cause mine's the only heart I'm gonna have for life

After all the times I went and fucked it up

(All the times I went and fucked it up)

I wonder when I love me is enough (yeah, yeah, yeah)

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

I wonder when I love me is enough

I wonder when I love me is enough

Haters that live on the internet

Live in my head, should be paying rent

I'm way to good at listening

All these comments fucking up my energy

'Cause I'm a black belt when I'm beating up on myself

But I'm an expert at giving love to somebody else

I, me, myself and

I, don't see eye to

Eye, me, myself and

I

Oh, why do I compare myself to everyone?

And I always got my finger on the self destruct

I wonder when I love me is enough (yeah, yeah, yeah)

I wonder when I love me is enough (yeah, yeah, yeah)

Why am I always looking for a ride or die?

'Cause mine's the only heart I'm gonna have for life

After all the times I went and fucked it up

(All the times I went and fucked it up)

I wonder when I love me is enough (is enough)

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

I wonder when I love me is enough

I wonder when I love me is enough

I'm my own worst critic

Talk a whole lot of shit

But I'm a ten out of ten

Even when I forget

I-I-I-I

(I'm a ten out of ten, don't you ever forget it)

I'm my own worst critic

Talk a whole lot of shit

But I'm a ten out of ten

Even when I forget

I-I-I-I

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

I wonder when I love me is enough

I wonder when I love me is enough

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

I wonder when I love me is enough

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah

Were you able to stay with me to get this far? If so, good for you and also thank you. Not only do you have incredible patience, but you also just read some pretty meaningful lyrics too. What makes this song so great you may ask? It addresses an issue many of us don't like to address ourselves and that is loving ourselves.

With dating apps now running rampant and so many more ways to find relationships, our own self-importance seems to have been put on the back-burner. Because why work on or love yourself when you can find comfort in somebody else? This warped way of thinking has taken over and we needed a song like this to wake us up. Yes, there are many who are single and who enjoy it. But think about that friend or family member you know that is always finding a new relationship even after a fresh breakup. We all know people who don't love themselves or take the time to find themselves, they simply look to love somebody else and feel loved in return. And honestly ask yourself, if you are in a relationship right now and it was broken off, would you be happy by yourself?

This song brings us back to thinking about ourselves (oh joy, like humans aren't selfish already), but in a good way. Of course this song isn't telling us to all go out and be cocky, it's just telling us how important it is to love ourselves for who we are. We shouldn't try to change ourselves to meet somebody else's expectations. We need to listen to the hearts that beat in our own bodies and follow them no matter what (unless your heart is telling you to commit a crime or something, and in that case don't listen).

So, I guess in the simplest explanation I can give: love yourself. It's like Rupaul says, "If you can't love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love somebody else?" I'm hoping that this song will hopefully leave a positive mark on the world and inspire our youth to be happy with who they are. Nobody needs to be a prick about it, but hey if you are feeling yourself, you go Glen Coco! Now go listen to the song if you haven't already, I guarantee it will put a smile on that awesome face of yours.

Sincerely from my now Demi Lovato-loving mind,

Kacie

song reviews
3

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.