Beat logo

The Playlist That Told Valentine's Day to Screw Itself

Catchy and fun tunes to empower and remind us that we don't need them.

By Lauren J. BennettPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

Once upon a time, there was a young girl that had a terrible curse. Her curse was that every year, her boyfriend would break up with her on or near Valentine's Day and her birthday. It never helped that her birthday was just five days after the wretched holiday.

That young girl was me, and yes, I did feel cursed. Throughout high school and my young adult years, if I got broken up with it was always in February. My mother didn't believe me until she witnessed it herself. Then, it became a running joke that we would know who the right man for me was by waiting to see what he did on Valentine's Day.

Maybe I just didn't have great taste in men, or maybe the universe was playing one giant cosmic joke. Either way, music is what helped me get through those times that I found myself hating this holiday. It seems silly now to think I put things like chocolate, flowers, and teddy bears on a pedestal.

So my anti-Valentine's Day playlist is not only for those who want to feel good about themselves and pumped up but also for those who know what it's like to be dumped on the one holiday we all look forward to when we're kids. These are the top 10 best songs to listen to this Valentine's Day.

"Now I'm out here looking like revenge, Feeling like a 10 - the best I ever been. And yeah, I know how bad it must hurt to see me like this, but it gets worse. Now you're out here looking like regret, ain't too proud to beg, second chance you'll never get. And yeah, I know how bad it must hurt to see my like this, but it gets worse."

Sorry Not Sorry by Demi Lovato

This is one of my favorite songs to listen to when I need a push in the right direction emotionally. We all get to those points when we are in our feelings, or maybe having a few insecurities rising to the surface. This is a great feel-good song that reminds us that no matter what happens in our love life, we're a 10 hands down.

Those that hurt us don't matter because we're the ones on top in the end. So get your nails done, do your hair, put on your best outfit, and go show them what they lost.

Check out the official music video for Sorry Not Sorry by Clicking Here.

"So, it looks like the joke's on you because the girl that you thought you knew - she's so gone, that's all over now. She's so gone - you won't find her around. You can look but you won't see the girl I used to be - 'cuz she's so gone."

She's So Gone by Naomi Scott

Most people probably recognize her as Jasmine in the live-action Aladdin movie. But before she was a princess, Naomi Scott was on a Disney Channel movie called Lemonade Mouth.

I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it. The entire song is about a girl that has been in a relationship where she had to pretend to be something she isn't. Maybe it was because of fear for what other people would think, or because she just wanted to be liked. In the end, she realized she wanted to be her most authentic self, and if anyone had a problem with it, then they aren't meant to make it to her future.

The message is great and it's an upbeat song. I love dancing around to it when I'm cleaning my house or cruising in the car. I couldn't make this playlist without it.

Watch the full scene from Lemonade Mouth by Clicking Here.

"But you see, I'm not here for your entertainment. You don't really wanna mess with me tonight. Just stop and take a second, I was fine before you walked into my life. Because you know it's over before it began. Keep your drink, just give me the money. It's just you and your hand tonight."

U + Ur Hand by Pink

I don't think this playlist would be complete without this catchy party song. It's common for people to think that the only goal for a woman when we go out is to find a man. I don't know about anyone else, but I've never gone somewhere thinking, "I'm going to look for a boyfriend while I'm there."

Most of the time I just want to hang out with my friends. However, it seems to be this standard given by society that it's our duty as women to dress up for men. Pink gives a great message in this song that sometimes women just want to be left alone.

We want to be able to hang out with our friends in peace and not have to ward off a bunch of suitors, especially when we know they're sketchy. So if you're looking for a great song to dance to while telling love to screw off, this is the one.

Watch the official music video for U + Ur Hand by Clicking Here.

"Talking in my sleep at night making myself crazy (Out of my mind). Wrote it down and read it out hoping it would save me (Too many times). Oh, he makes me feel like nobody else, nobody else. But my love, he doesn't love me so I tell myself..."

New Rules by Dua Lipa

By now we all have that relationship we can't let go. For some of us, it's in the past, but others may still be struggling with theirs. Valentine's Day sometimes brings those good memories back that always overpowered the bad memories. They're like a magic eraser for all the toxic behaviors we chose to ignore. Sometimes, it's hard not to call those exes and try and get back together, especially during the season for love.

For those of you who have never heard the song, Dua Lipa mentions a relationship where she's realizing that the person she loves doesn't love her. It's toxic and nothing is ever going to change, so she's convincing herself to follow these three rules:

1. Don't pick up the phone - you know he's only calling because he's drunk and alone

2. Don't let him in - you'll have to kick him out again

3. Don't be friend - you know you're gonna wake up in his bed in the morning

Then she says, "And if you're under him, then you ain't getting over him." New Rules is the first song I've heard that targets this subject directly. I like it because there's not a lot of emotion involved like other songs with a similar story.

With other songs, there's typically a lot of talk about heartbreak and woe is my story. New Rules is more about getting to the point of realizing you have to make the changes and you can't wait for them. It's a great song to add to your Anti-Valentine's Day playlist if you're in one of these situations or have been before.

Watch the official music video for New Rules by Clicking Here.

"So it's gonna be forever or it's gonna go down in flames. You can tell me when it's over if the high was worth the pain. Got a long list of ex-lovers - they'll tell you I'm insane. But I've got a blank space. 'Cause you know I love the players and you love the game..."

Blank Space by Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift has always surprised me every time she's released something new. Blank Space was no exception because she found a way to combine her humor with her reputation and make magic from it.

Let's face it: a lot of breakups don't end on good terms. Typically there are a lot of issues, lack of communication, irritation, anger, and then suddenly it's like you don't even know that person anymore. You're questioning how you went from thinking they're perfect and can do no wrong to now they're the devil spawn.

After the break up we often find ourselves at the center of their version of the story where we're crazy and psycho. We ask for too much, we took them for granted, and they just couldn't do anything right.

Blank Space touches on this entire scenario as Taylor Swift takes us through the roles both parties play in relationships that are roller coaster rides. If you've ever been labeled as crazy or psycho by an ex even though you weren't (or maybe you were, who cares. You only live once, right?) then this song would be one you sing at karaoke. Don't forget to give them a shout out when you do it.

Watch the official music video for Blank Space by Clicking Here

"First you gonna say you ain't running game, thinking I'm believing every word. Call me beautiful, so original, telling me I'm not like other girls. I was in my zone before you came along. Now I'm thinking you should go blah blah blah blah. I be like nah to the I, to the I, to the no, no, no."

No by Meghan Trainor

Have you ever been approached out in public by people that were interested in you romantically? It's usually okay if you want people to approach you. However, there's a lot of times when we don't. This song is a lot like U + Ur Hand by Pink, but it still needed to be on the playlist.

I like this track in particular because Meghan reminds us that it's okay to say no. I've found many women (and men) that have a problem with saying no. Almost like we don't want to say it because we don't want to hurt anyone's feelings. While it's okay to be empathetic, we also need to remember being assertive saves us from very uncomfortable situations.

We should never feel bad about saying no and no, we don't owe anyone an explanation. This song is super empowering and I love it.

Watch the official music video for No by Clicking Here.

"Standing in the front yard telling how I'm such a fool. Talking about how I'll never find a man like you. You've got me twisted. You must not know about me, you must not know about me. I can have another man in a minute. Matter of fact, he'll be here in a minute..."

Irreplaceable by Beyoncé

Another empowering and beautiful song is Irreplaceable by Beyonce. It was a very horrifying moment realizing that if someone could cheat on Beyonce, then there is no chance for any of the rest of us. However, in this wonderful and catchy track, Beyoncé reminds us that other people's decisions in how they treat us have nothing to do with us.

She remains classy and authentic. She never settles and doesn't let them back in just because she loves them. If they mess up, they mess up. We should all have that mentality. No one should be allowed in our lives thinking they're irreplaceable.

Watch the official music video for Irreplaceable by Clicking Here

"Ignore my emotions, emotions are dumb. Surf through the channels until my senses are numb. Shorten my attention span - I should think like a man. Stick my foot in my mouth and just walk away. Turn off my cell - I ain't got nothing to say. Disappear and not give a damn - I should think like a man."

Think Like a Man by Orianthi

Orianthi kicks butt in this funny and catchy tune. It takes all the issues women have in their relationships and turns it around. Much like Beyoncé's Like a Boy, as well as Ciara's Like a Boy, Orianthi targets specific behaviors that we're taught to accept because "Boys will be boys."

Wouldn't it be nice to be able to turn the tables on those who expect us to accept their inappropriate behaviors as a part of their biological need to be single with 13 girlfriends?

"Tell me how can you sleep? How can you breathe? Baby, tell me how- how you love me now?"

How You Love Me Now by Hey Monday

I thought Cassadee Pope was a musical genius when I was in high school. This song remains a song I always listened to when I was going through a relationship issue. For those of you who haven't heard this particular track, it's about a girl that finds out she's falling for a player. So, she confronts him and asks how he can live with himself knowing he toys with people's hearts.

It's very catchy and easy to dance to like no one is watching. It's also great for those who have experienced a relationship where the other person always had other options.

Watch the official music video for How You Love Me Now by Clicking Here.

"I'm over your lies and I'm over your games. I'm over you asking me when you know I'm not okay. You call me at night and I pick up the phone. And though you've been telling me I know you're not alone..."

Over it by Katharine McPhee

This track may seem like an oddball compared to the rest on this list, but I couldn't make the playlist without adding it. It has a lot more emotion in it versus the others that are more about empowering our inner strength. Over it by Katharine McPhee empowers us differently.

It reminds us that no matter how hurt we are, we can overcome it long enough to see the truth and say no, this isn't okay. It's finally saying that you're over everything they offer you, both good and bad. It's about loving yourself enough not to sacrifice who you are for their happiness. And I think that's beautiful.

Watch the official music video for Over It by Clicking Here.

If you're like me, then you don't like to stay in your feelings for long. People like us like our feelings to roll right off like water. That's why I chose the tracks for this playlist to be songs that empower us and remind us to believe in ourselves and stay true to ourselves. Below I've included the playlist for you to listen to them.

Maybe some of them gave nostalgia from our childhoods and teenage years. Maybe you forgot that some of these tracks existed and just want to jam. Whatever your reason, enjoy it.

https://music.amazon.com/user-playlists/82161e07e24241c4a054367436cee834sune?ref=dm_sh_769a-6b6a-3399-61d5-a02d6

playlist
1

About the Creator

Lauren J. Bennett

Published author, licensed massage therapist, and double major in Criminal Justice and Philosophy. I have 4 dogs and my car is named after my favorite character on finding Nemo. Fish are friends, not food. Read my stuff. With love, Lauren.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.