Beat logo

The Next Star

The story of why my mother ruined my life by not letting me become a pop star

By Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹Published 8 months ago ā€¢ 3 min read
5

I have always had a strong love for music.

Have you ever heard of the Canadian television series called The Next Star?

It was one of my FAVOURITE things to watch on YTV when I was growing up.

Basically? It was like a childrens version of American Idol or The Voice. Kids and teenagers up to the age of fifteen all across Canada audition for the chance to be the next star.

They start by picking sixteen contestants. Afterwards they pick eight from the sixteen then six from the eight. These six contestants write their own songs, create a music video, and perform them to the judges. You got to vote on your favourite singer and whoever ends up winning ended up getting a record deal.

When I was about twelve years old, I got the genius idea in my head to AUDITION. Iā€™m not joking.

I never had any musical training other than choir because my parents couldnā€™t afford it.

Well my mother a.k.a. The dream crusher refused to let me audition. I had my heart set on it as they were coming to a city only an hour away from where we lived. I was heartbroken. Devastated to say the least. This was my chance at becoming a famous pop star singer and making millions.

You guys. I could have been famous.

In later years Iā€™ve been told I have a beautiful and raw singing voice. Iā€™ve thought about posting my singing/rapping on Vocal before. In my ā€œAll About Meā€ post I posted my favourite song and I ALMOST did it. I might have to update it and edit it there just isnā€™t an easy way to upload videos on Vocal. I wasnā€™t really keen on the idea of posting it on YouTube either.

You can read the post Iā€™m referring to down below.

In elementary school, my friends used to catch me writing song lyrics down in my journals. Like I said before, I never had any musical training so it was more just poetry than anything.

I have a fond memory of elementary school best friend, back in the day, singing the song ā€œMy Best Friendā€™s Girlā€ written and performed by Diego Gomes, one of the finalists. He ended up winning his season. He was quite talented back then and utterly adorable. It was pretty sweet of my friend honestly to support my dreams of becoming a famous singer even though I know that ship has sailed.

Whatā€™s really funny about this story of mine, is that an old coworker of mine that I loved dearly had the same exact story. He wanted to audition for The Next Star too but he wasnā€™t allowed to. That man has the most beautiful singing voice I have ever heard. He would have made it for sure. I used to make jokes with him about how Iā€™m pretty sure there isnā€™t a song that he doesnā€™t know all the words to. Iā€™m pretty positive that his brain is made up of 99% song lyrics. No joke.

Now this is just a funny memory for me from my childhood. My mom is actually who inspired me to write about this funny moment in my life. To be fair, I also wanted to be a marine biologist back then too. I researched schools and everything and ā€œIt only costed $250,000 a yearā€ to quote little old Chloe.

I grew up with role models like Miley Cyrus and Demi Lovato. Of course I wanted to become a famous singer/songwriter.

Now that Iā€™m really thinking about it, the show wasnā€™t all that great. You canā€™t really find it anywhere online to watch anymore and it only ran for seven seasons. It did launch careers for a few famous singers like Fefe Dobson and Victoria Duffield.

I hope you enjoyed this flashback from ten years ago! I know I did. I canā€™t get some of these songs out of my head.

What are your thoughts on reality singing competitions?

Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹

Check out my favourite playlist post!

social mediaindustryhumanityhistoryfeature
5

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. šŸ’€šŸ„°

ā€¢Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

ā€¢Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I feel like we all had the same experience. i also wanted to audition for american idol....would have been great if my dad just let me

  • Lol, dream crusher! If I was your mom, I would have let you audition, lol. Unfortunately, we're too close in age for that because I too grew up with Miley Cyrus and Demi Lovato! Selena Gomez too!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great songs! Itā€™s never to late! ā¤ļøā™„ļøšŸ’™

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.