Beat logo

Chloe's Top Canadian Artists/Bands

A Spotify playlist dedicated to Canada

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 9 months ago 8 min read
3
Marianas Trench live in concert

"The true beauty of music is that it connects people." by Roy Ayers

I went to my first concert after COVID this past week. It got me thinking about my next Spotify Playlist for Vocal. I went to see Marianas Trench perform live and I felt like I was fourteen again.

I let the beautiful music of Marianas Trench inspire this Canadian Bands and Artists Playlist.

Here is the link to the Spotify playlist down below.

I hope you enjoy this playlist of beautiful Canadian music. 🇨🇦

Marianas Trench

The band was formed in 1999 by lead singer Josh Ramsay. Marianas Trench is a Canadian pop-rock band from Vancouver, British Columbia. The band has released five studio albums titled: Fix Me (2006), Masterpiece Theatre (2009), Ever After (2011), Astoria (2015), and Phantoms (2019). I have seen this band perform live a number of time and I love every minute of their shows.

Some of my favourite songs by them include, Haven’t Had Enough, Fallout, and Shake Tramp. I’ve included these songs in the playlist.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Every masterpiece I'd write again

You'll always be my porcelain

I crossed my heart but I stuttered too

So truth or dare, was I good to you?

And I had enough of you all to myself

Still right beside you in sickness and health

Dearly Departed by Marianas Trench

Fun fact, this references every song the lead singer Josh Ramsay has written about his ex-girlfriend.

Nickelback

Nickelback is a Canadian rock band formed in 1995 in Hanna, Alberta. With 10 studio albums, two compilation albums, and one extended play (EP), they have quite a number of albums under their belts. I also got to see them live back almost ten years ago and I enjoyed the performance immensely.

This band is notoriously hated for some reason by popular opinion but I do not understand why. It's a good band, trust me. I'll listen to Nickelback any day.

Some of my favourite songs by Nickelback are I’d Come For You, Rockstar, and How You Remind Me.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

I wonder if it's too late

Should I go back and try to graduate?

Life's better now than it was back then

If I was them, I wouldn't let me in

Photograph by Nickelback

Simple Plan

Simple Plan is a Canadian rock band from Montreal, Quebec, formed in 1999. They have released six studio albums, two live albums, one video album, three extended plays and twenty singles over the past 20 years.

Some of my favorite Simple Plan songs include, Welcome to My Life, I’m Just a Kid, and Jet Lag.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Sometimes I wish I could save you

And there's so many things that I want you to know

I won't give up till it's over

If it takes you forever, I want you to know

Save You by Simple Plan

Theory of a Deadman

Theory of a Deadman (abbreviated as Theory or TOAD) is a Canadian rock band from North Delta, British Columbia. The band was formed in 1999. They have released seven albums: Theory of a Deadman (2002) , Gasoline (2005) , Scars and Souvenirs (2008) , The Truth Is... (2011) , Savages (2014) , Wake Up Call (2017) , and Say Nothing (2020).

Some of my favourite songs by Theory of A Deadman include Angel, Bad Girlfriend, and Hate My Life.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Chase it down with a hopeful smile

Hate myself, if I can go for miles

They say family is all you need

Someone to trust can help you breathe

Inhale that drug, but you start to choke

You follow the outs of an inside joke

RX (Medicate) by Theory of A Deadman

Three Days Grace

Three Days Grace is a Canadian rock band formed in Norwood, Ontario in 1992 originally as Groundswell.

Groundswell played in various local backyard parties and small area establishments before disbanding in 1995 and regrouping in 1997 under its current name, Three Days Grace. they have released seven studio albums, six of which at three-year intervals.

This band has released seven albums: Three Days Grace (2003), One-X (2006), Life Starts Now (2009), Transit of Venus (2012), Human (2015),Outsider (2018) and Expressions (2022).

Some of my favourite Three Days Grace songs are: Riot, Over and Over, and Are You Ready?

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Now, I'm walkin' 'round in a haze

There's no color, only darker shades of gray

You showed me the way when I was lost and alone

But you never really showed me how to let you go

Lifetime by Three Days Grace

Billy Talent

Billy Talent is a Canadian rock band from Mississauga, Ontario. They formed in 1993. This was a friend of mine's favourite band. They have released six albums titled: Billy Talent (2003) , Billy Talent II (2006) , Billy Talent III (2009) , Dead Silence (2012) , Afraid of Heights (2016) , and Crisis of Faith (2022)

Some of my favourite Billy Talent songs include: Fallen Leaves, Rusted From the Rain, and End of Me.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

We try to stay young, by chasing the sun.

You blink for too long, the swan sing a song.

And all that I've lost, and all that I've won,

Don't mean nothing more when you open your eyes and they're gone.

Chasing the Sun by Billy Talent

Barenaked Ladies

Barenaked Ladies is a Canadian rock band formed in 1988 in the Toronto suburb called Scarborough, Ontario. They have released fourteen albums titled: Gordon (1992) , Maybe You Should Drive (1994) , Born on a Pirate Ship (1996) , Stunt (1998) , Maroon (2000) , Everything to Everyone (2003) , Barenaked Ladies Are Me (2006) , Barenaked Ladies Are Men (2007) , All in Good Time (2010) , Grinning Streak (2013) , Silverball (2015) , Fake Nudes (2017) , Detour de Force (2021) , and In Flight (2023).

Some of my favourite Barenaked Ladies songs are: Odds Are, Beautiful, and If I Had $1,000,000.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Broke into the old apartment

This is where we used to live

Broken glass, broke and hungry

Broken hearts and broken bones

This is where we used to live

Why did you paint the walls?

Why did you clean the floor?

Why did you plaster over the hole I punched in the door?

This is where we used to live

The Old Apartment by Barenaked Ladies

Finger Eleven

Finger Eleven is a Canadian rock band from Burlington, Ontario, formed in 1990. They were originally named Rainbow Butt Monkeys before changing their name to Finger Eleven. The band has released Letters from Chutney (1995) (as Rainbow Butt Monkeys), Tip (1997), The Greyest of Blue Skies (2000), Finger Eleven (2003), Them vs. You vs. Me (2007), Life Turns Electric (2010) and Five Crooked Lines (2015).

Some of my favourite Finger Eleven songs are: Paralyzer, Drag You Down, and Living in a Dream.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

Restless tonight

'Cause I wasted the light

Between both these times

I drew a really thin line

It's nothing I planned

And not that I can

But you should be mine

Across that line

One Thing by Finger Eleven

The Weeknd

Abel Makkonen Tesfaye known professionally as The Weeknd, is a Canadian singer, songwriter, and record producer. He began his career by anonymously releasing some of his music on YouTube back in 2009. He also is known for cofounding the label XO before he was signed onto Republic Records in 2012. Some of his albums include: Kiss Land (2013) , Beauty Behind the Madness (2015) , Starboy (2016) , After Hours (2020) and Dawn FM (2022).

Some of my favourite The Weeknd songs include: Often, Heartless, and Can't Feel My Face.

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

You know what I'm thinkin', see it in your eyes

You hate that you want me, hate it when you cry

You're scared to be lonely, especially in the night

I'm scared that I'll miss you, happens every time

I don't want this feelin', I can't afford love

I try to find a reason to pull us apart

It ain't workin' 'cause you're perfect

And I know that you're worth it

I can't walk away

Die for You by The Weeknd

City and Colour

Dallas Green is a Canadian musician, singer/songwriter who records under the name City and Colour. The reason for that? He didn’t want to release music under his own name- thus City and Colour was born. He is also known for his musical contibutions to Alexisonfire, a post-hardcore grunge band that was established in 2001. I love how different his original music is compared to this Canadian punk band.

Some of my favourite City and Colour songs include: Sunflower, Lover Come Back, and Comin' Home

Some lyrics I won’t forget:

I'm feeling lucky to be lost

Wondering what's coming next

Scratching and crawling

Whiskey soaked, been stealing time from death

Like an astronaut

Above the curvature of the earth

Just a wanderer

Under the motion of the moon

Astronaut by City and Colour

Honorable Mentions

A few honourable mentions that didn’t make this list.

Avril Lavinge

Shawn Mendes

Shania Twain

Thanks for reading.

Is there an artist or band that I did not mention that you think deserves to be on this playlist? Let me know in the comments down below.

Chloe Rose Violet

song reviewshistoryfeaturealbum reviews
3

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 months ago

    Interesting selection, though I am not a Nickelback fan and detest Spotify, but this is an excellent insight into these bands. Love Barenaked Ladies

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.