Beat logo

The Iconic Rainbows🌈 : A LGBTQ Playlist

“Every LGBTQ+ refugee has a unique situation—but the fear and pain they endured before coming to Canada is universal.” – Arsham Parsi

By nostalgia.radio🪲Published 3 years ago 5 min read
4
The Iconic Rainbows🌈 : A LGBTQ Playlist
Photo by Mercedes Mehling on Unsplash

Happy Pride Month! 🌈 This month, we not only celebrate our sexuality and who we truly are, but we reflect on the history and be silent for our queens, kings, and they royalty who have paved the road for us today. As a black pansexual woman, this month is one of my favorites. It's a month to says cheers, and reflect and appreciate the history of our growing community!

I added some of my favorite songs into a playlist I like to call "The Iconic Rainbows." These songs have deeply inspired me and came from influential artists who have a deep appreciation and love for the gay community.

For the older generation of LGBTQ members, I know some of the songs are generic, but these songs were my favorites growing up. I'm sorry if the music choices are predictable. I hope you love these songs just as much as I love them!

Madonna - Vogue

(Release Date: March 27th, 1990)

Come on, vogue (vogue)

Let your body move to the music (move to the music)

- Madonna "Vogue"

Of course, we can't have an LGBTQ playlist without adding the classics. Madonna introduced us to vogue-ing, ballroom dancing created by the black queer community in the '60s. While some criticize her for appropriating black culture in the video, others blame her for the insensitivity of providing dance music into mainstream culture.

Madonna clearly didn't have intentions of stealing from ballroom dancing. She wanted to simply be an advocate, and I can see both sides of the argument. I truly believe her influence opened the door for the LGBTQ community. The vogue video was also inclusive, adding queer POC's and women in the video. She impacted music, and soon after, other artists were following in her footsteps.

Slumber Party - Ashnikko ft Princess Nokia

(Release Date: February 11th, 2021)

Me and your girlfriend playin' dress up at my house

I gave your girlfriend cunnilingus on my couch

She cute, kawaii, hentai boobies, that excites me

I think she really likes me, asked politely, can I (woo-hoo)

-Ashnikko "Slumber Party" ft Princess Nokia

Ah yes. This song first started getting viral on Tiktok, and when the video came out, everyone went nuts! Ashnikko presents us a song that talks about two women being ...well very friendly with each other. Ashnikko is openly pansexual, and I'm happy there are celebrities I can relate to!

The visuals are beautiful in the video, and also is very sexually liberating. She shows a beautiful aesthetic of renaissance images full of deep blues.

Princess Nokia being the addition to this song makes the song a lot more exciting and gives lyrics to the song that complete it altogether.

Check out the video of the two artists explaining the lyrics and meaning by clicking here.

Sia - The Greatest

(Release Date: September 6th, 2016)

I'm free to be the greatest, I'm alive

I'm free to be the greatest here tonight, the greatest

The greatest, the greatest alive

The greatest, the greatest alive

-Sia "The Greatest"

This song from Sia is honestly one of the many endorphin-filled songs she's made. Despite her recent ableist works, I actually admire Sia's work and aesthetics. The music video shows imagery that seems to be inspired by the horrific Orlando nightclub shooting that happened in 2016. The rainbow-colored tears on Maddie Ziegler's face, to the sudden fall of the dancers in the music video, showed many examples of what the video was about.

That event was unfortunately caused by a hate crime, and to this day, the LGBTQ community gives honor to those victims. I really appreciate Sia including her works of art, and giving tribute.

Lady Gaga - Born This Way

(Release Date: May 23rd, 2011)

"Don't hide yourself in regret

Just love yourself and you're set

I'm on the right track, baby

I was born this way"

-Lady Gaga "Born This Way"

It would not be a playlist for the girls, gays, and theys, without Mother Monster!

Lady Gaga showed such a fluid, loud, and beautiful visual when she put out "Born This Way." And since then, has had a growing LGBTQ fan base that thanks to her for inclusion and motivation. "The song is an obvious shout-out to gay rights." in an article from Shmoop.com

I remember seeing this song when I was 11 and was so confused at first. Then I constantly played it when my parents weren't looking and danced till the sun came up. (MTV AM of course!) She has not only shown support with her music, but has protested, and has waved the LGBTQ flag multiple times in her shows! "I would take a bullet for you," says Lady Gaga at Stonewall Pride in 2019. "I am where I am because of you." This is why she is one of my favorites!

Taylor Swift - You Need To Calm Down

(Release Date: June 13th, 2019)

And I ain't trying mess with your self-expression

But I've learned the lesson that stressin'

And obsessin' 'bout somebody else is no fun

-Taylor Swift "You Need To Calm Down"

And last, but certainly not least, "You Need To Calm Down" by Taylor Swift. Taylor has come from making country songs about teenage songs, to making iconic songs about growth, and being fearless (pun intended).

In an article from Elle.com, they break down the lyrics of the song, while also including that Taylor Swift is an advocate for the gay community. "Swift has been a vocal supporter of LGBTQ rights. At the start of Pride Month, she Instagrammed her own petition in support of the Equality Act in Congress. "While we have so much to celebrate, we also have a great distance to go before everyone in this country is truly treated equally,"

The music video includes The Queer Eye, as well as artists such as Hayley Kiyoko and Todrick Hall, and shows a beautiful aesthetic, giving a 50's aesthetic with an array of colors! Absolutely love it! And the song is perfect for a good morning playlist! Taylor did an amazing job!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading my story on my personalized playlist! Like, share, and send a tip to support!

"The Iconic Rainbows" is a playlist on Youtube (made by me!) Click the rainbow to be directed to the full playlist and let me know if you like it! 🌈

My podcast "Self Love & Chill" will be out this August! Follow the podcast on Instagram @_selflovenchill.

playlist
4

About the Creator

nostalgia.radio🪲

---- Article & Fictional Writer On Vocal. Media ---

☀️ Host of the "A Collaboration of my Emotions” podcast ☀️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

nostalgia.radio🪲 is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.