Beat logo

The Dark Night Playlist - 2

O C T O B E R

By Delise FantomePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

I'm losing my MIND right now it's actually October oh my God.

I . . . this year has been so aggravating and disheartening but I'll be damned if I let this year attempt to sully my most powerful season. With all that being said, welcome back to my Dark Night playlist! You may have read the first one, you may have not, and that's okay because all you need to know is that these are the songs being repeated at least 20 times in the next 30 days. My window is partly decorated, the orange and black tassels are up, and now it's time to continue our song list.

1. "The Ghost of You" - Just like the first one, I've started off the list with a My Chemical Romance song . . . and it's my favorite one. I don't even know, it just is so moving and the way Gerard belts those lyrics sends the most delicious shivers down my spine. This song was also featured on another playlist of mine, the Indefatigability Playlist, which focused on songs I never get tired of listening to. So this isn't just a spooky song, it's an aesthetic enhancer.

2. "Rats" - Ghost is an obvious choice for a Halloween playlist, isn't it? I enjoy this band a lot for not just their music but their pageantry, their dedication to creating an encompassing storyline and immersing their fans in it should the fans be receptive to such things. The music video for this song is great too isn't it? It's a pretty energetic song and the way their visuals are just shy of gore and more like classic horror mixed with dark arts is fantastic.

3. "Ghostbusters" - Yes, the first soundtrack feature on this playlist! The movies were amazing, and this theme song is so absolutely iconic that it is a must-have for any halloween playlist for that nice bit of cheesy fun to break up the screams and shrieks of the night. Who you gonna call?

4. "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" - Blue Oyster Cult is such a . . . I guess I would say they have a very hypnotic quality to their music oftentimes, and one of the most well known examples of this is the song I've placed here. Really the song is more about enticing your partner to shed their fear over how intense their love is and there's a kind of scariness to the idea isn't there? More than just them using the literal Herald of Death in their song, it's the mesmerizing way they call for you to shed fear which is, paradoxically, sort of terrifying. Also I'm aromantic so some dude calling me baby and comparing us to Romeo and Juliet is pretty horrific (to me).

5. "Bring Me To Life" - Evanescence was a powerful force in my early teen years, I will never lie about that. This song was on at least three different CD mixes, on a Zume, an iPod touch, and now it's just on my daily Youtube mixes. As soon as I get a Spotify you can bet it'll be on there too. This song, and its accompanying music video, were all just sort of dark and heavy, and incredibly catchy wasn't it? So, for that, we enjoy the deep despair of this band's most popular hit and sing it between swallows of bite-sized snickers bars.

6. "Pins and Needles" - The Birthday Massacre was a band I stumbled upon in my first year of college during some deep dive of Youtube for music on a rainy night. I don't listen to them as much as I used to but I definitely return every so often for Chibi's lovely vocals, and to revisit my favorite album of theirs titled Walking With Strangers. Actually, the next song on the list is going to be from the same album and it's . . .

7. "Red Stars" - I absolutely love the chorus on this one, and the little part that goes 'It's always a nightmare, it's never a dream' just for the way Chibi's voice lilts over the syllables. They are a great band though, so if you've never heard of them I encourage a listen of at least these two to get a feel of their sound. The lyrics of their songs, typically, are always evoking a more gothic style, a sort of dark world through a looking glass found dusty and morbid at the back of a shop.

8. "Lords of Salem" - Rob Zombie again! This song title is also the name of one of my favorite movies from him that focus on some witches of Salem, who honestly and truly did deserve to burn on stakes, and their search to bring the Devil to this Earth. I always remember how darkly Zombie spat out the line, "God hates the Lords of Salem!" And it took me years to realize that the Lords weren't the pious men of Salem who, in reality, very likely killed far more innocent women than they killed actual heretics . . . but the Lords were the Witches themselves! A point he melds into his movie when the tragic heroine/victim receives a gift from that same group. It's an awesome song, a great movie, and a solid addition to this playlist.

9. "Delirium" - Lacuna Coil has such an amazing sound, and this song is a powerful hitter that's great to roar along to be it in your car or at a party after a couple ups of Coffin Juice. I literally just repeat the last minute of the song to hear how many ways she wails out the word.

10. "Tiptoe Through The Tulips" - Don't you sit there and judge me, if it was creepy enough for the demon in Insidious to use then it's damn well creepy enough for you. AAaaaAaaaAAaaaAAAHHH! Ugh, I shudder every time, Tiny Tim why?

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.