Beat logo

The Dark Night Playlist - 1

In other words, the best songs to get in that mood for the darker fall festivities . . .

By Delise FantomePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

The nights are shorter, the days may be growing brisk for you in whatever part of the world you are, and the stores are stocking up on decorations and pumpkins . . .

That's right, we're getting closer to Halloween!

It's my favorite holiday honestly, and I do my best each year to try and celebrate it in as many aspects of my life as possible. I start wearing scary-themed accessories or shirts, thicken up the eyeliner (maybe add a little help via some gracious application of black eyeshadow), binge all sorts of horror movies, and many other things . . . which, of course, involves music! So here is a (one of them anyway) playlist of some of my favorites songs to have come roaring out of my speakers during Scream Season.

1. "I Never Told You What I Do For A Living" - Yes, My Chemical Romance of course! In a prior article about playlists I did put down another from this band that absolutely changed me during my formative years. It'll be making a repeat on these playlists too . . . A great song with a little slash, scream, and growling riffs- perfect for new moon nights.

2. "The Man Who Made A Monster" - This is a smasher synthwave hit from Dance With the Dead who are absolute masters of combining amazing guitars with powerful synths and they just . . . they make my heart explode . . . and I love synthwave. A couple of other synthwave artists will be making appearances on these playlists as well.

3. "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)" - I know what you're thinking, but it's not the original 80's track I'm talking about! This might be a bit of a hot take, but my favorite version of this song is actually the one with Emily Browning on the soundtrack of Sucker Punch. Say what you want about this movie (which I personally thought was criminally underrated), but there's something about how much of a fresh twist they gave this song with the extra instruments was amazing. Jeez, that orchestral accompaniment just blows me away.

4. "Voodoo" - The inclusion of DVBBS is probably going to not make any sense unless you're familiar with the movie Happy Death Day, in which you will probably immediately clock this as the song played during Tree's birthday party/her first death scene. Horrifically enough, I . . . I . . . I fist-bump to this song. I can't even help it I . . . God. So, yes, some songs on here will be just from (mostly) horror movie soundtracks because, of course.

5. "How Soon Is Now" - Now you, reader, can go two ways with this. There is an original track made in the 80's, about six and a half minutes long, by a very well known band called The Smiths. You might be more familiar with the crooning, haunting voice of the lead singer Morrissey. Yes, 'very regrettable, awful things have come out of his mouth and I don't want to support him any longer' Morrissey. The full song is so melancholic and beautiful, a classic rock anthem truly, but understandably you might want to pack it away. Which is fine! Because honestly, the version of the song you're probably more familiar with is the cover made by the band Love Split Love- the cover used in the early season of Charmed and in the popular move The Craft. Still, it's a must have on a spooky, dark playlist.

6. "Dragula" - There's just no way in hell I wouldn't add a Rob Zombie song on here, and one as popular as this. Hellbilly Deluxe is a crazy album, and it surely gained prominence for a new generation after Universal Studios made an entire scarezone around it in their popular Halloween event, Halloween Horror Nights. There's a few more Zombie song's I'll be recommending, but not all on here . . . it just wouldn't be fair. Honestly, I should have just put Hellbilly Deluxe as the one whole number six on this playlist.

7. "Fascination Street" - I don't care if this makes me sound uncouth, or a fake fan, or whatever, but this is the best song from The Cure. No I will not be taking any further questions or comments at this time.

8. "Forget To Remember" - Another soundtrack pick, this one from Saw 2 which happens to be my favorite out of the entire series. Mudvayne was, I'm pretty sure, the first rock band I'd ever heard, and the first band I'd heard that wasn't somebody from smooth jazz or reggae up to that point in my childhood. Well, I was hooked from then on. They may not be together anymore, and a reunion is highly unlikely, but they are still a great choice to listen to on any occasion!

9. "Master of Puppets" - An iconic, unforgettable song from Metallica, and a pure headbanger. Honestly the whole song is great but . . . I could just listen to the "Obey!" part on loop for an hour. But the whole song! Great stuff.

10. "Killer Klowns (from Outer Space) - DANANANANANANAnanana-nanaaananaaa! DANANANANANANANANANA!!

playlist
2

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.