Beat logo

The angels who helped me survive

Memoirs of Teen Anguish

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Never underestimate how difficult it is to be a teen.

For the first twelve years of life, regardless of what happens or changes in the world, a child can easily define their existence. I'm a child, or I'm a student, or I'm a dependent. Upon reaching the 13th birthday, the definition begins to get grey. They are "teenagers" at that age. Teen bodies are different than child bodies. They feel different feelings. They go through changes. The metamorphis is stressful enough, yet they still have 5 or 6 more years of formal schooling if that is the goal. They might decide to start their own family early. Sacrifice their diploma or graduation for the opportunity to be a mom or a dad or a husband or a wife. Life presents extremely difficult choices at an extremely difficult biological time. I remember it well.

I started my menstrual cycle when I was in 8th grade at the age of 14. I wasn't fearful of it as it had been explained to me. I was annoyed by it. I had to wear those bulky, uncomfortable pads in my underwear and sometimes there were embarrassing leaks in front of all the teachers and fellow students that I wanted to impress. My mother did not put me on the pill or have the condom talk with me. She knew that she had taught me the value of my education, and she trusted in my shyness and fear of strangers so she wasn't worried about an accidental teen pregnancy. However, the pressures of teen life were extremely difficult.

My body was growing in ways I wasn't really ready for. Boobs? What? Bra? Huh? Now I have to wear a bra and a diaper? God help me. Then I have to wear all this uncomfortable stuff and try to act like I'm graceful and elegant while I carry tons of books from class to class? You've got to be kidding?

Thank God for friends and the angels of music to help ease the pressure. While some bullies want to put on the peer pressure, there are still ways to find the friends who won't hurt and will help. My friends Jenny and Nozzy were like that when I was in 8th grade. Jenny taught me all about light alternative rock music. The British invasion. My mom had already taught me about Elvis and The Beatles, but Jenny introduced me to Duran Duran, A-ha, The Police, The Cars, and Depeche Mode. Nozzy was into harder rock. She taught me about Van Halen, Bon Jovi, Scorpions, and Ratt. With those introductions I was about to learn a great deal of music for the duration of my teen school life.

High school was tough. Tough teens to deal with and tough classes. Lots of pressure from peers, from teachers, and from parents. How's a teen supposed to unwind and relax and not break down on a daily basis? Music was my salvation.

During difficult times, there were songs that were good to hear. I will share my playlist of teen angst and relaxation music with you.

Ratt: Round and Round. "What goes around comes around." I loved that song. When bullies would pick on me or threaten me, it was RATT who helped me calm down about it.

Scorpions: Still Loving You. When a teen doesn't know who to trust or if anyone loves them at all, this song is very reassuring.

Bon Jovi: She's a Little Runaway. Not sure if you want to have sex or finish your education? Maybe you should listen to Jon Bon Jovi's lyrics.

Van Halen: Hot for Teacher. Why were so many students obsessed with their teachers? Van Halen's song explains the feeling.

Duran Duran: New Moon on Monday. When everything just seems terrible and you're dreading going back to school after the weekend, try Duran Duran's song on and see if that helps.

A-ha: Take on Me. Lonely? Shy? Not sure how to meet someone or what to say? Play this song for them and see what happens.

The Police: Don't Stand So Close to Me. It was reported that Sting was an English teacher before he got into music. So if you want to know why your teachers are so mean sometimes, listen to the Police and you'll understand.

The Cars: You Might Think I'm.... If you get an admirer who is very persistant, that doesn't mean they're a stalker. Listen to the Car's song and you'll see that the admirer is just trying to be romantic.

Depeche Mode: Master and Servant. It's a lot like life. Deep thoughts and shallow thoughts happen in the teen ocean. Depeche Mode already knows.

I have tons of other songs for other emotional mood swings or trying times. My mom liked the music from the 50s and 60s. We both enjoyed the music from the 70s. The music I presented to you in this playlist is known as the 80s decade of music. If you like big hair and Punky Brewster fashion, then you'll understand the 80s mentality. It was like the 50s, but with more money.

80s music
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Skyautumn519 months ago

    what music do you like now?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.