Beat logo

Forty Years of Concert Attendance

The Privilege and Honor

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Thanks to all the wonderful musicians

The first concert I ever saw (live in person) was of the band called The Four Seasons with front singer Frankie Valli in 1976. I was 5 years old and I was with my mom and dad sitting on the grassy field listening to his wonderful voice. It was splendid. I hoped I would get to see and hear many more concerts in my life, and I did.

The second concert I attended was at the Florida State Fairgrounds arena. I was about 13, so probably around 1984 I think. I saw Rick Springfield in concert. The hall was packed. I was dressed like a goofy dork in a white and purple striped suit dress. His tour had a weird name, something about Taoism. He sang "Jessy's Girl" and "Don't talk to Strangers" and he was sensational.

The next concert I got to see was Power Station. I was a huge Duran Duran fan, but I never got the chance to see D2. So when Power Station came (with D2's John and Andy Taylor) I jumped on that opportunity. Robert Palmer was the vocalist and he did great up on that stage. The drummer was banging. It was fantastic. Loud and crowded, but just fantastic. I got pretty close to the stage and got a good look at JT's face. He was just as handsome as he looked in the photographs.

The next concert was at a small club in the Fort Lauderdale area. I went with two gal pals and we saw Crowded House. They were a lesser known band, but they were awesome. Very talented group and many were there enjoying their music. Of course they sang, "Don't Dream It's Over."

Then my friend Kathy and I went to a waterpark to go slippin and slidin and to our surprise there was a free concert! The Thunderbirds! They rocked it. They were so groovy and nostalgic.

The next concert I got to see was "The Damned" at Janis Landing. I went with my friend Missy who was into punk and goth bands. They were wild. Dark and loud and drew a very interesting and peculiar crowd. It was memorable.

The next concert was at the same place, Janis Landing. I think I was about 16 or 17. I saw Midnight Oil. They jammed it that night. Super really. Then, quite unexpectedly I was sitting right next to the lead singer. He actually asked me for a cigarette. I knew it was him, but I acted like it was no big deal and I gave him a cigarette. He was super tall.

I also got to see Echo and the Bunnymen in concert at The Tampa Theater. At that same theater, I got to see Love and Rockets. Both shows were absolutely amazing.

I saw a bunch of bands play in Ybor City when Ybor City was really growing and coming alive. All kinds of shows were happening at Masquerade and The Ritz. I saw Front Line Assembly and that was pretty cool. My big accomplishment as the goth chic who recently graduated high school was attending the concert of Christian Death. Then being invited to sit with Rozz Williams and his woman. They were so much cooler than I even imagined. I knew they were heroin junkies, but I still loved them. I don't know why they gave a minute's thought to me. Maybe they knew that I loved them. It was a great night. No, I didn't shoot up with them. I just hung out and worshipped them. They didn't care that I wasn't a junkie, just like I didn't care if they were. We were truly cool with each other. I still think their music is brilliant.

Right before I got pregnant I got to go to a concert with my boyfriend. We went to see Peter Murphy and The Church. Peter Murphy kicked ass as he danced around singing "Slice of Life" and other songs that I loved. The Church was alright. Nothing to write a review about.

My cousin Frankie and I saw Nine Inch Nails in Ybor City right before their song "Head Like a Hole" hit the charts. We stood right near the stage and had to dodge all the crazy slam-dancers who wanted to mosh in the pit.

After that, I got to see The Rolling Stones with my cousin Lisa at the Raymond James Stadium. At that point, that was the best concert I had ever been too. I've never seen any vocalist command the stage as majestically as Mic Jagger.

I brought Alisa with me to see Sade in concert for the first time at TBPAC. Sade was the most sensual concert I've ever witnessed. We were seduced and mesmerized by her beauty and grace.

Then Alisa and I went to see Guns n Roses and Metallica at a big stadium concert in Orlando. We were baked and the music was awesome. If only Axel didn't have to start his band's show with a long rant about how he hated Kurt Cobain. Not long after, Cobain died and it was so pathetic to have all that in my memory. Metallica was freakin incredible. I knew I loved their music, but once you see them up on the stage, they are forever in your soul.

After I became a single mom, a really good friend of mine won two tickets to the Tampa stadium concert of U2 and he invited me to go with him. That was the best concert of my life. I should be a bit upset with my friend for bringing me to that concert. No concert after it has ever been that good. I'll probably write an article or story focused just on that one concert.

I got to see Fiona Apple in concert and she was very good on the piano.

I got to see Joey Satriani in concert and he was hilariously talented on guitar.

I took my friend Marie to see Matchbox Twenty in concert. That was a good show. I will always be a fan.

After the 90s I didn't get to go to many concerts anymore. I guess I just couldn't afford it and wasn't getting invited. It wasn't until 2016 that I got to attend another concert. I bought tickets so that my stepdaughter Sammie and I could go see Keith Urban at the Fairgrounds stage in Tampa. It was very crowded. He sang lots of songs that I love and he put on an excellent show, but I felt bad about the concert. I felt like Keith was working too hard. At the show I felt like when I rode on a dolphin. I got all excited about going to a big concert, and then I just felt guilty for putting that man through all that. It was bittersweet. I'll always love his music, but I don't need to go see him sweating bullets on the stage.

It's 2021, and I haven't been to a concert in the last five years. I really have no desire to go. I don't like crowds. I don't like paying that much money. I don't like seeing my favorite musicians kill themselves just to please the fans.

It's not fun anymore.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.