Beat logo

Sugababes Albums Ranked

From worst to best

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I was thinking of doing one for some other bands I like such as Nightwish or Depeche, but all of they're such class acts that it's hard to really rank those albums from worst to best. I've done for Christina Aguilera and Destiny's Child. Whilst in some bands I have solid favourites, it's hard to pinpoint where the others would lie. Sugababes on the other hand, I find is very easy to rank. They've been one of my favourite bands for nearly twenty years and they're one of the few bands I can remember their discography almost inside out.

Most articles on the Sugababes lately always seem to be the same insisting on going through the entire history of the line-up changes to plump it out a bit.

I can sum it up in one paragraph: Heidi replaced Siobhan. Amelle replaced Mutya. Jade replaced Keisha. Then they flopped and the originals got back together: hooray!

The line-ups and drama did put a lot of fans off, but in the end it was only a matter of time before it started to effect the quality of the music. I always liked the Sugababes more than any other band because they were all really good singers and also good songwriters as well. And because there's only three of them at a time it meant that they all stood out in their own way and were able to represent different ethnicities which is cool.

Sugababes released seven studio albums and whilst the most recent line-up fizzled out in 2011, the originals reclaimed the name and have started making new material again. Now I would have also liked to have included albums from the original line up when they were performing as Mutya Keisha Siobhan but...there was no official album. I'm giving a special shoutout to the leaks and what's also been baptized as the sacred three era because those songs were wicked.

Sweet 7 was a mind-blowing album for all the wrong reasons. Back when it was first released almost ten years ago I used to love the Sugababes a lot more than I do now. Anything to do with the Sugababes would peak my interest. Although I was devastated by Keisha's forced exit, I gave the fourth line-up a chance. Although this is the worst album in Sugababes discography, I do have a special place in my heart for this record.

I thought the single choices for this song were poor. I can't stand "Get Sexy" and "Wear My Kiss" anymore as it really grates my ears. On the other hand, I really like "Thank You For The Heartbreak", "Crash and Burn" and "Little Miss Perfect".

Sweet 7 left most of the songwriting to big name producers and songwriters like Stargate, Redone, Bruno Mars and Claude Kelly. Now with the damage America indirectly did to the Sugababes reputation, why would you want them touching our NHS? Our Prime Minister should listen to this album and think about the NHS whilst he listens to it.

Still to this day there are fans that are waiting for the entire album to be leaked in Keisha's vocals. The only tracks that they're waiting to hear with Keisha's voice now are "She's A Mess", "Give It To Me Now", "Sweet & Amazing" and "Little Miss Perfect". I don't think she recorded "Crash and Burn".

This album would work for artists like Rihanna and Ke$ha, but I think not as a Sugababes album.

It took me a while to get over Mutya's departure but I warmed up to Change. A lot of the songs on the album are quite cute. My favourite song from the album is Change. I think it's a lovely ballad that's really underrated and overshadowed by their biggest hit, "About You Now". Change is a solid pop album and fits in really nice with the rest of the collection, unlike Sweet 7 which stands out like a soar thumb.

This may surprise others but I like Catfights & Spotlights more than Change. I like the tone of the album even though I'm not too fond of the single choices. I can see why "Girls" was a hit. One of my favourite songs from the album and one of my favourite songs from the band is "Every Heart Broken" which tells a story about a female serial killer and the tragic fate of her lovers. I like the song because it tells a twisted story that we don't see very often.

Taller In More Ways is a wonderful record. It's got some cool tracks on it. I didn't think much to the Obsession cover now, but I really like the ballads "Follow Me Home" and "2 Hearts". I think the production on this album is really on par with some of the best stuff. I kinda feel sad at the same time when I listen to this album cause it's the last one Mutya was in and I think the dynamic between Mutya and Keisha is amazing because they sing so well together and you can tell that they're the best of friends. They're like Beyonce and Kelly from Destiny's Child being the best of friends and are like practically family so when they sing together it's amazing. Mutya and Keisha have the same relationship.

Three is a lot more edgier. I remember singing "Hole in the Head" with my friends on the school bus. I remember belting out "Too Lost in You" in the kareoke bars and at the MKS concert in Birmingham a few years ago. I got a lot of good memories linked to this track and I also liked how each of the girls got a solo lead. "Whatever Makes You Happy" is very upbeat and positive. I love the rocky "We Can Have It All" because it gives me a Nirvana vibe for some reason.

Angels With Dirty Faces is a great follow up to One Touch and it also features my favourite song from the Sugababes, "Stronger". The strong symbolism and relatable lyrics made me want to play this album again and again. "Freak Like Me" is a jam and love how they remixed two great tracks together. I get very nostalgic listening to this album.

I was stuck between Angels with Dirty Faces and One Touch for the top, but in the end I think One Touch tops. I bought the Japanese edition and the vinyl edition for a lot of money, but I didn't care because it was one of my favouirte albums and the record means a lot to me. I think the single choices for this album were perfect. "Overload", "Run For Cover", "New Year" and "Soul Sound" are my favourite tracks on this album. Along side the others, they really helped me get over some bad stuff and helped me through my youth and teenage years. The harmonies were on point and they were very young here and now they've matured they sound even better together. Listening to One Touch makes me excited for what sort of music Mutya, Keisha and Siobhan will release next.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.