Beat logo

Destiny's Child Albums Ranked

Studio albums

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

There's always a time when rumours of old girlbands decide to put their differences aside and reunite. The original Sugababes came back with Flowers, Pussy Cat Dolls performed on the X Factor not so long ago. And there's rumours that Destiny's Child will be getting back together. Last month Beyonce's dad, Matthew Knowles, promised fans that 2020 will be the year they will reunite. Just as I was writing the first draft of this article, a new album was released.

Well, not new, but in fact it's an old unreleased album from when Destiny's Child was still working under the name Girls Tyme. I don't even know if I should include it in the official ranking or not. I need to give it some more listens before I put it on the list, so for the time being this list won't include the Girls Tyme album as it's not a release under the official Destiny's Child name. Through it is quite a cool 90's album from what I've heard so far.

Matthew Knowles must have really believed in the record to have bought the rights and released it himself. I just don't get why there's a cover of DC3 when the line-up was different. I don't think LeToya was part of Girls Tyme, but I can hear LaTavia's voice for sure. I hope they get the proper credit for this release, but it's very unlikely.

Destiny's Child's self-titled debut comes first. I think it's a good R&B album and it's hard to believe that they were only around fifteen when this first came out. It's got cool songs like "No no no no no" and "With Me." Some of the album tracks don't stand out very much for me, but I really like the ballad "Sail On." It may not be the best that the group have to offer, but the vocals are still on point and it opened the pathway to many other good albums.

I almost forgot that Destiny's Child had a Christimas album. 8 Days of Christmas is quite late into their discography. What makes this album different to other Christmas albums I've heard is that it has three original songs and the covers on the track are very up-beat. I really like their version of "Ruldolph The Red Nose Reindeer" because I think it's really cute.

Destiny's Fulfilled was their most recent album. It's hard to believe it's been over ten years since this album was released. I really like it because it's sassy and full of sweet female attitude on tracks like "Soldier" and "Lose My Breath." It sounds very refreshed as well as the girls had taken a break to do solo projects and got back together in the right spirits. Their sisterhood is very strong on this record and you can tell that they're very close to each other on this record because their harmonies are really good on this album.

Survivor is still a very important record which in two years time will be celebrating its 20th anniversary. "Independent Woman," "Survivor," and "Emotions" were massive back in the day and were considered empowering themes back them, some still do. This album was featured in the book 1001 Albums You Have to Listen to Before You Die which is a really big.

I think this album really helped set up the red carpet for Beyonce's solo career because one song from this album ends up being the title track for her first solo album.

This was an awesome album, but I think there's one album from Destiny's Child that really makes the top for me.

The Writing's On The Wall is one of my favourite albums. I remember when I was writing for one site when I was back in college my review for this album was my most popular review and it had ten times as much views as my other reviews did. I really think that this album is creative and shows a lot of the girls' personality into this record, especially Beyonce. They show strong female empowerment with the tracks and I really like how each track is connected with commandments which I think is a nice touch and what makes it more than just a collection of tracks but also tells a story as well.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.