Beat logo

Speaking to My Soul

Kristina Negron

By Kristina NegronPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

How can someone write an article plucking out just ONE playlist of music. For me, there are many things to consider. Am I trying to calm down my heart from aching? Or quit my mind from it's constant racing? Meditating can be done in many different ways. Soothing my soul takes a lot of practice, add a subscription to Apple Music and we can really go anywhere. There is one song that sums it up for me and it's almost laughable but if music speaks to your soul like it does me, this track makes perfect sense.

Music by JoJo

She speaks of music as though it is her best friend. The thing that kept her alive all the years that she was growing up. I don't know how many times music has saved me. It's not so much a genre or a beat but lyrics are what speak to me. It makes sense because I am a poet. So I want to understand the artists emotion and relate to it somehow.

Pachuca Sunrise by Minus the Bear

That's my go to when life just doesn't make sense and I can't quite figure out if I am happy or sad. It's my reflective contemplation song. It can be heartbreak but metaphorically this song speaks of a heavy feeling you can't quite grasp. Or at least that is my take on the lyrics 'Don't cry, I'll bring this home to you. If I can make this night light enough to move.' Sometimes the feeling is too heavy to move and you need music to carry it away.

Nowhere and Everywhere by Michelle Lewis

I learned about this song from the movie Practical Magic with Sandra Bullock. I didn't appreciate it until I was in my mid twenties. In the lyrics she states 'Getting out of a taxi the other day. My heart fell out of my backpack and into a puddle. And so my chest was empty but it felt okay. I just fished out the pieces and walked away.' What better way to describe getting over a heartbreak. I've always been a drama queen so naturally I love it.

When I really am in a funk and I am sad about something that must come to an end in my life. I listen to

All Things Go by Nicki Minaj

She doesn't get enough credit for her witty lyrics. I have a very hard time letting go of people, places or things. So whenever there is something that is ending, I choose this song. She boldly states 'I feel one minute, yeah we got it then it's gone . While we keep waiting for a moment to live for.' If that doesn't speak about mindfulness and living in the present moment I don't know what does.

Another mainstream song that speaks about mindfulness is

Gravity by John Mayer

Now stay with me because a lot of people dislike John Mayer. And trust me, I get it. But I'm a bleeding heart type of personality so what can I say. He says 'Gravity is working against me, and gravity wants to bring me down,' and then also 'it's wanting more that's gonna send me to my knees.' C'mon tell me you cannot relate to having to feel gratitude and be mindful for the things you do have in life rather than thinking about the things you don't. We can all use a little John Mayer in our lives. And speaking on that

Daughters by John Mayer

I have a lot of issues with my parents so when they have me feeling down I turn to this song. It also reminds me to work on being a better mother because my influence on my kids reaches farther than I can imagine.

When I need a boost of confidence I listen to

Vivir Mi Vida(Live my life) by Marc Anthony

He says sometimes the rain comes to clean wounds. That is how I feel about music. I use it to cleanse myself of any hurts or maladies. That is how I 'Zen.' It's an upbeat song so it isn't really about being sad. The song is in Spanish and I am bilingual. I grew up listening to Marc Anthony with my parents and grandparents. This track is about empowering yourself to feel better and live your life to the fullest because you can choose how you perceive what is happening.

I also listen to meditation music on YouTube and solfeggio frequencies, binaural beats. But nothing speaks to me the way music with lyrics does. This list is very small but I could write forever about the many songs that have gotten me through life. It just depends on where I am and where I am trying to go.

playlist

About the Creator

Kristina Negron

I have been writing since I was a teenager but I have always been too shy to share my work. This year I resolved to discover myself and be courageous in expressing my creativity. I live in upstate NY and write mostly poetry as a hobby.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kristina NegronWritten by Kristina Negron

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.