Beat logo

Songs Every Teenager Had On Their iPod

No matter what kind of teenager you were, you had these on your playlist.

By Burnt BaguettesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Songs Every Teenager Had On Their iPod

No matter what kind of teenager you were, you had these on your playlist.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwjA2a-S-rLwAhUtIjQIHTseAHkQFjAHegQIBBAD&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fplaylist%3Flist%3DPLswygcS079Go66mHrA9Nf-xeHU8IFsxgl&usg=AOvVaw1AtCT0z_T22QtUh6RLOGhP (This isn’t my playlist, but I love listening to it).

Top three songs every angsty teen had on their playlist on their iPod. Mr. Brightside by The Killers, Teenagers by My Chemical Romance and Stressed Out by Twenty One Pilots. Every teenager had these on their playlist and they probably still do. These songs are the embodiment of teenagehood. Every teen had their angsty emo phase and these were the songs that blasted on their iPod touches. The songs they would scream at school, even if people were staring at them. The music you would blast in the shower. These songs are the definition of being a teenager.

Mr. Brightside by The Killers. This song was made in 2004. So that is almost seventeen years ago now (I think). And it’s still a really good song today. This was important to my teenage years because it just kind of summed up life. The song was written about a girl who had cheated on Brandon Flowers. It’s about heartbreak and sadness. You think you have found the one for you and then they just go and cheat on you. That’s heart-wrenching. We have probably all gone through it. I have. And I was sad for a bit, but then you find out that that person isn’t for you and you move on. My favorite part of the song is “Coming out of my cage and I’ve been doing just fine.” That’s the first and second line and something about it just sticks out to me and has stuck out to me ever since I first listened to the song. It’s really important to me because I have been heartbroken and this song just sums up how I was feeling at the time. This song is great and every teenager should listen to it sometime in their life.

The second song is Teenagers by My Chemical Romance. This is more of a song for emo teens, but this can count as an angsty song for teens to listen to. This song came out in 2006. So that would be at least fifteen or fourteen years. So it’s been a pretty long time since the song came out. Every emo teen has listened to this song. And the song is called teenagers which is even more ironic. I am not even sure what the song is about, well I think teenagers because that’s the title and it seems to be about stereotypes as well. In some way. The first two lines say “They're gonna clean up your looks with all the lies in the book.” That’s true about groups at school and just school in general and it’s scary home relatable and true this song is. This song is important to me because it sums up high school and being a teenager in one song.

The third and final song is Stressed Out by Twenty One Pilots. I remember listening to this when it first came out and it was so much fun to listen to and the lyrics were great. This song was made in 2015. This song is about six years old. So not that old, but it’s still a song for angsty teens. This song is reality. At the time I didn’t realize it but now that I am older I realize how this song is reality. The lyrics, “But now we’re stressed out.” Childhood was so good and then it just slowly gets worse with more and more things to do. And now we are all stressed out with COVID and school and work. And that’s a lot to deal with. This song was important to me because it aged well and sums up how I feel all the time.

I hope these songs never go out of style and every single angsty teen to walk this earth listens to at least one of these. Well, now I am gonna go listen to all of these songs!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Burnt Baguettes

I like to write sad, dystopian lesbian love stories. That is all you really need in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.