Beat logo

Screw Love Spotify Playlist

Happy Valentine's Day!

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • 11 min read
1
Screw Love Spotify Playlist
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

I have a warped perception of love. I know that. I feel very differently about myself because of that.

On Valentine's Day, just about two years ago now, I gave myself the greatest gift of all... my own house for me and my two kids. I was expecting my second child when I moved into my current place. After all the pain I had gone through, I wanted a new place to love. I moved into my new three-bedroom home back in February 2020 before the pandemic began. I had so many good intentions with this new home. It was really close to family members and playgrounds. I had decided that it was a new place for happy memories. That's what I told myself with this gift for us. Who was I kidding back then. After years of asking someone to love me on my birthday and those important days like Christmas and well I don't know Valentine's Day, I decided to give up on love and just love myself in any way shape or form possible.

So my gift to my followers on Vocal, is this Valentine's Day playlist that I feel soft about. Here is my list of songs for you guys. :)

Ready To Let Go by Cage the Elephant

On both sides the vow was broken . Oh my my, I'm the one trying to hide this damage done . One day, all our secrets will be spoken . As we slow dance, I became your statue, frozen 'times I wonder, are we just a puff of smoke? Yeah. Underneath this bed of ashes still withholding everything like we were never close.

I loved the father of my children so hard for so long. We really didn't appreciate the little things in each other until it was too late. I remember our revolving fights, the endless shaming that went on back and forth between us. I used to drive myself to work listening to this song in his car. I have spent time wishing I could go back in time to that moment in life and change things.

Never Love Again by Eminem

But no one knows what I'm goin' through, so I'd used you . To be truthful, I wouldn't know what to do if I lose you.

I remember when this album first came out a few years ago. I had just separated again from the father of my children yet again. We both just sucked together. We just didn't communicate and that truly is what drove us apart in the long run. This song will always make me think of that man. Because I never really knew what love was before I had met him. Even if we were bad for each other in every way shape and form, sometimes I feel like I'll truly never love again.

Grow a Pear by Ke$ha

But you cry about this , and whine about that . When you grow a pair , you can call me back.

Because not everything is meant to be sad, when I feel down, I like to play this old favourite of mine. Sometimes you just don't have it. I don't know how to caption this song in any other way but just don't call me back. It really is a vibe so if you're feeling down on Valentine's Day this year, just give it a listen.

No Scrubs by TLC

No, I don't want no scrub . A scrub is a guy that can't get no love from me . Hangin' out the passenger side of his best friend's ride , trying to holla at me

Oh my, while I was pregnant with my daughter I loved the ever-living shit out of this song. I unboxed my new house listening to every word to this song, basically making myself fall back in love with me and embracing being a single mom. It still puts me in a good mood.

RIP by Olivia O'Brien and G-Eazy and Drew Love

Some lies are made to be told . Promises are made to be broke . Baby, our story ain't made to be told.

This song always hurts my heart. It beyond sucks watching someone you had so much love for become unrecognizable. That fact alone just hurts. I felt that way watching the man I had grown to love become someone else entirely. It's not an entirely easy process to explain, I'm glad that they are much happier now. This song is a beautiful expression of how I feel sometimes. I love how music can kind of perfectly explain things in a small way.

Mightnight Sky by Miley Cyrus

I was born to run, I don't belong to anyone, oh no . I don't need to be loved by you.

I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Miley Cyrus. She went there with abusive relationships, she really did. Not that I really follow celebrity gossip, but I fully embrace that woman discovering herself in the years that followed her Disney career. Props to Miley for making me feel brave enough to be single, especially after my bad luck with love.

Bitter by Fletcher

I left a taste in your mouth, can she taste me now? That you threw out all our furniture and pictures . I bet you sugarcoated truth, I bet you're real sweet with her, yeah

I used to relate this song to the man that broke my heart, the father of my children. But, then there was my relationship after him where I was love bombed and left feeling empty and guilty after being cheated on. Every time he bought me a gift it was because of his own guilty consciousness. I let myself live with that for too long. I knew that back then and I used to be able to sympathize for why he would cheat that way. Nah. I'm worth more than lies and empty promises than men who are looking for a replacement for their mommies. However, the damage is done. Now I'm more than picky about who I date. I just don't. Maybe I'm just bitter.

it's not u it's me by Bea Miller and 6LACK

And you, were trying so hard with your pictures to look richer . That's not what I want to do... Your distractions were exactly what I needed , now I see the truth. It's not you, it's me (It's me) I'm the only one I need.

This song. I fell in love with it while I was recently single. It is still such a whole vibe. Anytime I feel down, I let myself drive with this song playing. I remember exactly how I felt when I discovered it and I needed it back then. Embrace being single because the only one who really is going to love you at the end of the day is yourself. Everybody deserves to be loved. But you deserve a healthy, stable form of love.

do you even miss me at all by gianni & kyle

Yeah, girl you say you love me . Then you go behind my back saying fuck me . Could've paid your ass a brawl, but you lucky . Used to say there was no one else above me . But I can't get a text back, though . Girl, I used to love you . Now all that shit you doin' making hard to trust you . Stab me in the back, know it cut deep . You saying fuck me, I'm saying fuck you . Ooh.

I love this song. Makes me think of my ex. Cheers me the ever-living fuck up. Used to mean something because it used to annoy people when I would play it.

Bad Husband by Eminem and X Ambassadors

We never saw it from each other's sides . Or eye to eye . Just eye for eye, lie for lie, fight or flight . So much baggage, need a luggage rack . But we carry on with our public spats and our feuds . Oh, back in the news.

I loved this song the moment it first came out. It was a great song on a fairly terrible album of Eminem's, but it actually means a lot more to me than I can give myself credit for. Music can influence you in ways, and this song just gets to my heart every single damn time.

Glad He's Gone by Tove Lo

Coming to me for real advice when he just playing . I can tell she loves him way too deep . He loves being fucking hard to please . Cover the basics, it's pretty easy . He's a bitch with some expectations.

Oh, this song makes me laugh. Some people just get to me in small ways, but uh I can say with confidence that I will never listen to any of the women that my children's father chooses to date. I've got my own opinions. We both do. There is a reason we aren't together and I'm thankful for the experience that man gave me when it comes to what I want out of a relationship. That's valuable. Disgaree? We can have coffee.

yes girl by Bea Miller

You think that I don't know you, I know you, I know . Trying to tell you now, I've been doing what you want . But I won't be your yes girl, no, not anymore . Just let me go, just let me go . Won't be your yes girl, no, not anymore.

I love this song. It used to make me bawl my eyes out when it would come up in my playlists. Now it doesn't hurt like it used to.

Strangers by Halsey and Lauren Jauregui

She doesn't kiss me on the mouth any more . 'Cause it's more intimate, than she thinks we should get . She doesn't look me in the eyes any more . Too scared of what she'll see, somebody holdin' me.

I used to drive to work every day listening to this song without really comprehending the meaning behind it. It really deserves to be on my "Screw Love" Spotify playlist. Everybody has the desire to be loved. You're allowed to crave finding that inside someone, even if your love turned out to be wrong in the end.

Psychopath by Charolette Lawerence

Cause I don't need your love, I don't need your cash . I don't want your stupid shit, you can have it back . You keep saying that I'm crazy not to take you back . But if that makes me crazy, you're a psychopath.

This song is everything when you are going through a really bad break-up. I may have used it for TikTok, not going to lie it always makes me feel better on a bad day. I know what I deserve and I will not settle for anything less. Anything a man can buy me, I can buy myself. I don't need someone to shower me with gifts, give me your time. That's more valuable.

Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri

I hear you're asking all around . If I am anywhere to be found . But I have grown too strong . To ever fall back in your arms.

I have always been fond of this song and the artist Christina Perri. She is by far one of the best performers that I have ever seen live. This song just hurts. When you're really sad, and need that good cry after what you have been through, put this song on. It helped me through some bad times, and you're allowed to be hurt after dating someone that was or still is really bad for you, and I'm not going to lie, it is okay to talk about your perspective and how you feel. That in itself is self-care. But seriously, if you need that good cry, listen to this song.

I Didn't Realize How Empty My Bed Was Until You Left by Roderick Porter

Ayy, yeah, it's gettin' late you should stay the night . But, when I catch a flight, I don't wanna fight . Said I like it when we talk, make the time stop.

This song hurt so much more. It was beautiful like the person who showed it to me. I didn't realize that I was supposed to be somebody else in the relationship until it was too late. That is a really hard thing for me to come back from and I hope that the people involved know that there really is no harm done. I wasn't who you needed, but I am what somebody else needs. I can't wait to find that in someone someday.

______________________________________________

I suppose closure is a pretty damn good gift too. Maybe I have been single for too long but I'm prouder of myself for that than I can even take credit for. I deserve to find some happiness inside myself again after all the pain that I have let myself go through. And for the most part, I also went through a lot of the bad alone.

Well guys, this happens to sum up my dumb "Screw Love" Spotify Playlist. In honour of Valentine's Day, spread some love to yourself. I will forever cherish getting myself my own house almost two years ago. It was the greatest gift that I could have ever given myself and I really mean that. The songs that I have included on this list may not mean much to some people, but it does mean a lot to me.

Cheers to going through a lot of bullshit that I didn't need.

Cheers to being single on Valentine's Day yet again. I'm embracing it this year guys, not avoiding it.

Cheers to finding some happiness within myself.

Chloe Rose Violet

With love to my exes xoxoxoxo

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/62ZQ1spNYQYxvaMz8SWBhS?si=a358cf582c914bae

playlist
1

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.