Beat logo

Songs for my Ex

A small playlist of songs composed for my ex.

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • Updated 2 years ago • 5 min read
2
Songs for my Ex
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

It's not easy being in love with someone that you know is not good for you. You don't know why they hurt you the way they did, or why they get off on the pain. Abuse is silent yet loud at the same time.

A few years back, I gave myself the best Valentine's Day gift that I had ever received. I got my own place on February 14th, 2020. I still am very proud of the fact that I live by myself. In honor of the man that should have married me, I wrote up a little playlist in the name of love. He drove me nuts. We both hated each other in the end. With a truly rocky relationship, on both ends, it felt good saying goodbye to a lot of old feelings with another one of my playlist posts. I hope you enjoy the music and the lyrics like I do.

Rehab by Machine Gun Kelly

What do you see, when you look at me? Don't cover my scars, let them bleed. Tell me, is this how it's supposed to be? Well then, I'm so, I'm so happy.

I have always loved Machine Gun Kelly. I find his rap music to be beyond relatable. This melancholy song makes me think of my ex. Sometimes I miss him, but we were truly awful together- for a reason. This whole song screams out at me when I think about our past relationship. I enjoy this melancholy song.

Happier Than Ever by Billie Elish

And I don't talk shit about you on the internet. Never told anyone anything bad. 'Cause that shit's embarrassing, you were my everything. And all that you did was make me fuckin' sad.

Sometimes a song just expresses it all. This one brings me back home to my shitty ex-boyfriends. I firmly believe if you wanted people to write warmly about you, then you should have behaved better. This song does that saying a lot of justice.

Enchanted by Taylor Swift

That this night is flawless, don't you let it go. I'm wonderstruck, dancing around all alone. I'll spend forever wondering if you knew. I was enchanted to meet you.

Taylor Swift is classic. I have always loved her music, ever since Our SOng came out back when I was like six years old. I have been a fan of her songwriting. This song reminds me of Grade 9. But I do have another reason for adding it to this playlist. Sometimes you just meet certain people and some parts of them just stick with you, forever. I met the love of my life in high school. And sometimes I wonder if he knew it back then too.

When It's All Gone by Terror Reid

One, two, three, four to the five, Suicide ain't work, I'm still alive

I have a reason for this song belonging to this list. The reasons hurt too much to share in complete detail. Just listen to it. Enjoy the happy vibe and think of my charming ex-boyfriend who saved this song to my phone and inspired this post.

She Cheated Again by Dax

Remember all the shit that you was telling me? How you loved me and want nobody above me. Now it's funny all the shit that you promised is just a memory.

This song just hurts. After cheating and being cheated on, I can officially say that it is one of the worst things you can do to someone's self-esteem. Some people are forgiving, others are not. It takes work to move past infidelity in a relationship, and not everyone is ready to forgive. Cheating really is a relationship killer. You cannot break a plate and pretend it is unbroken.

Take on the World by You Me At Six

Nobody knows you the way that I know you. Look in my eyes I will never desert you. And just say the word. We'll take on the world.

You Me At Six is one of my favourite bands. I have never fallen head over heels with a song before. I remember when this one first came out. It was gorgeous back then, and it still is now. It reminds me of the time period I was living through with my ex-boyfriend at the time.

You're A Fucking Bitch Hope You Know That Shit by Atlus

You turn out the lights, kick off your shoes, lay in our bed. And you whisper sweet nothings in my ear. But I can't trust a word you said

Being cheated on sucks. This song is powerful. I like to think my ex and I are a lot happier without each other. This song brings me a lot more peace than I give myself credit for. The words speak for themselves.

@ my worst by blackbear

Maybe I'm the best mistake you ever made . It sounds so fuckin' beautiful when you say my name. I'm praying to a God, a God I don't believe. The more I hide my scars, the easier I bleed.

This song is just hauntingly beautiful. I truly believe that if you don't love someone at their worst, you don't even get to deserve them at their best.

do u even miss me at all? by gianni & kyle

Hope that you would be there when I fall. But do you even miss me at all?

I love this song. I used to annoy my ex by playing it all the time. It meant more back then than it does now, but it still rings true. I like how happy and upbeat it is. It makes me feel better.

Sick by Ryan Caraveo

I'm a jump ship now before I sink slow

This song also makes me happy. I discovered it in one of Shane Dawson's docu-series on YouTube and I utterly adored it. The words to the song are very important to me.

You Don't Do It For Me Anymore by Demi Lovato

I won't fall for your games . So don't hate me when I say , that you , don't do it for me anymore.

This song came out while I was expecting my first child. It is a beautiful, soulful ballad that just speaks for itself. I hope that you love it as much as I do. After seeing Demi Lovato perform live with my mother, I have loved every single thing that she has ever released. I love sharing my love for her with everybody.

Sunrise Trailer Park by Papa Roach Machine Gun Kelly

And now I'm running from the scene . 'Cause I was caught up in the crime . It's a loaded memory . Yeah, it kills me every time.

I hope you listen to this and remember what you did to us.

This is my Spotify playlist for my ex. I hope that you enjoyed it as much as I did while composing it.

Chloe Rose Violet

P.S. Don't forget to tip your writer. :)

P.S. Quick edit! I have added a new song to this playlist.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.