Beat logo

Rock, Roll, and Relax

A different kind of relaxing playlist

By Lizzy RosePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Rock, Roll, and Relax
Photo by C D-X on Unsplash

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7rErvFJIOpn3RbQhGwoWtU?si=ed74c7d0cfa34e9e

It’s become one of the most well-known cliches: “I’m different” or “I’m not like everyone else.” We tell everyone from a young age that “everybody is unique”. Well, if everyone is unique, then how can anyone claim “I’m different” and it hold any value?

Well, we all have different ways we’re “different”. And mine? I don’t listen to calming music, period. My music is heavy, aggressive-Rock and Metal. I get it from my dad, but it sort of goes beyond that. See, my dad is more “Iron Maiden” and “Slayer” while I’m a mix of him, “Sleeping with Sirens” and My Chemical Romance. Either way, the music we listen to to relax and unwind, is a little different than most.

None of the music on the playlist above is really anything calming. Some of them even have screaming and heavy vocals, but they all soothe in a unique way. There’s a sense of calm in listening to lyrics you can relate to, that speak to your soul, and when I’m stressed/anxious/upset, it helps to listen to something I understand and feel. So, here is 5 songs, featuring reviews from myself, from my own “Zen” playlist that I listen to when I feel like just winding down.

1) Put the Gun Down by Andy Black

Can anybody hear me?

Can anybody see me?

'Cause I think I lost my way

Put the gun down, just put the gun down

I know, I know, that's a bit of a dark start, but hear me out! This song was performed by Andy Black, the solo project moniker for the singer of Black Veil Brides, Andy Biersack. "Put the Gun Down" was a single from his debut album "The Shadow Side", and while it sounds quite compromising, it has been described by Biersack himself as "not a suicide song". Instead, while it sounds as if its specifically about suicide, it actually promotes pushing through obstacles, realizing you aren't alone in the world, and rising from the ground, and it is an absolutely beautiful song. It's very nice to just sit and listen to, like you're being serenaded with feelings that you may be able to understand.

2) Dear Agony by Breaking Benjamin (preferably the version with Lacey Sturm)

Dear Agony

Just let go of me

Suffer slowly

Is this the way it's gotta be?

Dear Agony

Unlike the first one, this song is intended to be a little more on the sad side. It describes the struggles of Breaking Benjamin singer Ben Burnley, who in the past dealt with alcoholism and as a result, developed Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome. The song emits a feeling of hopelessness, being lost and giving up and wanting it to just stop, but also sprinkles in bits of "I don't really want it to completely end, just pause". For example, "Is this the way its gotta be" gives off vibes of questioning if the way your life is has to be that way, and you have to settle with that, or if it can be changed. The end of the second verse, "I will fight for one last breath/I will fight until the end" absolutely screams not just giving in and letting it drag you down, and overall this song is heartbreakingly wonderful. Even if the words don't resonate with you, just sitting back and enjoying the breathtaking instrumentals will definitely douse you with a sense of serene.

3) You're Not Alone by Saosin

You're not alone

There is more to this, I know

You can make it out

You will live to tell

I know, about time I give you a happier one, right? The title of this song sort of gives away the message, knowing that you're not alone in your fight. Because of that, there's not much more I can speak to the message of this song other than it being magnificently uplifting. Other than that, the tone is very soothing and gentle, and it is an easy sense of calm.

4) Addict with a Pen by Twenty One Pilots

I try desperately to run through the sand

As I hold the water in the palm of my hand

'Cause it's all that I have and it's all that I need and

The waves of the water mean nothing to me

This song features the lyrical prowess of Twenty One Pilot's Tyler Joseph. It holds a lot of creative language. For example, the passage above literally describes running through the desert with a handful of sand, but there's more to it than that. Figuratively, the water has been compared to the last bits of emotion somebody feels, their final pieces of happiness. This individual is taking these last pieces and running through the sand-the obstacles in life that are holding them back- while those last pieces slip through the cracks, but still they carry on, because it's all they have left. It has been joked between Twenty One Pilots fans that if you can perfectly rap Twenty One Pilots lyrics, you must be going through some things. Whether that's true or not, if you're going through it or not, this song is an amazing listen.

5) Still Here by Digital Daggers

This one's for the ladies! By that, I mean, I finally dug one up that has a female lead singer. This band has had a complicated history, going through multiple break-ups and reformations, a couple of different band names including Memento and Nine Times Bodyweight, but that doesn't change how gorgeous this song is. Singer Andrea Wasse (who is also in the Canadian Band "the Weekend") has godly vocals, especially on the song above, a personal favorite of mine. This one definitely has more of a Zen vibe, and mournful about continually picturing life with someone you've lost in some way. It's wonderful to just plug your headphones into, sit down, and breathe.

There's a sort of idea that gets floated around that "Meditative" and relaxing music needs to be like, piano instrumental, or some other kind of generally soothing instrument. There is to be found a sense of calm in finding lyrics you can relate to. It brings light to a dark, swirling storm and has been shown to help people get through the toughest obstacles.

Happy listening, friends!

Hi there! Lizzy here, just popping in to say thank you very much for reading. If you would like to see me around in other places, or reach out to me, I encourage you to check out my Twitter @Lizzy_RoseEnt, which is essentially a Hub for everything I do on this here internet. If you liked reading this, you can click that little heart. While they are never a requirement, any tips will be more than appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read! <3

playlist
4

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.