Beat logo

Recap: A Marvelous Black Boy Art Show in Chicago

The traveling art exhibition and event series made its way to The Windy City to showcase imaginative and multidisciplined Black male artists

By Earica (EP) ParrishPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
1

“We need more light about each other. Light creates understanding, understanding creates love, love creates patience, and patience creates unity.”

— Malcolm X

The sunny days are here to stay here in Chicago, as the summer season is among us. As the sun's rays begin to shine upon us, people are beginning to bask in all of the amazing activities, festivals, and community events the city has to offer.

To kick off the summer season, for me, I had the pleasure of attending A Marvelous Black Boy Art Show at Venue West Chicago. Led by Joshua Love, the traveling art exhibition highlights Black, male-identifying artists across an array of creative disciplines from clothing designers, handmade jewelers, fragrance makers, and muralist to name a few.

The main stage at A Marvelous Black Boy Art Show at Venue West Chicago

At the art event, numerous talented individuals were featured, including muralist Dwight White, artist and comedian Casey the Icon, artist Leon Finney, apparel brand Made You Look, and so many other talented individuals. The Black Boy Art Show also reached a milestone with their Chicago event, setting a new record with over 900 attendees!

The atmosphere was filled with friendly, welcoming people and a vibrant energy. I have attended many art events worldwide, and this was one of the most superbly produced events I have ever been to. The host, Lawrence “Binkey” Tolefre, kept the crowd entertained and laughing throughout the day. Emerging artists in the area (and those who traveled to the city) showcased their musical talents and artwork, with giveaways and prizes for attendees. DJ Young Lord curated an excellent selection of music for guests to enjoy and dance along to.

I was so grateful to be in the presence of friends and some of my favorite local artists. The event was so rich in content and programming, I left in awe and in a heavy reflective state.

Artwork by Leon Finney

In attending A Marvelous Black Boy Art Show show, I was reminded of the importance of uplifting the Black men in my life and community. These men hold a very special place in my heart, as they have played an integral role in shaping me into the person I am today. From my beloved father (may he continue to rest in peace), to my dear brothers, cousins, nephews, friends, and mentors; all of them have really impacted my life in ways that are indescribable.

I am endlessly grateful for the constant inspiration they provide me. They motivate me to be better and to do better. We keep each other accountable, while also leaving each other a soft place to land when we fall.

Artwork by Simoo Visualz

As a community, Black people already have it rough. Our mere presence as a collective is seen as a threat, and as individuals, there are even more layers to our strife than what we may let off on the surface.

Despite the numerous challenges in the world and within our community, the Black men in my life have always sought to protect me. They've been gracious enough to share their love and vulnerability with me, even when they didn't have to. Even when society doesn't allow us to. My mentors, all of which are majority Black men, have mentioned my name in rooms that I may not have been present in and have opened doors for me that I never thought existed.

All of the culminating leadership traits and guidance showcased by the Black men in my life have been invaluable, and I am deeply appreciative of them. Being in a community with Black men is a true blessing that I will forever cherish with all my heart.

A Marvelous Black Boy Art Show may be coming to your city soon. You can follow them on Instagram, and check out their Summer and Fall tour dates here.

--

I am a creative multi-hyphenate with a strong passion for the arts. To check out more of my journey and the different art exhibits and events I go to in real-time, follow me on Instagram at @erparrish_

If you would like to read more of my poetry and prose, as well as see some of my visual photography all in one place follow me on Instagram at @wordsbyep_

pop culturefestivalsart
1

About the Creator

Earica (EP) Parrish

Maneuvering through life with purpose and integrity, hoping to leave a meaningful impact on others✨

IG: @erparrish_ ⚡ www.erparrish.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    This is cuttingly insightful. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.