Beat logo

Rate-O-Rama: New Dawn Fades

Songmania #15: Joy Division / Moby / Eden & Noelle

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 7 months ago β€’ 4 min read
Joy Division / Moby / Eden and Noelle

Welcome to Rate-O-Rama

If you wish to receive a notice when the next Rate-O-Rama post is published please mention that you would like a notification in the comments section.

Rate-O-Rama : Songmania is a reader participation game.

Every Saturday evening I will publish a Rate-O-Rama article which will feature three versions of a popular song.

The object is to listen to each of the music videos provided within the post.

After listening to each video you can rate each song in the comments section below.

(You must be a member to comment. If you are not a member you can join Vocal Media for FREE. You don’t ever have to pay for membership unless you choose to upgrade your membership)

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The rating method is easy. Simply give each song a rating of 1 to 100.

(The more you like the song the higher the rating).

If possible, please provide a brief comment explaination of the reasoning behind your ratings for each song.

After a week (Saturday evening) I will tally the ratings and in the next Rate-O-Rama post I will announce the average rating each song received from the previous post.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The Raffle!!!

I am taking the Rate-O-Rama series to the next level. At the end of each month I will do a raffle in which the winner will win a $5.00 tip.

To enter all you have to do is participate in playing the Rate-O-Rama game. Since R-O-R is updated every Sunday night in order to qualify you must play the game during it's initial seven day period with Sunday evening being the cutoff period.

For each game you play you will receive a ticket for the raffle. Therefore if you play all four games in the month you will have four chances to win.

The winner will not only win the $5 prize but I will feature your Vocal Profile on Vocal + Assist on both Facebook and Discord and you will be featured in the first R-O-R game of the month after your win.

The November 2023 Rate-O-Rama Raffle Winner:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Last week we featured the Country Music classic: "Crazy" as recorded by Patsy Cline (1961), Willie Nelson (1962), and Linda Ronstadt (1976).

The following are the average ratings for each song as resulted from the votes:

πŸ₯‡ Patsy Cline: 98.4

πŸ₯ˆ Linda Ronstadt: 93

πŸ₯‰ Willie Nelson: 90.5

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The Fifteenth Edition of Rate-O-Rama features three renditions of the Post Punk classic: "New Dawn Fades."

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Joy Division (1979)

"New Dawn Fades" was written by Joy Division, the song opens with a backwards and heavily modified sample from their song, "Insight". It's instantly recognizable when you listen to the opening of β€œInsight”.

The song is masterfully built around an ascending guitar riff coupled with a dark descending bass line. The guitar is brought to the forefront with two unique guitars playing, one distorted and one picking clean guitar chords. The song ends with a dynamic and passionate guitar solo. Ian Curtis wraps the song with his hauntingly moody dark baritone voice giving it a finish that digs into the soul.

Although the song was never released as a single it was one of Joy Division's most popular tracks. It closes Side One of the vinyl release of their debut album Unknown Pleasures and track five on the CD version. Unknown Pleasures is regarded as one of the greatest albums of all-time and has received many accolades. It's a shame Ian Curtis never got to experience the many accolades his music with Joy Division would eventually reap.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Moby (1994)

Moby's rendition of the song was originally used as a track on the CD single of β€œFeeling So Real” and as the B-Side on the cassette single of the same song.” The song was also used in the film Heat.

The surviving members of Joy Division known as New Order were impressed with Moby's rendition and invited him to perform the song live with them.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Eden and Noelle (2020)

Guitar and Cello duo, Eden and Noelle recorded β€œNew Dawn Fades” in tribute to the 40th anniversary of the release of Joy Division's album Unknown Pleasures.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

My Thoughts

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Joy Division: Two things drive my love for Joy Division: The strong bass lines which were brought to the front of the music by Peter Hook and Ian Curtis's dark, deep, moody, and raw voice. Ian had a depth in his voice that always draws me in. β€œNew Dawn Fades” builds from a dramatic somewhat pared down arrangement toward an understated yet passionate guitar solo at the end. My score is 100.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Moby: I am 75-25 in my love for Moby's music. I really enjoy his pop and rock music in which he does the lead vocals. I'm not much a fan of his ambient music or his songs that feature other lead vocalists. That eliminates about 75% of his music. His rendition of β€œNew Dawn Fades” falls into the β€œlove very much" category. The hard rock guitar solo toward the end is outstanding. Musically Moby's rendition rocks solid and is much more aggressive than Joy Division 's moody arrangement. I do tend to prefer Joy Division 's pared down rendition to Moby's hard hitting delivery. Although both songs are outstanding in their own right. Moby handles the lead vocals fine, though, I feel Ian Curtis sings it better. I give Moby 98 for his very strong effort.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Eden and Noelle: I was pleasantly surprised with this. The song works very well as a guitar and cello ballad. I especially love when E&N harmonize together. Their voices blend beautifully. I give this one a 98.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

I will be back next week with the results of this Rate-O-Rama Edition.

Last Week's Rate-O-Rama:

With Love, RHC ❀️

rocksong reviewspunknew waveindiehistoryfeaturebassbandsartalt rockalternative90s music80s music70s music

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing fulfills my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Another song I have never heard which starts everyone off even. It almost felt like 3 completely different songs. I agree with Randy about Joy Division. There were a lot of pitch problems which may be appreciated by the fans that know their music. I did not. Moby had some NIN vibes going on at the beginning which was an immediate interest. Eden & Noelle... Well, this felt like the winner to me. The song worked best in this form in my opinion. I actually turned the volume up when it started, lol. A clear indication of interest. Joy Division 65 Moby 90 Eden & Noell 100

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Eden and Noelle-100, very soothing. Joy Division 98, Moby 97. I voted in order of soothing vibes. Not really familiar with the music. Fun listen though.

  • Scott Christenson7 months ago

    "you've got green eyes, you've got blue eyes..." being sung by the same band two years later, to a buoyant electronic rhythm, was an interesting style shift ! Joy Division 50 Moby 60 Eden & Noelle 75

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Yo! Rick this is not a song I’m familiar with, but great critique! Joy division 70 ..yes the riff and guitar are great and became better as it went on. 😊 Moby - 90 wow seemed to get more familiar with the song but this was super impressive! And full on rock which I was not expecting from Moby.πŸ‘ Eden and Noelle - 85 I love violin and cello type instruments not enjoyed this one too! Ironically I rewatched Heat a few months ago but no memory of this song. Thanks for sharing it with us and exposing me to something new!!

  • Xine Segalas7 months ago

    Joy Division 85 - too moody too raw for my tastes now - plus I don't really like the song Moby 90 - it's richer and works better - sounds better as a soundtrack perhaps Eden & Noelle 100 - I loved this version! I don't really like the song to begin with - but I loved this - I'd like to listen to more of their music. Thank you for introducing me to this.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Joy 90 Moby 95 Eden and Noelle 99

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Joy Division 95 Mobly 99 Eden & Noelle 95

  • Lol, you draw my name & immediately choose a song I don't like at all in its original incarnation. The raw is just too raw & pitch too distorted for my tastes. 85 Moby--for me this works as part of the soundtrack to "Heat" & adds effectively to the atmosphere. 90 Eden & Noelle--you managed to take a song I didn't like at all & turn it into something I love, lol. You had me at cello. 100

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Joy Division: 100 Zeroes for those other two. That is all.

Rick Henry Christopher Written by Rick Henry Christopher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.