Beat logo

Rachelle Farrell

My true sista' of soul

By (Catzisms) Cat Collier ScottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Skills are out of this world, literally all around the world

She is the one, who has kind of, flown under the radar. If you don't already know to search for Her, then you would probably never experience Her. Funny that same thing can be said for acquiring inspiration.

Well, I see her, as a beautiful burst of God's fresh air. In the midst of my hard times, She calms me. In the lonely times, her voice fulfills my voids. Most of, in those times when I just don't know how I feel, her lyric of songs set my wrestling spirit, straight. Her song titles, to me, can read like a life instructional journal created to change you from the inside out.

For example, "With open arms", "Welcome to my love", "I'm special", "It only took a minute", "Waiting" "Till you come back to me" "Nothing has ever felt like this", "I know you love me" "Sentimental"...."Could've fooled me", "You can't get (till you learn to start giving)", " Too late", " Peace....On Earth". Funny, that's just the titles from the first album! Every word sung was intentionally given from the depths of heart, and you can feel the sincerity flowing from her soul. She wants you to not only understand that feeling, but be willing to steps inside the journey of exploring why you'd even have the feeling at all.

Five octaves strong, Her voice alone, can carry you through the winds of time, where all is forgotten and forgiven. Something about the lessons learned at the end of each song, makes you realize, and ever changed reality, from what you may have experienced before. You look at things differently, like as if, through God's eye, and you recognize the self discovery of what type of person you really are.

This is what music is suppose to be, to me. Makes you want to be the best of you. Makes you appreciate, what ever blessing have been bestowed you. Helps you to realize no matter what stage of life you may be in, there is another somewhere who is worst off than you.

As a young woman, in my late 20's, having grown up a street kid, with no direct or instruction on life's matters, I had to fin for myself, figure everything out, myself. I remember, being out there living from pillar to post sleeping in my car or where ever I could lay my head. Out there I was angry at everyone who I felt devalued me. There were very few words I would trust from anyone's mouth. I 'd find myself as years would go on, becoming a recluse, didn't care for people, yet, searching for truth. Explanations of why, things happen to me, bad things. What did I do to those people who hurt me. I even questioned if I were of some evil spirit, and God was trying to destroy me. Called myself "Jobbeta" after Job from the bible who seemed to have the worst luck. One day shopping at a thief store, I stumbled across Ms. Farrell's cd and purchased it. It was unopened still in the plastic wrapping even, looked like someone just didn't want it, and I had no clue who she was. But my God.. when I heard "Peace On Earth"! I cried so hard, I made myself sick, it just overwhelmed me! I thought, she is talking to me, she is giving me my explanations. It wasn't that I was evil, it was normal for me to want certain things from life, It was okay for me to be who I was, nothing was wrong with me. Rachelle Farrell helped me find me! She helped me discover what I am as a woman, as a person, as a human being. She literally corrected my past, and gave me a future deep down in my soul. Deep down in the pits of me, where darkness laid and the best hope was to die. She reached that inner part of me, where I allowed no one to go, where I fought daily for God to hurry up in his destruction of me. Thank you for showing me life, Ms Farrell, and you are younger than me. God used you, to teach me, that I am of love, forever grateful for you.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

(Catzisms) Cat Collier Scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.