Beat logo

Perfecting the Art of the Playlist

Category is: Finding Your Personal Zen

By Danielle HeinPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

What does it actually mean to be zen? We use the term “Zen” as a slang word, referring to a state of peacefulness and relaxation; not a care in the world.

If we look at it from that perspective, a lot of different things can put us in a “zen” state of being, depending on the mood we start from. Sometimes a walk in nature with your favorite tunes can fill your soul, and put your mind at peace. Sometimes screaming into the abyss, is just the release your mind needs. There’s no certain genre of music or specific act that will work for everyone, but for me, the simple act of creating the perfect playlist and dancing around my living room like a fool is just the cathartic release I need to reach my moment of “zen”.

I have my go-to tracks, that I know will instantly encourage me to let go. Let go of my stresses, responsibilities, expectations, and worries- even if it’s just for 5 minutes.

When I was 18, I was diagnosed with clinical depression and chronic anxiety. I spent a lot of sleepless nights sitting at my desktop, downloading song after song, and compiling them into the perfect playlist for how I was feeling, or the mood I wanted to convey. I’d burn the playlists onto CD’s, decorate them with Sharpie’s, and pass them along to a friend, crush, or someone I thought was in need. I didn’t realize it then, but those moments sitting at my 2005 Dell desktop, agonizing over the perfect song to add in the perfect spot on those painstakingly thought-out playlists, were my moments of zen. I was content, at peace, and proud of my creations.

I think it really hit me, that music in general put me in that mindset, last year when the pandemic hit. I found myself on Spotify, meticulously searching for the perfect song to start off a new playlist. They weren’t the beautifully decorated Mixed CD’s of my youth, but they conveyed the same message, and in turn had the same effect on my general disposition. I crafted playlist after playlist, reminiscing about my years at a desktop, and I started creating playlists for my friends. I picked songs I knew they liked, songs I thought they would probably like, and songs I just thought they specifically needed to here.

The response was always the same: “I can’t stop listening! You don’t know how happy this made me!”

And that’s the point really. Right? To be zen is to be happy. To forget about all the nonsense for a bit, and just be. Just be.

For me it’s not the sound of wind chimes or soft instrumentals. Those tend to make me distracted and anxious, if I’m being totally honest. Although, I do love a good sound bath occasionally.

So, this playlist is an homage to the music that has brought me out of my depression, my 2020 funk, and has the ability to transport my mind and body to that oh so sought after state of zen.

Trouble Don’t (AG feat. REY)

This one’s pretty on the nose, but their voice, the rhythm, the soulfulness- it’s exactly what my heart needs to hear when I’m in my feelings.

Talkin’ Bout a Revolution (Tracy Chapman)

I’ve loved Tracy and her incredible vocals, powerful message, and the ease in which she seems to be able to convey her point with such beauty. This song has been around for decades, but is still just as relevant today, if not more so. It has the ability to change my outlook and entire mood within the first verse.

March March (The Chicks)

I'm not exaggerating when I tell you I got chills the first time I heard March March. This was the Anthem we didn't know we needed in 2020. We dealt with, and are still dealing with, a lot...like, a lot, a lot. Somehow The Chicks have provided us the perfect cathartic release to let go of our fears for 4 mins, and put it all out there.

Woman (Kesha)

Kesha took back her power in a big way, and managed to give women everywhere the battle cry we so desperately needed. Whether I'm feeling angry, frustrated, exhausted, or just a little meh, I blast 'Woman' and dance like a fool, while screaming at the top of my lungs. Zen moment achieved.

Good As Hell (Lizzo)

I'm fairly certain Lizzo was put on this earth to bring pure joy to the masses. She uplifts, encourages, and doesn't give a damn. The woman is zen- with badass dance moves and some enviable flute skills. 'Good as Hell' is that song you throw on when you're not quite feeling yourself. I don't think it matters who you are, putting on some Lizzo is like having your own personal self-love guru in your living room.

Pretty Ugly (Tierra Whack)

Don't pay your hater's any attention. Even if your hater is your own inner sabatouer. Just cue up Tierra Whack's 'Pretty Ugly' and tell them off with a dance sesh.

9-5 (Dolly Parton)

That time Dolly Parton was inspired to write one of the greatest feminist anthems of our time, by clacking her fake nails together, to create arguably one of the sickest beats known to mankind. It might not seem like it fits with the rest of the group, but that's the beauty of music, you never know how a certain song or artist is going to hit your soul. As a small business owner, who has spent the past year strictly working from home, things can get a little monotonous and grueling. But, Dolly can always pull me out of my funk and get me back to my happy place.

I hope this year ends better than it has started, but in the mean time, I'll just keep writing, dancing, and creating the perfect playlist for that moment of zen.

If you feel so inclined, check out the rest of my playlist, and give this story a 'like', if you're into my style of zen.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Danielle Hein

I am a quirky, passionate, and fun-loving small business owner & creator. I am an avid animal lover, and mama of two perfect pitties. I love to travel and explore new cultures, and was even married in Italy to my wonderful husband.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.